Customer Reviews for

The Awakening (Darkest Powers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1020 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(677)

4 Star

(227)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book!

Chloe Saunders is back in the second book of the Darkest Powers series. If you haven't read The Summoning yet read it before reading this review. SPOILERS.

At the end of the first book Chloe and Rae go to Chloe's Aunt Lauren for help, not knowing that she is workin...
Chloe Saunders is back in the second book of the Darkest Powers series. If you haven't read The Summoning yet read it before reading this review. SPOILERS.

At the end of the first book Chloe and Rae go to Chloe's Aunt Lauren for help, not knowing that she is working for the very group that they are trying to escape from. As a result, Chloe and Rae end up locked in a high security warehouse that houses the Edison Groups many experiments. Luckily, Derek and Simon are still on the run and on the lookout for Chloe and Rae.

After encountering ghosts of some of the former Lyle House occupants Chloe decides to take matters into her own hands and figure out a way to escape, this time for good. With the help of Liz's ghost and a trapped demi-demon Chloe manages to find more information about the Edison group and how she can possibly escape from them.

Once away from the Edison group Chloe is forced to face the reality of living on the run with nowhere and nobody to turn to other than Tori, Derek, and Simon. Her father has posted a $500,000 reward for her safe return and the Edison group is no longer worried about keeping any of them alive.

Will Chloe and the others be able to outrun the Edison group or will their luck finally run out? Will Chloe ever figure out what her true feelings are for Derek and Simon?

The Darkest Powers series is full of paranormal happenings, betrayal, and budding romance. I highly recommend this series for any fans of the Twilight series. Definitely not the same story line but just as good.

posted by katiesbookblog on March 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I awaited anxiously for this book to come out...what a disappointment.
The first book was much better, this continuation in the series did not offer enough to satisfy my curiosity. Not enough questions answered. The story dragged on and was anticlimatic. Hopefully the ...
I awaited anxiously for this book to come out...what a disappointment.
The first book was much better, this continuation in the series did not offer enough to satisfy my curiosity. Not enough questions answered. The story dragged on and was anticlimatic. Hopefully the third book overcomes this bump in the series.

posted by 1438844 on June 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1027 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 52
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    LOVE

    Loved this series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    Kelley Armstrong doesn't disappoint.

    Kelley Armstrong doesn't disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great adolescent series!

    My 12 yr old daughter loved these books. I read them so we could talk about them. Really good! Addictive actually. We read the three books in three days and are sad that there are no more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    This book is so amazing I like it way better then the first book

    This book is so amazing I like it way better then the first book but that's my opinion so I'll sum it up and you think what you think (CAUTION :THIS CONTAINS SPOILER)
    Okay first starts off when Chloe and Tori are trapped with the Edison group they escape and find there way to Derek and Simon they live on the street for a few days Derek is really mean and watching for Chloe to mess up, Chloe and Tori have rewards on there heads . They decide to go find there fathers friend to seek help from they take the bus to there friend Derek on the way there is going to change Chloe gets of with him sadly the bus leaves without them so they make there way on foot to catch up with Simon on the way there they battle rival werewolf's and you can clearly see them developing feelings for each other but sadly there is no real moments in the end the find there way back clearly Simon feelings has for Chloe the find that there dads friend disappeared they get attacked by so called " Edison group" they escape with there dads friend it ends with him leading them to a group that rebels against the Edison group that contains fellow witches ,sorcerores ,and Necromancers . But do not fear the third book ends nicely even if there is or isn't a fourth book.
    What do you think?
    Five star book to me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Loved it

    A must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    4

    This is the sequel to The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong.

    Warning: If you did not like The Summoning you won't like this book. Just because you like The Otherworld series does not mean that you will like The Darkest Powers series and visa versa.

    How on earth do I know this? I am a weirdo and I make a point to read all types of reviews after I read a book. I especially like to read the reviews that are on the complete opposite of the spectrum from my opinion. In this case: the 1 star reviews. It is really depressing sometimes and other times really funny.

    This time around is was depressing.

    This book is not plot oriented so much as character oriented. It starts where the first book left off: Chloe captured by the Edison group but only after she talked to Liz. We don't actually get that conversation. In the first few chapters we get some important information for the plot but after that the rest of the book is mostly about getting meeting up with Andrew Carson, a friend of Simon and Derek's dad, and the four characters working out their biggest issue: actually working together without all of the fighting that was in the first book.

    It is not a fast-paced adventure thriller with explosions and gun fights (though there are some fights) but more of a exercise in character building. To me this book sets up for the third and final book of this series for now.

    So without further ado let's get to the review.

    I liked this book. I am unapologetic about it and absolutely everything else.

    I like Chloe for the same reasons that I did in the first book and while at the beginning of the book I had wandered off of the Team Derek side and chose to stand beside the no pairing side I did half-way return after them being together for practically half of the book. Some new reasons that I like her is because she is not boy crazy. While she started out liking Simon she was not obsessed with him and this is backed up by her obliviousness toward the fact that Simon likes her. The fact that Chloe Saunders reminds me a lot of Chloe Sullivan of Smallville fame really goes a long way toward my liking her character.

