Customer Reviews for

Awakening

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Christian Love Story

    JoAnn Durgin takes the reader on a journey full of romance, humor, suspense, challenges of faith, with twists and turns throughout the story. She brings all of the characters to life drawing the reader in. The story is about two people at different levels of faith, each going through personal challenges while working with other volunteers at Teamwork Missions rebuilding homes and lives of victims of a flood. They find love, romance, friendships, while seeking and growing within the Lord, trusting his guidance and his love. As the series of events of romance, mystery and personal challenges unfold the reader will laugh, cry and cheer the characters on along the way. JoAnn Durgin keeps the reader engaged and wanting to learn more of the Lewis and Clarke adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    Awakening

    This contemporary (circa 1997) romance is set in and near San Antonio, and has the definite feel of all things Texas, right down to the yellow roses. The main characters, Sam and Lexa, are immediately drawn to each other in a Texas-size way en route to a work camp that's also a Christian mission, which Sam heads. They are just down right cute together, although not entirely compatible at the get-go, and later on issues of mistrust and words spoken in haste divide them. When adversity comes their way, the bond they had formed early on and that grew during their weeks of service together serves to strengthen and sustain their love for one another. The sweet ending was also a TX-scale event. There's no doubt these two are a duo to deal with.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Finally, a romance that's appealing to me!!!

    JoAnn Durgin has done the impossible. She has written a romance that is even appealing to those who tend to opt out of reading romances. She accomplishes this through her expert skill at drawing the reader into the reality that she has so meticulously created; she keeps her reader engaged in the developing relationship between Sam and Lexa.

    She weaves her deep faith into her story with great levity. The playfulness between her two main characters extends from the beginning of her story to the last sentence. This refreshing love story is inspiring to the seeker as it is to the veteran in the faith. This is a must read for all of those local reading groups that seem to be springing up like mushrooms all across the English speaking world. JoAnn Durgin, I can hardly wait for your second novel in this inspiring series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Absolute Winner!

    JoAnn Durgin has an absolute winner in her first published novel, "Awakenings."

    This book has it all: characters you will love, and perhaps identify with, remarkable setting, and a plot that keeps you engrossed from beginning to end and leaves you wanting to read more about Lexa and Sam.

    Lexa Clarke signs up for a TeamWork Missions summer assignment, dreaming of adventure in a far away, exotic country. However, she's sent to San Antonio where TeamWork Director Sam Lewis is not sure what to think of or what to do with his newest volunteer.

    From the back cover:

    "A God-fearing man. A God-seeking woman. For Sam Lewis and Lexa Clarke, it proves a combustible combination.

    During their weeks together in the TeamWork camp, Sam and Lexa learn the power of forgiveness and healing. Enduring a chain of incidents which challenge their faith, trust and growing relationship, they look to the Lord for guidance as together they discover a love greater than either could ever imagine."

    Ms. Durgin has done a marvelous job of communicating the principle of forgiveness-and from forgiveness-healing in "Awakening." It is a vital point many people need to hear and this book is a wonderful way for that message to be delivered to them.

    But the book is not condemning or preachy. Rather it is full of love with some very humorous scenes and intrigue thrown in for good measure.

    You will want to purchase this book for your library. It is a book that you will read over and over again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is truly a unique story in its own right. Loved the charact

    This is truly a unique story in its own right. Loved the characters and the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Awakening ¿ A Romance With Many Twists!

    JoAnn Durgin’s first published novel was a delight to read. This is a wonderful love story between TeamWork Missions director Sam Lewis and Lexa Clarke a TeamWork Missions volunteer. Lexa has signed up for 8 weeks of mission work in San Antonio, Texas. Little does she know what she is in for. Her desire is to put some meaning into her life by helping out others. She feels something is missing in her life but doesn’t quite know what she is searching for. There are times when she wonders what she is doing in a place like this and feels out of place. Everyone on the team seems to be strong Christians. She hasn’t been close to God in ages. This book is full of twists and surprises. I loved the fact that the author’s focus is centered on God and trust. Lexa manages to get herself in hot water many times throughout this book. As she learns to turn her life over to God she finds that she is truly a witness for Him and no longer feels she has nothing to contribute to TeamWork. God uses her in a mighty way. Of course you can’t help but want to see Sam and Lexa together. They butt heads a lot. Just maybe a relationship between the two of them isn’t God’s will in their life. Will they go their separate ways for good or will they end up together? My lips are sealed! I must not forget the emotional ride of this book. There is of course the romance that is a great adventure in itself. I laughed, I worried, I cried, and I was cheering for Sam and Lexa right up to the end. It is one of those reads you can’t put down. This was a thought provoking book for me. Oh I loved the romance part but I loved how God shows His hand in the lives of the characters. I reflected on my own life. I asked myself several questions. Am I seeking God’s will for my life or am I trying to be in control? Am I the person God intended for me to be? Would I be willing to go to a mission field if God was calling me to go? I highly recommend this book. I can’t wait to read book two of The Lewis Legacy Series, “Second Time Around.” Thanks to the author for a wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    A Must Read!

