Customer Reviews for

Awakened (Vampire Awakenings, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 592 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(328)

4 Star

(151)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful hard to put down

This book is 733 pages and let me tell you it was worth it. I couldn't put it down. It was a really great read. Romance, suspense, and intrigue. This is the first book I read by this author, glad I choose it. I am reading another book by this author called Destined it h...
This book is 733 pages and let me tell you it was worth it. I couldn't put it down. It was a really great read. Romance, suspense, and intrigue. This is the first book I read by this author, glad I choose it. I am reading another book by this author called Destined it has 713 pages finally books that have enough pages to read and be great until the end.

posted by pat57PS on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

88 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

Note to the author

While you show a lot of promise bad editing can really detract from a story. These were repeated vocabulary errors:

Using:
Withered instead of writhed
Sedated instead of sated
Than when you meant then
To when sentance called for too
Too when the sentance called for t...
While you show a lot of promise bad editing can really detract from a story. These were repeated vocabulary errors:

Using:
Withered instead of writhed
Sedated instead of sated
Than when you meant then
To when sentance called for too
Too when the sentance called for to

Had these errors only appeared once I'd have put them down to typos, but they were repeated numerous times throughout the story. Goal here is not to be hyper-critical; just offer some constructive feedback to pay attention to vocabulary and word usage.

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 592 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Note to the author

    While you show a lot of promise bad editing can really detract from a story. These were repeated vocabulary errors:

    Using:
    Withered instead of writhed
    Sedated instead of sated
    Than when you meant then
    To when sentance called for too
    Too when the sentance called for to

    Had these errors only appeared once I'd have put them down to typos, but they were repeated numerous times throughout the story. Goal here is not to be hyper-critical; just offer some constructive feedback to pay attention to vocabulary and word usage.

    88 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Wonderful hard to put down

    This book is 733 pages and let me tell you it was worth it. I couldn't put it down. It was a really great read. Romance, suspense, and intrigue. This is the first book I read by this author, glad I choose it. I am reading another book by this author called Destined it has 713 pages finally books that have enough pages to read and be great until the end.

    59 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    What

    I am 13 and i read up to 245pages and nearly vomited this is not what i expected. Writers please start to put down the content of this book. Ex.for ages 17and up.

    54 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Great story!

    This was a great story. I loved the story line. I couldn't put it down. Spent 3 nights reading it and accidently stayed up until after 4:00am twice. Sweet ending:)

    35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    A must read

    Really enjoyed this story!! This is ment for young adults and older due to sexual interactions. This really is nothing like twilight, no love triangle, no warewolves. This book was a very entertaining page turner at over 770 pgs, and it's free. Don't pass this up.

    31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Not horrible....

    First the good. I liked the overall story line. It flowed nicely and the characters were interesting. The bad. It was a bit cheesy. Everything was done "softly." "He chuckled softly." "She smiled softly." "Moaned softly" etc etc... The dialogue felt forced. I found myself trying to rephrase some of the sentences to make them less awkward. Seemed like it was written for younger readers except it is jam packed with graphic sexual situations. Ok for a free book but I wouldnt pay for it.

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great Read

    I really loved this book I couldn't wait to see what happened next I loved it from the first chapter to that last I love how many different elements were incorporated to keep you wanting to read what happens next the suspense, steamy romance, the bond of friendship when reading I felt like I was experiencing what Sera was going through in each situation feeling scared, happy, frustrated, love ect, ect these are just a few reasons why I loved the story so much that I read all 773 pages in one sitting. Highly reccomended don't pass this one up happy reading. :)

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Pass this one up

    This book was garbage. Coming from an English major who spends the majority of her time reading, this was pretty bad. I saw many grammatical errors while reading, along with incorrect word choices and confusing transitions. The author jumped around with the chsracters way too often with too little notice. Also this book is very unoriginal because it has many similarities to the Twilight series, excluding the sex scenes. The plot was okay but overall this felt more like a rough draft than a finished product.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Poor story teller

    Its great that this medium offers opportunities to so many writers.
    I didn't care that the story was predictable.
    when i see repeated misuse of too instead of to and than instead of then; I am convinced this story teller needs to first learn the primary medium of communication......English language!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Anonymus

    Amaazzin! Some parts i laughed and others i was mad and totally freaking out! If vampires existed i would want a relationship just like this one! Def going on my repeat reader shelf

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Good

    What's up with the amateur editors, just let us know if you liked the book or not.. and the other thing that drives us crazy is the unnecesary long review get ti the point you are not critics..

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    I feel like I've read this story before... Promising story, but

    I feel like I've read this story before...
    Promising story, but hard to read. Poorly edited & disjointed storyline. Feels like a bad Twilight meets Snowbound (Elizabeth Kirke) meets 50 Shades. Wasted time!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    College vamps

    Twilight for mature readers :)

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Boring...

    Stopped reading it after 10 or 15 pages of oh how could you - i meant to tell you - didn't want to lose you blah blah boring don't waste your time.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    M

    This was a great book. Full of mystery, romance, vampires and revenge. Wish there were a sequel.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Wow

    Love this book better then twilight!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I really wanted to like this book. I love paranormal romance, bu

    I really wanted to like this book. I love paranormal romance, but this one just wasn't that impressive. The main female character was frustratingly weak. I understand there was past trauma, but rather than learning and becoming stronger from the experience she is scared and meek through almost the entire story. If you don't mind a weak female and super over the top male "protection" then this is the book for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Lame

    Very kiddie... I did grugingly make it to page 300 but i couldnt take the immaturity

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Crap

    Written by a 12 year old i think ... crap .. no star . I had to for posting

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Just Ok

    Not reallly impressive. Another Twilight-esc copy but with less depth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 592 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30