Customer Reviews for

Awakened (House of Night Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2639)

4 Star

(781)

3 Star

(393)

2 Star

(164)

1 Star

(210)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

THIS SERIES IS AMAZING!! it is a must-read it had me hooked I was always left wanting for more from cliff hangers to shockers twist turn and then the sweetest moments..... if ure looking for a good series you just found it. This series made me cry laugh and say "aww." a...
THIS SERIES IS AMAZING!! it is a must-read it had me hooked I was always left wanting for more from cliff hangers to shockers twist turn and then the sweetest moments..... if ure looking for a good series you just found it. This series made me cry laugh and say "aww." and start screaming :) this is one of the best series i have ever read

posted by NinaTheBookworm on December 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

88 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

Dragging....

I love the series and every book has me reading until midnight, but the series is really dragging on now. I was ready for Zoey to save the world by the 5th book. I'm glad Zoey only has one guy now because it was getting pretty tiring of reading about her teenage anxiety...
I love the series and every book has me reading until midnight, but the series is really dragging on now. I was ready for Zoey to save the world by the 5th book. I'm glad Zoey only has one guy now because it was getting pretty tiring of reading about her teenage anxiety over three guys when the world is at stake. Hopefully the authors will wrap this up soon. I personally dont want to read how the heroine postponed the big war for another book again, it's a waste of money. Somebody please tell me when the FINAL book comes out so I can just finish this already, it's taking up too much time and honestly, I've forgotten everything about the series just waiting to find out what happens next....

posted by alldayreader on November 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 393 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Raises more questions than answers

    I've been reading this series for about three years now. At this point I question myself as to why I haven't stopped when I read the first page of this book. The dialogue is horrible and to be honest I much rather prefer to be in Kalonas or Neferets head because their narratives are written so much better than any of the other characters. But why I endure the book until the end is all the twists and turns and wondering what's next that keeps me holding on. This book is about a four stars in story but two in writing so I rounded it to a three stars in quailty. If youre like me and stay true to a series until the end (four more books) then keep reading. This one was much better than the last. I just hope PC Cast can end the series and tie ALL the lose ends in the last book as she continues to weave a complicated web.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slowly Improving...

    Okay, so this one wasn't as good as the first 3, but was vastly better than the last 2. The plot has been slowly culminating towards the climax of the series, but I think it is finally picking up momentum. The problem is that the books are so short, and the release dates between them are around 6 months. If you haven't started this series, I would definitely recommend waiting until they are all written. If you enjoyed this series, you will definitely like the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead, the Morganville Vampire series by Rachel Caine, and the Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr. For the adult stuff, readers will probably enjoy "Dead Witch Walking" by Kim Harrison.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and sensual. House of Night fans shouldn┬┐t miss it!

    After Burned, the 7th instalment in the House of Night series, immediately became my favourite part so far, I couldn’t wait for Awakened. One month ago I read a short extract which only made me wanting to read this more.

    Awakened stands out for some time-stands-still-and-makes-you-forget-all-evil moments, which are unfortunately connected by numerous pages of babblings. Fortunately the babbling reduces in the end and the action takes part again. P.C. and Kristin Cast surprised me with unforeseen sad, shocking and even super romantic events I hadn’t expected. And I finally got to read about the special moments I wanted to happen for so long.

    Many characters develop, try to find a new way in life and love. I never felt that attached to our heroine Zoey because she often enough showed her mindless, infantile and naïve character traits. Awakened increased my sympathy for her, and to my surprise let one of this series’ characters become one of my favourite literary heroes.
    Stark achieved what very few before him did. Being introduced as the new student, I never paid much attention to him. I rooted for Zoey being together with Erik and totally missed the true quality of a character like Stark. He is gifted, but troubled, in love, but not mindless. Over the last three novels, he lived through an enormous development and has become such a very strong character, that I can’t believe I didn’t fall in love with him the first time he spoke. He didn’t immedialtey make it on my all time favourite literary hero list, but now that he’s on it, he won’t loose his place without a good fight!

    What annoys me about Awakened is that it has only 290 pages. The House of Night series only becomes such a huge one, because the books stand out for their low page number. I guess the author couldn’t live with publishing two as one book, e.g. Awakened and Destined, because they are incompatible. My second guess would be the enormous profits the publisher makes by splitting the novels so a series of maybe six rich-paged books easily becomes one of twelve with page numbers below my favoured page-average.

