Customer Reviews for

The Awakening (Vampire Huntress Legend Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Teriffic paranormal tale

    She is known by many names; Slayer, vampire huntress and Neturu come to mind and she is feared by the forces of darkness who wants to destroy her before she reaches her twenty-first birthday and comes into her full powers. She is protected by seven Guardians and together they battle the creatures of the night. Her one weakness is Carlos who if he traveled another road would have been her guardian but at twenty-three he is a powerful mob boss who makes a fortune dealing drugs.............................. Fallon Nuit, a rogue vampire master wants to control all vampire activity on Earth and to have the slayer killed before her twenty-first birthday. He turns to Carlos but before the transformation is complete he is whisked away to the vampire council who will make him a master vampire if he destroys Fallon Nuit and the Neturu Damali Richards. He accepts the deal without signing any contracts because his own goal is to protect the slayer, even from himself and help her even though she discovers what he has become and rejects him................................ Make no mistake, all the vampires in THE AWAKENING are evil beings who think of human beings as cattle. Carlos is different because as he was turned he was praying and so there is hope for him if Damali will give him a chance. This is a fantastic urban fantasy tale and all the loose ends will be tied up in the final book in this series THE HUNTED............................. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Smashing

    Incidentally I found this book to be better and more enjoyable than the first one, and even that one was pretty good. I felt that the somewhat slower start that Minion had really came to fruition in this novel. If you like a good story where good and evil are subjective, despite what each side tries to say, this is a good series. Bad Blood is another great story by this author where light and dark aren't always as black and white as we think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Highly Recommended! a tasty treat.

    This book blew me away and kept me on edge. I laughed, fussed, cursed, and waited with anticipation. There’s a touch of many guilty pleasures in this book, and I loved every minute of it. It was a temptingly delicious delight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Love

    Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Excellent read

    Love her books, action from start to finish, check out her crimson moon series as well,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Truly amazing!

    It's a rare thing when you come across a book like this where you can say it has blessed you, but this one did for me! If you haven't read it, you most certainly are missing out. Banks combines love, hope, prayer, sex and general life into this series. A MUST read, keep and re-read for any reader. The only thing bad I can say about this book or series is that it's too good to gift or lend. Definately on my "touch it and die shelf."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great series, great book!

    The entire series rocks... For those of you who are into the supernatural/paranormal this is a definate must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to the new age of the Vamp.

    What a great book. I am now hooked on the series and will read whatever I can get my hands on by this great author. D and Carlos set the world on a new spin. I hope they make this into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Where have I been?!

    Ive only recently stumbles upon Mrs. Banks series of the Vampire Huntress legend. I too like many others are completely hooked. This book gives Anne Rice a youthful more urban take on Vampires and the world of the supernatural. Im so upset that Im so far behind in the series. I read #1 & #2 in one weekend and Im taking a road trip this week and #3 & #4 will be accompanying me. I will continue to catch up until July when The Shadows will be released. I cant wait. Its the thrill ride I've been looking for since I completed my Anne Rice Vampire Chronicles and VHS does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Too hard to put down!!!

    I haven't read the whole book but so far it is very good and it has lovly drama. I don't think that the fact that I'm reading book two before book one which is 'Minion.' I have trouble puting it down because it's so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    THE SERIES CONTINUES

    The Awakening is the second book in LA. Banks' Vampire Huntress Series. Here Carlos Rivera (master vampire) must work with Damali Richards (Huntress), her Guardian team and the Covenant, to rid the world and the under world of rouge Master vampire, Fallon Nuit....... In this book, readers get to see how Damali Richards learns she's the Millennium Neteru. Meaning her womb is able to carry daywalkers. And evil wants her body to carry out their that purpose. Damali also continues to come into her huntress powers, where her mind and body strenthen....... L.A. Banks knows what she's doing. This woman has talent!! Her writing style is brillant for the characters in this Vampire series. This is a beautifully written piece of work, that I could read a thousand times and still find something new re-read. The lead characters, as well as the supporting characters seem to be real people. Many of the aspects represented here are rooted in reality....... The Awakening is jam packed full of goodies. Anyone young, old, short, tall, black, white, asian, latin, you name it. Can renjoy this heart-pounding, intriguing, alluring, thrilling, chilling, spell-bounding, provocative, blazing, and hyponitic piece of art!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    The Neteru Rocks!!! Hard!!!

    Like Minion, The Awakening is a stellar literary work in the vampire, horror genres. L.A. Banks has a knack for urban language & the feel of the book is very palpable. The Awakening is a seamless continuation of The Minion & it felt as though I was reading a movie. All the stories Grandma told u about while sitting on her porch watching fireflies is here...every tale u heard about Heaven & Hell is here...every tale of Creature Double Feature, every wvampire, wolf or scary movie u've ever seen is here...reading this book made me feel...made me think more deeply about how connected we all r This book is a sexy, sensual, frightening rollercoaster read...I luv'd it & u will 2. If u've read Minion u need 2 read The Awakening. Every passage will have u talking & screaming & laughung out loud 2 no one in particular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    interesting and addictive

    I picked it up off the shelf, didn't realize it was a series really, but I was interested enough that I'm going to purchase the second. Banks wrote a seductive enchanting story that I could not put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3