    All I had to do was read the blurb for "Awakening" to know that it was going in my must-read pile. I finished this book rather quickly, as I was unable to put it down. The plot is fantastic, the characters memorable, and the scenarios realistic. I could easily see why this has become one of the most popular books in contemporary Christian fiction. JoAnn Durgin takes the reader inside the thoughts, emotions, and lives of Lexa Clarke and Sam Lewis in a way that made me care about the characters and the struggles they faced. She added doses of humor at just the right time, and I loved how she did a play on the last names of Lewis and Clarke. Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen next, the book took another twist and turn, which made "Awakening" an enjoyable read and anything but predictable. I can't say enough good things about this book, and I highly recommend readers to pick it up and savor the well-written words found on each page. I am eagerly looking forward to JoAnn Durgin's next book, "Second Time Around."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Thoughtful, realistic Christian romance

    Being more used to suspense or romantic historicals, I wasn't sure if a Christian romance novel in its truest sense would hold my interest. But I was delighted with the calibre of JoAnn Durgin's Awakening, and her story's ability to enthral me with romance alone. And the romance in this contemporary story is Romantic with a capital "R". I think I even blushed several times-in a good way.

    But God is the author of romance, and this novel succeeds in delivering kisses as steamy as those in the Song of Solomon.

    Lexa Clarke is on her way by bus to San Antonio Texas to work for several months at a Team Work mission that builds houses for those less fortunate. From the moment she meets the mission leader, Sam Lewis, Lexa's sensual and romantic needs are awakened. But so is her spirit.

    This is the crux of the matter for Christian readers. The heart and body finds its complete fulfillment when the soul is not neglected. And tall handsome Sam, who looks like he could have stepped off the cover of one of the steamy secular romance novels that Lexa used to read, swept me off my feet too.

    But what I found so different about Awakenings is the lack of embarrassment the author has in her dialogue. Not the romantic dialogue, but the real conversations that hooked me-conversations that Christian men and women actually have on subjects such as purity and sexuality while wanting to be the person God wants them to be.

    The setting of San Antonio also gave me a buzz. And for this mystery lover, there was a bit of mystery towards the end. On another positive note-I did not feel any sense of formula with this story, but realism, so sometimes the pacing is a bit different from formulaic novels.

    But this is the kind of romance I used to dream for myself when I was young and unmarried, and that which I used to pray for my now married daughter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    What you're looking for

    If you want a Christian romance that sizzles, godly characters that make big mistakes, and humor that makes you chuckle out loud, look no further. Joann Durgin's Awakening is novel with Texas-sized quality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    My Review of Awakening

    Lexa Clarke has a deep desire to make a difference in the world so she signs up for an eight week summer assignment with TeamWork Missions. Originally when she signed up, she hoped to venture off into another country but she gets assigned to serve on a team rebuilding homes destroyed by a flood, in San Antonio, TX. She is seeking the Lord and experiences many interesting events and meets friendly, Christian people at this mission. Lexa did not go to this summer mission looking for love, but God had other plans-will she give her heart to the handsome cowboy, Sam Lewis and turn back to the Lord. When I first started reading Awakening, it threw me for a loop-but in a good way. Let me just say that I had recently finished reviewing a string of romance books, all great, but so unlike Ms. Durgin's romance. From the first chapter, I knew something was different about Lexa's story. As I read, it took me some time to put my finger on what that difference was. Then I figured it out. Just a quick note-everything about Awakening was great, but the problem was me getting out of my comfort zone and reading a romance novel that was not the norm. In this instance, not the norm is good. Ms. Durgin has succeeded in writing a romance novel that stands out among the crowd and breathes new life into the genre of romance. Sure, boy meets girl, they have issues and you probably can guess the ending, but this novel reads like a real life drama. This true to life relationship that Lexa and Sam develop shows real characters with emotional outbursts, believable dialogue, and fiery romantic chemistry. There's something for everyone in Awakening-romance, drama, interesting plot, dynamic character relations, strong faith-filled foundations, and some suspense woven into the end of the story. Ms. Durgin's debut novel certainly makes a great splash in the voluminous sea of the current romance market. Lexa and Sam's characters made a deep impact on me and I related very well to their fiery and loving, budding relationship. I like the cover with the yellow rose. This flower plays a role in their relationship and it's great that the characters were not part of the cover art. There was no need. Ms. Durgin successfully described the characters and painted such a wonderful picture in the reader's mind of what the characters looked like and brought you right into every scene. I look forward to reading Ms. Durgin's next novel. Awakening is definitely a keeper on my bookshelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!!

