Customer Reviews for

Awakened (House of Night Series #8) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2641)

4 Star

(782)

3 Star

(395)

2 Star

(165)

1 Star

(211)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

THIS SERIES IS AMAZING!! it is a must-read it had me hooked I was always left wanting for more from cliff hangers to shockers twist turn and then the sweetest moments..... if ure looking for a good series you just found it. This series made me cry laugh and say "aww." a...
THIS SERIES IS AMAZING!! it is a must-read it had me hooked I was always left wanting for more from cliff hangers to shockers twist turn and then the sweetest moments..... if ure looking for a good series you just found it. This series made me cry laugh and say "aww." and start screaming :) this is one of the best series i have ever read

posted by NinaTheBookworm on December 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

89 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

Dragging....

I love the series and every book has me reading until midnight, but the series is really dragging on now. I was ready for Zoey to save the world by the 5th book. I'm glad Zoey only has one guy now because it was getting pretty tiring of reading about her teenage anxiety...
I love the series and every book has me reading until midnight, but the series is really dragging on now. I was ready for Zoey to save the world by the 5th book. I'm glad Zoey only has one guy now because it was getting pretty tiring of reading about her teenage anxiety over three guys when the world is at stake. Hopefully the authors will wrap this up soon. I personally dont want to read how the heroine postponed the big war for another book again, it's a waste of money. Somebody please tell me when the FINAL book comes out so I can just finish this already, it's taking up too much time and honestly, I've forgotten everything about the series just waiting to find out what happens next....

posted by alldayreader on November 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 213
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dragging....

    I love the series and every book has me reading until midnight, but the series is really dragging on now. I was ready for Zoey to save the world by the 5th book. I'm glad Zoey only has one guy now because it was getting pretty tiring of reading about her teenage anxiety over three guys when the world is at stake. Hopefully the authors will wrap this up soon. I personally dont want to read how the heroine postponed the big war for another book again, it's a waste of money. Somebody please tell me when the FINAL book comes out so I can just finish this already, it's taking up too much time and honestly, I've forgotten everything about the series just waiting to find out what happens next....

    89 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Is it over yet?

    The first few books of the this series were excellent. The next few were good. The last two books......barely readable. This series has drug on for far to long and the quality of writing continues to decline. My recommendation...if you haven't started reading this series then don't begin. If you have already starting the series and curiosity forces you to read onward then go ahead, but don't read with any real expectation - you'll be more than sorely disapointed. I do believe I can say that this is my final read of the House of Night series.

    43 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended

    THIS SERIES IS AMAZING!! it is a must-read it had me hooked I was always left wanting for more from cliff hangers to shockers twist turn and then the sweetest moments..... if ure looking for a good series you just found it. This series made me cry laugh and say "aww." and start screaming :) this is one of the best series i have ever read

    40 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    Wrap it up already!!!!

    Okay, when I first started reading this series, I was totally into it! But now, P.C. and Kristin Cast needs to wrap it up. They should have ended the series around book four or five. I mean seriously, book NINE and I heard there's going to be a book TEN. Good golly! I thought it was just supposed to be about Zoey vs. Neferet, but now we have Kalona. And aslo, what's with the x amount of boyfriends? C'mon, seriously, Zoey is not that cool or inticing and she's a really shallow character. I mean, she worries about which boyfriend to choose while the world is in mortal peril. Self-involved much? Anyway, they need to wrap it up!!!

    33 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!

    I LOVE the House of NIght series! I have read all seven and am waiting for AWAKENED! If you are into spernatural books like Twilight, Fallen, Hush Hush, and Vampire Academy then you will more than likely love these books. They arnt that realistic but a lot of teens can realate to them (partly because a teen helped in writing the books)and they are, in my opionon, really funny! I recommend them to all book lovers.

    27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alright I guess

    When I first started to read these books I thought they were pretty good. But the fact that they are still going on without an end in sight is kinda getting on my nerves now. I don't even care about the main story anymore and can only really focus on the stevie rae/requim part now.Its a good story but come on!! It really should have ended at book five. Now I feel like their just writing cause they don't know how to end the series.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'M SO SIKED!!!!

