Customer Reviews for

Awakened (House of Night Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2639)

4 Star

(781)

3 Star

(393)

2 Star

(164)

1 Star

(210)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

THIS SERIES IS AMAZING!! it is a must-read it had me hooked I was always left wanting for more from cliff hangers to shockers twist turn and then the sweetest moments..... if ure looking for a good series you just found it. This series made me cry laugh and say "aww." a...
THIS SERIES IS AMAZING!! it is a must-read it had me hooked I was always left wanting for more from cliff hangers to shockers twist turn and then the sweetest moments..... if ure looking for a good series you just found it. This series made me cry laugh and say "aww." and start screaming :) this is one of the best series i have ever read

posted by NinaTheBookworm on December 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

88 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

Dragging....

I love the series and every book has me reading until midnight, but the series is really dragging on now. I was ready for Zoey to save the world by the 5th book. I'm glad Zoey only has one guy now because it was getting pretty tiring of reading about her teenage anxiety...
I love the series and every book has me reading until midnight, but the series is really dragging on now. I was ready for Zoey to save the world by the 5th book. I'm glad Zoey only has one guy now because it was getting pretty tiring of reading about her teenage anxiety over three guys when the world is at stake. Hopefully the authors will wrap this up soon. I personally dont want to read how the heroine postponed the big war for another book again, it's a waste of money. Somebody please tell me when the FINAL book comes out so I can just finish this already, it's taking up too much time and honestly, I've forgotten everything about the series just waiting to find out what happens next....

posted by alldayreader on November 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Maybe

    Out of all the House of Night Series Books this is by far the worst one. It took me a Week to read. I understood why they wrote it because you have to understand about Stevie Ray and Rephaim but they could of combined this one with the next book in the Series which comes out in November of this year. The end of the book was the best part and it makes you want to read the next book like yesterday. So basically if you have all the other books and you want the whole collection than buy it otherwise just borrower from a friend or pick it up at the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Really?

    Once again zoey and her friends are challenged by the forces of good and evil. Once again kalona and nefrete plot. this story is just a continuation of the previous book. i am becoming very sick of this series. the storyline is going nowhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I have enjoyed all previous books in the series. In regards to Awakened, I was disappointed. While reading, I kept saying to myself, this is ticking me off. You can not have all this bad stuff happen and give the reader a little bit of good in the end. The authors seem to be stretching this series as much as they can. I don't blame them. I would too with the success of the previous books. For me, the charaters are getting weaker. It took 8 books so far for darkness to kick butt and reign. Will it take 8 more for "goodness" to fight back and win? My pocketbook hopes not! LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Tired

    While the first books in the series seemed excitinf an filled with character development, this latest book seems tired. The dialogue was trite, the characters bored and the story so predictable that I felt I was rereading one of the earliwr books. Unfortunately for us as fans, the story leaves its readers wating more because of a gasping spark of life in the last 20 pages like a 1950s soap opera. 'Tune in next year...'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Finish the series already!

    Omg this book bored the life out of me. I loved this series up until the last book before Awakened. Then it just got tedious and boring. And I cannot stand the way these people talk! Nobody talks like that! It's supposed to be present time and they are always naming movies, celebs, and things like that but the way they talk is sooooo annoying. I was very disappointed in Awakened. Zoey has turned into a whiny good for nothing brat. She is useless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    How much longer can this go on?

    I started reading these books after the 3rd one came out. I really got into them and then, just like so many others, lost interest. The writer is just dragging the series on and on. It seems her only saving grace was that she made some of the characters intimate and that for that reason alone, people kept reading. Honestly now there are too many different ways this story may go and way too many more books that I can see being planned for this series. She has overdeveloped too many of her characters and tried to make them all lead roles. Save yourself some time and money, stop reading the books, they have no end in sight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    I'm over this series!

    This series was great in the beginning, but it is time to move on. I thought there would be a war breaking out in this one as much as it was alluded to in book 7....not even close! I'm done even if they continue to crank out these books, it should have ended by now and it would have been a great series, but as it continues it will begin to bring down the series as a whole!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    I thought it was the worst book of the series

    I had read all the books and feel by far this was the worst in the series. I have never commented on a book so that should tell you something in itself. I was excited to get my Nook and this was the second book I read. I was so excited to get going on it. At the end, I was reading and flipped the page to discover it was OVER. Just like that. I felt this book was very rushed into publication. It lacked the care and insight the authors took with the others. You can tell how recent it was written because of the things mentioned. That's the best I can say. It felt like they wrote what they had to, to meet a deadline. It was very disspointing the me. The content was good but they way the book ended was terrible. The ending is everything to me and what makes me want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    getting worse

    I loved this series during the first four books. It was the second vampire series I read and I was totally in love. Since then, the series has steadily declined. Book 7 was the first really bad turn and the worst so far, but book 8 is close. It is time to end the series. This book was pretty much a waste of my time and I absolutely don't like the direction the series is taking. Please end the series. It is time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    I'm not too excited.

    I feel as though the beginning of the series was amazing. But as the perspectives started changing throughout the (4th,5th,6th)books it gets boring. I have read the rest of the books and own them too so i will most likely end up reading this one. But i will probably wait for this to come out in paperback. I don't think it will be worth paying 20 dollars for.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9