Customer Reviews for

Awaken the Highland Warrior

Average Rating 4
( 456 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Steamy

Anita Clenney is a fantastic writer. If you are looking for something hot and steamy, this is a good read

posted by marianne68 on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Little to steamy for me

This is the first book I have read by Anita Clenney and I found the story to be very interesting. For me the only big problem was that it was a to steamy for me. I don't mind one or two love scenes but I don't really like it to be half the book, its just not what I like...
This is the first book I have read by Anita Clenney and I found the story to be very interesting. For me the only big problem was that it was a to steamy for me. I don't mind one or two love scenes but I don't really like it to be half the book, its just not what I like to read.

Faelan is 150 years old and just been awaken from a time vault. He tries to kill the woman who has awaken him, but it was just a reaction to being in the vault. He thought he had only been in the time vault for just a few days but soon realized that the world that he once new is gone and a whole new world is before him. Women are brazen and bold, people drive cars instead of riding horses, etc. All he knows is that he must find the demon that put him in the time vault before he can unleash a deadly virus.

Bree was just searching for buried treasure when she accidentally woke Faelan from the time vault. Now she has a warrior living with her that is 150 years old but still looks very young. She is not sure what the think of him, but he is very handsome in his kilt that its hard to not be drawn to him. Faelan's appetite for more than just food has them in each others arms more than once and she has no clue why she keeps letting him have his way with her. His protective streak is always making her angry because she can take care of herself and when she finds out about the demons she is ready to take them on right beside Faelan. Faelan on the other hand wants her to stay out of the way and let him take care of things.

They track down his clan in Scotland and its time to go demon hunting.

I really loved the characters in the story, from main characters to the secondary characters. Bree is very much the modern woman. She is tough, bold and has no problem taking care of herself and she can't stand the fact that Faelan wants to treat her like a weak, frail woman who need to be protected. Faelan is from a time when women stayed at home and took care of the children and the home. They didn't go off fighting demons! It drives him crazy that Bree keeps jumping into the danger instead of letting him protector, he is a warrior, its what he does. Faelan sounds like a very sexy, strong hero, and he has a lot to learn about modern women.

I haven't really read many warrior/demon books but I really did like this book and would have rated it a little higher if it wasn't for the parts I didn't like. I think if you like books like this then you will love to read this book.

posted by Ladystorm on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Steamy

    Anita Clenney is a fantastic writer. If you are looking for something hot and steamy, this is a good read

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I love love love Scottish stories and this one was no exception. The story will keep you entertained for hours.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    like a lot!

    nice blend of time travel, new century and old school mixed with hot romance and adventure.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging romantic urban fantasy

    On her family estate near Albany, New York, Bree Kirkland opens a graveyard vault. Inside is Faelen who claims he belongs to an ancient Scottish warrior clan whose mission is to protect humanity from demons. He explains that Druan the demon incarcerated him back in 1860 in this tomb. Her clothing and her fighting spirit surprises him as he has no history of a female like her; his reaction matches his wearing a kilt stunning her.

    Meanwhile Druan plans to release a virus to eradicate humanity. Based on his description of the enemy, Bree believes her former fiancé, who is acting strange, may be Druan. Faelen and Bree team up to prevent an extinction event from happening even as they fall in love, a taboo by his clan.

    This is an engaging romantic urban fantasy as the twenty-first century feisty female stuns the highlander she has awakened with her wardrobe and attitude. The story line is fast-paced and filled with exciting twists. The couple's reactions to each other make for an entertaining save the world thriller, as Bree and Faelen united by love take on the diabolical Druan the demon with the stake being the human race.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    One of the best breach in time romances I have read in awhile.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Captivating!

    I couldn't put this book down, I had to read it to the end. I can't wait for the next one to come out. The other characters are so interesting and it makes you want to read more about them or hope she does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Loved this book!

    I started reading it thinking it wouldn't be that good, and absolutely could not put it down! I SO hope there will be many more books from this author in the future!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    OMG!! MUST READ!!!

    I am so thankful you started writing!! Love Scottish stories, maybe due to ancestry! This book was so exciting, fun, keeps you on your toes, and could not put it down.
    Thank you Anita Clenney,
    Sheila in CO
    Can't wait to get the next 2 and hopefully more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    A real page-turner

    I didn't think I'd like it, but once I started I simply could not put it down. Don't start the book if you need sleep, because you probably won't get any until you finish reading this! Consider yourself warned!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Impressive

    You know how on a hot day a cold beer sounds good, so you sit back and take a sip. It tastes so good that you take another. Then the next thing you know you're tipping up an empty bottle? That's how this book was for me. I settled in for a light and fun read, then the next thing I know I've been reading for several hours and my mind is still in the story while I have to tend real life between my chances to read.

    I enjoyed the characters, especially such a strong female that didn't simper or play the damsel in distress. Almost every male came across as completely enchanting. Most of all I loved all of the small mysteries within the larger story. It was the little details that slowly wove together that kept me so entranced. The romance was mildly steamy compared to most romances.

    All in all I loved this story and can't wait to find more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Love to Read

    I read is twice love is once twice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Excellent

    Fast paced and wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Such a great and steamy journey!!! I loved every minute of this

    Such a great and steamy journey!!! I loved every minute of this book and I enjoyed the mystery and adventure of all the twists along the way...Faelan and Bree are destined to be together and it was nice to see them come together!! Anita Clenney you are a brilliant writer and I will be looking forward to reading anything you write in the future :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Great story

    I enjoyed the story, couldn't put it down. I can't wait to read the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Great

    Excellent description,drama, romance. The writer does a wonderful job at keeping you involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    loved this book as well as Embrace A Highland Warrior, am trying

    loved this book as well as Embrace A Highland Warrior, am trying to see if there are more books to go with these.
    I really loved the characters in the story, from main characters to the secondary characters. A very great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    I have read a lot of romance novels. This one and book 2 of the

    I have read a lot of romance novels. This one and book 2 of the series are some of the best I have ever read. I love the story telling and, unlike other romance novel series, the characters have such distinct and consistent personalities. The adventure is good and I was glued to the story from start to finish. This book made me immediately buy the second book. I hope there are more books in this series. I am seriously hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Great story!

    I loved this story with all it's twists and turns. The combination of the past and the present worked really well. All the characters were well developed and interesting in their own right. Loved the suspense and mystery throughout. I can't wait for more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Time will get away from you!

    This was one of those books that has you so engrossed time gets away from you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Enjoyed it...

    Enjoyed it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12