    2 years ago i had NO idea this series even existed until i started browsing the website!!! i read the synopsis and thought it sounded kinda good. i was sooooo excited that i read the book in less than one day, talk about glued to my hands bahaha!!! all the way to book 7 and i am itching to get the 8th book. I never really liked Heath because he was too pushy and Erik, however hot zoey thinks he is, is a total doucher! But stark, mister warrior, is the perfect one for zoey and i have to agree that i dont think its going to be the type of relationship we might want for them, but stark is closest person to zoey and always will be so thats pretty awesome! i cant freakin wait for Awakened!!!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Yes i highly recommend this series

    I believe that anyone and everyone who would read these books will enjoy and not want to put it down i actually love how this mother and daughter write

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    time to end!

    I loved this series and recommended it to tons of people, but now it's losing it's touch. Not only did it take FOREVER for this book to come out, but after reading 7 of these it just starts to get old. I expected alot more from this book than what was delivered and was slightly dissapointed. The Cast's need to end this series soon or no one will remember what's going on and many just won't care. If you liked the series I recommend reading it just so you can continue reading the series,but don't think you are going to get any closure from this book! Just like all the others, Awakened only opens up more doors and doesn't close a single one.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Not too Shabby...

    I had really high expectations for Awakened. I have loved the entire HoN series, and really enjoyed Awakened for the most part. Most of the book seemed a little slow moving, and then at the end, everything was crammed into just a few chapters and it felt so rushed. I won't spoil the ending...

    But....the next book comes out in November, 2011

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Worth a look, I guess...

    Compared to the rest of the House of Night books, it's slow moving and loaded with language that no teen would actually utter. Bull poopie! Seriously! The heroine and her best friend have been through life and death situations, sexual encounters, and profound moral/ethical dilemmas. Their vernacular would demonstrate a little more maturity than it does in this latest book, "Awakened." Hopefully the next book in the series will reflect some development in their characters and will have a little more action.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read, You Will Love It

    I have readed alot of books but this has to be my most favorite. If you love Vampires and a book with action. This is your serie. You dont have to be young to read this and love it.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    BEST SERIES EVER!!!!

    I am in love with this series!! I just ordered Awakened but have read the other 7 twice!! whoever says they aren"t great doesn"t know great! keep the series going!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    awesome read

    hey like these books are awesome i love stark and zoey. if u liked twilight,hush,hush, and vampire academy then u will love these books just like i do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Raises more questions than answers

    I've been reading this series for about three years now. At this point I question myself as to why I haven't stopped when I read the first page of this book. The dialogue is horrible and to be honest I much rather prefer to be in Kalonas or Neferets head because their narratives are written so much better than any of the other characters. But why I endure the book until the end is all the twists and turns and wondering what's next that keeps me holding on. This book is about a four stars in story but two in writing so I rounded it to a three stars in quailty. If youre like me and stay true to a series until the end (four more books) then keep reading. This one was much better than the last. I just hope PC Cast can end the series and tie ALL the lose ends in the last book as she continues to weave a complicated web.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    THE COVER IS BETTER THAN THE STORY

    I give this 8th installment 2 stars for the cover and ONLY the cover. I've made my point clear and concise on my review of the 7th book and so on this one I want to make a few things known. P.C. and Kristin Cast know how to make a steal; like how the Dutch bought the island of Manhattan from the Natives for a measly batch of buttons, beads and other insignificant trinkets. What a rip-off. Got to hand it to them, their stories are still selling but at the loss of a genuine effort.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    One of the greatest series ive ever read!!!!

    I know people always say things like this, but honestly this series is incredible. I love the books and characters and can not wait for the 8th one to come out. I absolutely adore Stark and hope to god that the Cast pair make his and Zoey's relationship good! I never really liked health; i felt like he was to pushy and he is a human so he cant really be with zoe anyway. Erik is a butthead and i'm glad tha zoe dropped him. the only part that i didn't really like was how Kalona is now bound to Nefert, or is soon to be bound i should say, because he didnt kill zoey. I feel like they're making her more and more powerful. i mean, with a god doing her bidding i'm not sure how the 8th book could possibly end. hopefully it all works out though!!!!! Everyone should read these books because they keep you on your feet and you'll have a hard time putting them down!!!! :)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    UHH-Mazing!

    I just finished Burned last night and LOVED IT! P.C. and Kristin Cast know how to write! :) I cant wait to see what happens with Stevie Rae! :)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    End it already

    Is this series ever gonna end? It just keeps going and going with the same problems. I really liked this series when it first came out. But, they have dragged it out too much. I think I am done.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 213