    JoAnn Durgin will most likely have a successful following after celebrating her first published novel. It had me at hello! I really enjoyed the adventures of Lewis and Clarke and the many ups and downs of their building relationship and eventual falling in love. I finished the book in 2 days, and couldn't put it down. Hopefully, the sequel will be published soon so this story can continue. Ms. Durgin makes you care about the characters and I enjoyed the humorous moments, danger(at times), connections with the characters and the sweet love story. Kudos to Torn Veil Books for recognizing the gifts this author possesses. Hurry up Ms. Durgin and give us some more! I loved the symbols of using the Alamo and the yellow rose! Thanks again for the great story! What a wonderful book to give as a gift also!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Great Love Story

    JoAnn Durgin brings us an excellent love story in her novel Awakening. Her well-written prose and dialogue draw the reader into the story of Sam and Lexa. Sam Lewis and Lexa Clarke entertain readers with enjoyable banter and charming wit. As they work together on a TeamWork mission, rebuilding homes destroyed by floods, unexpected adventures draw them together as their attraction and love for each other grows. These events bring challenges and danger for the work crew while deepening Sam's skills as a leader and spiritual mentor.

    Durgin doesn't neglect the spiritual aspect of growth as Lexa and Sam develop a deeper relationship with God. They learn to forgive, experience healing from painful pasts, and gain faith to meet the difficulties they face.

    A touch of intrigue keeps readers turning pages in Durgin's Contemporary Romance set in San Antonio, TX.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Christian Romance Doesn't Get Better than Awakening!

    If you like well-written Christian romance that's character driven and action packed, yet takes you on deepening spiritual journeys of the hero and heroine, you'll love JoAnn Durbin's debut novel, Awakening, published by Canadian publisher, Torn Veil. Ms. Durgin's fresh voice sets her novel in Texas at a Team Missions camp directed by handsome cowboy, Sam Lewis, who's confident, flawed yet humble. The workers build houses, but volunteer Lexa Clarke looks dressed for a style show. Lewis finds her arrival hurls the two of them into intriguing twists and turns. These make for satisfying reading. The banter and repartee between Lewis and Clarke amuses and bewilders, but when both realize they have fallen in love with one another, dealing with those emotions brings some surprises. Durgin does a great job with her first book and this is a love story not to be forgotten, making the reader more than ready for the next Lewis and Clarke adventure! Jude Urbanski, author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    Strong Christian Romance! Lexa Clarke is a beautiful, petite

    Strong Christian Romance!




    Lexa Clarke is a beautiful, petite and feisty young woman who is impulsive, headstrong and in need of change in her life. Looking for a way to heal from a broken relationship, and hoping for some adventure, Lexa volunteers for a summer session in a Christian work camp. Her dream of working in some exotic foreign country is quashed upon discovering she will be helping rebuild homes destroyed by flooding in a remote area of Texas. 




    A tall, dark and handsome cowboy, Sam Lewis is the director of the TeamWork Mission. Self-assured and a solid leader, Sam's honesty and integrity intimidate Lexa but her feisty personality proves she can hold her own. Their sparring leads to flirting, and Sam and Lexa learn some important lessons from each other as their attraction for one another is "awakened" during their time spent together in the work camp. Sam's strong faith dominates his very essence to the point that Lexa finds it difficult to believe he can be so confident in his assurance of God's love. Lexa feels like an imposter among the lifelong Christians in the work camp. 




    The differences between the main characters is staggering, and sparks fly! A lot of teasing, a little flirting, and concern in Sam's mind regarding Lexa's weak spiritual walk make for interesting reading. Strong Christians can be intimidating and appear conceited to one who is new in the faith walk, and that example is put to good use. The author has created a strong story of differences overcome through examples of patience, tolerance and prayer. Christian growth and sizzling romance are highlights in this story of Sam and Lexa. A large dose of wit and spunk is included between the main characters. Numerous plots and subplots intertwine to create a page-turning adventure including mystery, challenge, compassion and romance. If you enjoy Christian Romance you'll love Awakening!




    I received a copy of this book from the author, having won the book in a contest. All opinions expressed in this review are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    Sometimes, the Lord sends us on a mission to help others, when G

    Sometimes, the Lord sends us on a mission to help others, when God actually plans to do a work in our own life. Lexa’s concept of what this trip would be was not the same as God’s plan, however, God can use us in spite of our preconceived ideas.
    This book jumps right into an engaging story line that keeps you turning the pages. I enjoyed the obvious attraction of the main characters and watching that attraction grow into a relationship that is filled with romance and passion, as well as humor. The deep spiritual journeys of the characters give the story great depth filled with opportunity for God to speak to your heart. The struggles the characters face are very real to life. I appreciate the way Mrs. Durgin’s writing presents true-to-life struggles and emotions that are very real to the Christian walk, while offering an outcome that honors the Lord.
    I look forward to following Sam and Lexa’s story through the remainder of the Lewis Legacy Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2