    I still don't really like Tori. I understand her a bit more than in the second book but I still don't like her. The only difference is that I now don't really, really not like her.

    Simon. There is a reason that I was never on Team Simon and that was because Simon just does not seem all of the way developed to me. I know that he likes art and tries to cover his less positive emotions with cheer and jokes but I have yet to really see him without that mask and deeper into him as a real character. Sorry but I had to say that and it was a painful as I thought it would be.

    Derek. The relationship between Chloe and Derek from the first book went three steps forward and then two steps back when they meet again in The Awakening. Of course in The Awakening they go about ten step forward. I don't like the yo-yo-ing of their relationship and I don't. Yet I really like how their friendship grows into a relationship instead of just popping up in the first book from left field.

    Okay so there really is no reason for me to continue writing this because a this point you either already like this series and I am preaching to the choir or you stopped way up at the top because you could not even finish the first book or you just love me so much that you can't stop reading what I wrote. I am going with the last one.

    I am always up for a g

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not sure that I liked the ending.....

    ....

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The the second book in the Darkest Powers series. I loved this book even better then the first(and the first book rocked) It continues where it left off in the first book(not gonna give much away for those who haven't read the first book) But you will be wanting more after you're done with this one. In a way it kind of reminds me of X-men but they are two totally different stories and I'm pretty sure nobody in X-men could talk to the dead and raise zombies. But anyways if you haven't read it,read it! Kelley Armstrong is an amazing author.She almost compares to J.K. Rowling. And that's a compliment from me. Stephenie Meyer eat your heart out.(no offense against the people who like the dull twilight series)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    This is the second book of the Darkest Powers series, following the Summoning. Both books are so good. It keeps you on the edge of your seat. There is never any down time, the plot is always moving. The characters are unique, and so is the story. I was never bored. Though the covers are what first attracted me to these books, it is the writing that keeps me reading. I'm counting down the days until the third book, the Reckoning, comes out in paperback. I wish I didn't have to wait though!! I definitely recommend this series to everyone. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    A Great Paranormal Read!

    The summary at the back of these books does not do the story justice. It is a wonderful twist on the paranormal, and doesn't only center on vampires and werewoolves. There is never a dull moment in this book, and it is really hard to put down. The first person view of this series draws readers in. Characters, including the main one, Chole are so life-like, I sometimes expect to bump into them, or see the Missing Person alert on the TV, courtesy of her father. Again, a wonderful read, especially for those of us who enjoy the paranormal, and a nice breather from the novels and series that center only on vampires and werewolves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Thrilling

    Both book in the Darkest Powers series have been fun and thrilling. The characters are likable enough, and you are free to pick favorites. The dialogue is realistic and non-cheesey. The twists and turns keep the plot going while Chloe and the gang run from the bad guys, and some revelations are made. Don't look to much into this book. Its fun and good to spend a couple of hours with, while curled up on the couch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book Ever!

    This book was amazing. terrific, estatic. I did not put it down at all and when i finished i just wanted to read it again and again. I love how the Author changes the story in some way i have never seen before in a book. I love all the characters and places and everything. It will and trust me it will poll you in and you will not get out until you finish the book. Trust Me! It's like a ride that you can never get off of. It straps you in and brings you throw the hole story without any stops. If you want a thring ride then you have to i'm mean have to read this book like now! So have fun, i know i did. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    full of love!

    A wonderful set of characters--Chloe and Derek LOVE, but loving Simon and Tori (yes, Tori!) too! The action is kept at top notch throughout. Kelley takes a common enough premise and knots it up very uniquely. Definitely recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    awsome book

    this book was really really good! id reccomend this book to anyone that wants something that'll put them on the endge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wasn't really impressed

    As i said above i wasn't really impressed with this book and i was looking forward to it after reading the first one (Summoning) there really was no story line or plot was kind of like an in between book, maybe the next one will have some grit.......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Big fan of the series!

    I really enjoyed this book, one of my favorite series. It was something I picked up and quickly got immersed into and finished in a couple hours, I just loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this!

    OMG, can't choose which I like more, this or the first book, at least until I read the third. But for now I pick both thank you very much. So, wow, this is already becoming one of my favorite series right now. Kicking myself for not reading these books sooner. What was I thinking? Right from the first page, the book delves right in, leaving off where the Summoning ended. Quite the journey Chloe is having after being sent to Lyle House isn't she? Loved, LOVED the moments with Derek and Chloe, and in this one there was a lot. Can you say character development?! Yeah I like Simon, even Tori has her moments but still. This was really interesting and a little intense, and creepy what with Chloe and the dead. Really good sequel. I like that they brought up the necklace. When I saw the cover I was like wait, wasn't it red and in the book, they mention it. Thank you for that. If you haven't read these books yet, just read them, like now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    TO whom may concren: here is my review

    TO whom may concren: here is my review i thought was ok not my favriote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Adventure

    Fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Dis b This book

    This book was awesome cause of the nonstop thriller and the chills. They should have a movie to this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1027 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 52