    This novel presents itself as the darkest part of the series so far. As in previous novels, it is told from several perspectives, e.g. Zoey’s, Stark’s, Kalona’s. I noticed a growing application of Neferet’s and Kalona’s POV. As I am on the light side, I sometimes felt annoyed by their conversations and was tempted to skip them. The authors make a glimpse of the dark side of power possible and give us information about their plans against Zoey and her friends, which of course do not spoil the whole action, there are many surprises and unexpected attacks left.
    The application of dark POV’s might sometimes slow the story down and end in moments of boredom, but it definitely reflects and represents the increasing power of darkness over the light side aswell.

    THE VERDICT

    Awakened combines light and dark point of views and intertwines them to an endless battle of forces. The writing style remains youthful and unconventional, characters grow and make you like them even more, but as there are often very slow passages and eventless scenes, it is definitely not the best part in the House of Night series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Ehhhh confused

    I started reading this series last year, and i loved it. But i find myself pushing through each book since tempted. I will contine to read because i want to see if the love i had for the series orginally will return

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Sucked in

    I loved the series in the beginning but now im just reading to know what happens. Very few story lines can be dragged into 8 books. Im not bored exsactly but these books have gone on way too long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REALLY??????

    It is time for this series to end. It is crazy to wait a year for a 200 page book that gives just a little bit more of the whole story. Each book doesnt have a beginning and end, this series is one loooonnngggg story that looks like it gonna take a decade to finish. I loved the story at the beginning bc there were already five books out but this is the second time I had to wait years to get a little more of the story. Really fusterated with it. It would be an awesome story to read once the books are all out and finished but I see no point in waiting a year for a 200 page book and a small bit of the main story.... :-(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    I waited for this?

    After waiting for what seemed like forever for this new House of Night book to be released, I have to say that I was disappointed. It started so slow with very little to do with all of the characters we've come to love and was not nearly as interesting as all the other in the series. The authors all but wrote out the "twins" in this book, having them only appear briefly. The redeeming part of the book is seeing how the relationship between Requiam and the country girl developed and the eventual coming together of their relationship. I'm still looking forward to the next one, despite my criticisms. I've already devoted enough time into the series not to see it through and just hope the authors don't disappoint the next time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    <3 This Book but...

    I really like this series and enjoyed this book, but it's getting tiresome. It's like it never goes anywhere. Zoey is still fighting Neferet and there's not enough variety in the ways they come against one another. It's like being in an endless cycle. It's a great series to kill time with, but you might get bored quickly. I'm still reading it only because I can't stand not knowing how it ends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Kinda Let Down,But still good

    I am completely in love with this series. I have read books one through sexen and couldn't wait for this one to come out. Sadly, after reading it in about half a day, I was kind of let down. Don't get me wrong the book is good, but after waiting for so long I was hoping for a little more. It just seems to me like the book is really short and with all the different character's getting there own chapters I felt like I had just read a short story instead of an entire book. To me this one just felt a little like filler, and while it was good, I don't think it was worth the wait. I think that they really should go ahead and release the next book before November because this one just really didn't advance the story line very much. Kind of feels like they are just dragging it out, and I really just want to know what happens. I bought this one on the day it came out. I will not be doing that with the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Why?

    Why is it that all these books all seem to have the same overall theme of young girl meets young boy and within an hour of them meeting each other, she is declaring her ever lasting love for him? To the point of "giving her life" for him?

    What kind of message are these books sending out to young impressionable minds? I know that most YR who read these books don't believe in this crap, but I can't help but worry about the few that do.

    In Aaron Patterson/Chris White's collaborated book "Ariel", she falls madly in love with Michael after spilling coffee at his feet. Within ONE day, she is devestatingly in love wth him. Vowing her life and soul to him.

    What happened to just getting to know a boy, going out with him, a few dates, getting to know if they both share common interests? Why the "love at first sight" thing? Is it to rush the nook? To get the readers engrossed so much that they can't possibly put the book down? Do we really live in an "instant gratification" world so much, that we can't even take the time to read a book?

    It is a sad world that we live in, if that is the case.

    KRC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    when will it end!

    I have thoroughly enjoyed the series however I think it is about time that it ended there is wayy to much going on here. Its almost like a soap opera. quick reads but I think they have exhausted all of their resources at this point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    LOVE ALL THE BOOKS!

    Loved this book. Read the whole series in a couple of weeks! CAN NOT WAIT TILL THE NEXT ONE! Keep on writing,
    Love,
    BOOKAHLIC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Simple read with loads of entertaining drama.

    Awakened was like any other House of Night book but with a different plot. I'm not sure why I continue to read the series but I'm guessing it has to do with the drama that has kept me glued to every page. Awakened continues after Zoey's soul is returned to her body and is temporarily taking sanctuary at Skye with Sgiach. As Neferet discovers that Kalona didn't fulfill his duty, she begins to go back to planning on how to get rid of Zoey Redbird.


