Customer Reviews for

Awaken the Highland Warrior

Average Rating 4
( 456 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Steamy

Anita Clenney is a fantastic writer. If you are looking for something hot and steamy, this is a good read

posted by marianne68 on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Little to steamy for me

This is the first book I have read by Anita Clenney and I found the story to be very interesting. For me the only big problem was that it was a to steamy for me. I don't mind one or two love scenes but I don't really like it to be half the book, its just not what I like...
This is the first book I have read by Anita Clenney and I found the story to be very interesting. For me the only big problem was that it was a to steamy for me. I don't mind one or two love scenes but I don't really like it to be half the book, its just not what I like to read.

Faelan is 150 years old and just been awaken from a time vault. He tries to kill the woman who has awaken him, but it was just a reaction to being in the vault. He thought he had only been in the time vault for just a few days but soon realized that the world that he once new is gone and a whole new world is before him. Women are brazen and bold, people drive cars instead of riding horses, etc. All he knows is that he must find the demon that put him in the time vault before he can unleash a deadly virus.

Bree was just searching for buried treasure when she accidentally woke Faelan from the time vault. Now she has a warrior living with her that is 150 years old but still looks very young. She is not sure what the think of him, but he is very handsome in his kilt that its hard to not be drawn to him. Faelan's appetite for more than just food has them in each others arms more than once and she has no clue why she keeps letting him have his way with her. His protective streak is always making her angry because she can take care of herself and when she finds out about the demons she is ready to take them on right beside Faelan. Faelan on the other hand wants her to stay out of the way and let him take care of things.

They track down his clan in Scotland and its time to go demon hunting.

I really loved the characters in the story, from main characters to the secondary characters. Bree is very much the modern woman. She is tough, bold and has no problem taking care of herself and she can't stand the fact that Faelan wants to treat her like a weak, frail woman who need to be protected. Faelan is from a time when women stayed at home and took care of the children and the home. They didn't go off fighting demons! It drives him crazy that Bree keeps jumping into the danger instead of letting him protector, he is a warrior, its what he does. Faelan sounds like a very sexy, strong hero, and he has a lot to learn about modern women.

I haven't really read many warrior/demon books but I really did like this book and would have rated it a little higher if it wasn't for the parts I didn't like. I think if you like books like this then you will love to read this book.

posted by Ladystorm on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Warriors vs. Demons AND Time Travel -- what more could you ask for?

    Anita Clenney, the author of this book, asked me to read and review it and I am honored to do so. I really enjoy reading time travel books mainly because of the reactions of the unsuspecting (in most cases) time traveler to the time to which he/she has been transported. This book did not disappoint in that regard. As a bonus, in this book you get the exciting warriors vs. demons aspect. Faelan is trapped in a time vault for 150 years and released by Bree, an adventurous Civil War expert. While each is trying to figure out whether the other is a good guy or a bad guy, they fall in love -- of course -- and together they set out to destroy Faelan's assigned demon and save the world. This book is well-written and exciting. There is a little sex but it doesn't distract you from the story. There's the whole family bonding together to fight the enemy (which I love) and they are Scottish -- what can I say? On a personal note, I realized when reading this book that when I started reading novels again, especially ones with a strong female character, that I pictured myself as that young, strong, adventurous woman. Now that doesn't quite fit -- I'm picturing myself as the mother in this book. That is very amusing to me for some reason. This book is the first in a series, so watch for the others soon. There were some tiny loose threads left hanging in this book that I'm interested to see woven in. I'm looking forward to reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great highland romance and fun paranormal mystery

    When Bree opens a treasure chest on her grandmother's property, a highland warrior leaping out the grave isn't quite what she expects. Kilt, sporran, dagger and all, with a battle-cry straight from Braveheart, Faelan is huge, immensely attractive, and seriously weakened by 150 years of confinement. He's also very much alive, and the first thing on Bree's agenda is feeding him and keeping him that way. After all, she's an archeologist; what could be better than a real-live piece of history to talk to.

    Of course, Faelan might not be what he seems. Perhaps he's a well-disguised thief or a practical joke. And Bree might not be the innocent young woman she seems either. And dreams might be more than half-forgotten childhood memories.

    The story travels from Albany New York to Scotland and back, as warrior battles demon and angels intercede in a fight to the death for the human race. Uncertain loyalties fall prey to passionate love. Passion remembered becomes guilt tormenting tortured protagonists. And true love just might win through.

    The dialect shifts are pleasingly low-key, since these warriors are seasoned travelers with global experience. The Scottish castle is gloriously rendered. And mysteries fascinate while mythology intrigues. Anita Clenney's Awaken the Highland Warrior is a long tale, nicely told, with plenty of sexual tension, a strong, self-willed heroine, some surprising paranormal twists, and plenty of breadth and depth-recommended for those long cold October nights leading up to Halloween.



    Disclosure: The author gave me an ecopy this novel in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Pretty Good!

    I liked it alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Great Great book. A MUST READ A good anf intersting book.

    A really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Great Read

    Once I started I couldn't put it down. It kept me on the edge of my seat. Anita did a great job of keeping me involved with Bree and Faelan that it was like a movie in my head. I could see what was happening and gasped like I was seeing what was happening. Great job. I hope she has more coming along in this type of story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Highly Recommend-romance, paranormal & a hot Scotsman!

    Bought this book for the price. It's the type of book I like and thought I can't go wrong with the price. I was actually surprised, very good read, loved the storyline and it's very hot, hot, hot. I'm a sucker for a Scottish accent & a good romance. Definitely would recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    VERY ENTERTAINING!!!!

    Fiction at it's best! Anita Clenney doesn't disappoint. Anyone that loves Highlander themes will enjoy this fast reading, interesting book. Great characters with a plot to enjoy cuddling up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Exciting and never knowing where the story will go next!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    must be open

    to different. not your normal highlander book. i almost gave up on the book but i was willing to be open to the difference. it wasnt my cup of tea. too much seekers, demons & warriors of a time change for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Good Book

    I love anything related to Scottland and Highlanders. Faelan is a hottie even being locked away for 150 yrs. Story is good and I enjoyed it would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    All in all a good read

    I really liked this book but the last part of the book was so so for me. I didn't read the last few pages because I felt I already knew what was going to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY GOOD AND NOT SO VERY GOOD

    While it took me a while to get into this book it turned out to be a page turner. I loved the two main characters and the strong bond they felt for each other. HOWEVER, there were too many characters and too many details to keep it all straight. I had a hard time following some of it. Then again the book was only .99. Actually, a pretty good buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    An unknown surprise!

    Loved this book. It kept me turning pages long after I should've been asleep. Filled with lots of twists and plots. I still have alot of unanswered questions, though. I hope that she answers them in a later book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Highly Recommend--- A must read

    It did seem to be confusing at first, but then WOW!!!! This is a great story and leaves a ending that should continue. I can't wait to read the rest of the story...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Great Read!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great book

    Filled with the right amount of romance, mystery, and fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Awesome!

    Loved this book! Can't wait for more from this author! Sexy men and strong women mixed with just the right amount of good vs. evil battling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Loved it

    Great read want more !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Worth it!!

    This is a great book!! I can't wait to read the others comming out. I hope some unanswered questions will be answered. It was a great story line with great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Fast and fun

    The story is a lot of fun and fast paced. The writting lacks a bit of editing and the book gets a bit choppy BUT it is still very very enjoyable. Totally worth .99 cents. I love how playful and flirtatious the warriors are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7