    This was just a very simple and easy read. It's not one of my favorites but it was enjoyable. Of course there were still some relationship dramas and many more surprise deaths. *Minor Spoilers* I did feel like the characters no longer had use besides fueling Zoey's hatred for Neferet and felt as though their deaths happened too fast. I know that sounds pretty strange but if you've already read it, it was only like a paragraph. (Exaggeration) The writing for this book was very easy, but I did feel like there was an over usage of the word love. It was used so often that the feelings don't get across to me anymore and couldn't fully comprehend how much they actually cared about each other.


    Overall this was a fun easy read and would recommend this to anyone who's looking for a drama filled book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Awakened

    I feel like I've been played. I keep saying one more book and if I don't like it then I'm giving up. But, at 8 books in, I'm still reading this blasted series. It's like a gigantic circle of events. In this book, I seriously feel like we're back at square one.

    After all that she's done, how the hell is Neferet still in anybody's good graces? She's got some gift of persuasion to be able to convince everybody to forgive and forget. She really drives me crazy. But, maybe I can see what seems to be so painfully obvious because I've been privy to the information from the very beginning. Everybody else just seems incredible naive to me. I really wish she would just come out into the open so this series can be done with.

    And once again, I kind of wanted to smack some since into Zoey. Let's just stay in this alternate reality and not deal with the pain and suffering of the real world. It would be so much easier. Sad that the death of a friend is what finally brings her out of hiding. The only good thing from her character is she finally seems to be standing up for what she believes in which in turn I hope means she will finally start acting like a high priestess. I don't care if she's still a teenager.

    Things I did enjoy...the twins seem to be largely absent from this book. Which means no annoying banter and side conversations. I also really do like Stevie and Rephaim's relationship. It's so out of the ordinary. I think the only reasons I might read the next one is that relationship, and the fact that the library has them. I stopped buying these a long time ago!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    ..............

    I read so far all the house of night series i was so wraped in with the series on book one and two, but the story kept going on an on in a bad way if u havent read any of the books dont even start its just a waste of time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    Kinda Boring

    I love the House of Night series but I feel like the series should end soon. I thought that Awakened was kind of boring. I really feel like P.C. Cast and Kristen Cast are trying to drag on the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    OMG!!!

    Ok so I pick up this series because my friend recommended it to me. The first 3 were pretty good but then it just lost everything as it got further on. Honestly I don't even know if I can finish this book because it is dragging on so much. Plus what is up with Zoey and all these guys?! I can't tell you how crazy it makes me that the main character can't stick to one guy. After about the 5th book I'm kinda just reading to see what happens out of pure curiosity but if you haven't started reading the series yet I wouldn't recommend starting because you will get dissapointed when nothing ends up happening and it all just draggggggssssss onnnnnnn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Pro's VS Con's- its long but detailed

    This series as a whole is a mess, what i mean by this is that some parts are amazing most are okay and others just plain suck. The first three books in the series are what hooked readers the insight, humor, relatable situations, and the all around brilliant plot kept us reading. When the fourth book came around people were excited for more but then the Cast's changed the whole direction of the story. It was no longer about high school drama but the typical "unlikely hero saves the world!" story. Through out the fourth and fifth books the plot was okay. It maintained some humor and preserved a few elements of the first books but they were not up to par with the first three. After this the books DECAY!!! They become only a whisper of what they once were and have so many different things happening that it makes you start to loose interest exponentially. Books 6-8 have no meaning and are simply pointless. The moral to this very long strenuous rant: If you want a good read have a ball with books 1-3. Make an attempt at 4-5 and spare yourselves from the rest because they are a waste of time and shouldn't even be considered literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    I feel sad

    I wish she was still with erik.i miss erik . Wish he was still here with her. (Sigh)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    What+a+drag..

    The+first+five+books+of+this+series+had+me+enthralled%21+Like%2C+%22Let+me+stay+up+%26+never+put+this+book+down%21%22+entralled.+%26+then+book+six+came+out+%26+it+went+down+the+drain.+The+story+just+kept+dragging+on+%26+honestly+the+author+could+have+finished+it+at+six+but+chose+not+too.+To+tell+you+the+truth+i+gave+up+on+this+series+right+when+i+finished+the+sixth+book.+I+mean+i+want+to+know+who+Zoey+gets+with+at+the+end%2C+you+know.+UGH%2C+its+like%2C+%22When+will+it+end%3F%21%22+....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 393 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20