Customer Reviews for

The Awakening (Vampire Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 985 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(575)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(67)

1 Star

(82)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

From the first time I picked this up I found a book I really enj

From the first time I picked this up I found a book I really enjoyed. Would recommend

posted by sand7s on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

67 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

Watch the Show Leave the Books

I love the show The Vampire Diaries. I am a vapire junkie and before the show came out I read these books. The characters are very under developed. Elena is pretty much a beyotch and is selfish and self centered. She is angry and cant control herself because a boy doesn...
I love the show The Vampire Diaries. I am a vapire junkie and before the show came out I read these books. The characters are very under developed. Elena is pretty much a beyotch and is selfish and self centered. She is angry and cant control herself because a boy doesnt look at her. It is quite narcisistic. Stefan and Damon are great characters but you never really get your full grasp of them and are left wanting moe. There is no real love triangle. Elena always loves Stefan and never really chooses Damon. There is no real substance to the books.
The tv show is amazing. the characters are relatable and have real backround and have room to grow. Stefan is played amazignly by Paul Wesley and you really gt his sense of hurt and can see and feel the pain and suffering he has gone through in his eyes. Elena is very different from the books and actually cares about people other than herself. Damon is witty and sexy and although he does have that bad boy streak you ca actually see that he also has feelings and a is not a souless pit with no heart.

posted by 1691929 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 997 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 50
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Watch the Show Leave the Books

    I love the show The Vampire Diaries. I am a vapire junkie and before the show came out I read these books. The characters are very under developed. Elena is pretty much a beyotch and is selfish and self centered. She is angry and cant control herself because a boy doesnt look at her. It is quite narcisistic. Stefan and Damon are great characters but you never really get your full grasp of them and are left wanting moe. There is no real love triangle. Elena always loves Stefan and never really chooses Damon. There is no real substance to the books.
    The tv show is amazing. the characters are relatable and have real backround and have room to grow. Stefan is played amazignly by Paul Wesley and you really gt his sense of hurt and can see and feel the pain and suffering he has gone through in his eyes. Elena is very different from the books and actually cares about people other than herself. Damon is witty and sexy and although he does have that bad boy streak you ca actually see that he also has feelings and a is not a souless pit with no heart.

    67 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    From the first time I picked this up I found a book I really enj

    From the first time I picked this up I found a book I really enjoyed. Would recommend

    35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent

    i have been reading this series from the beginning and can't wait to read the next one.

    32 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Totally head over heels for this book!!!!

    I? THIS BOOKS ITS SOOO GOOD!!! AND FOR ALL OF YOU WHO SAY ITS JEST A RIPOFF OF TWILIGHT I BEG TO DIFFER THE ORIGINAL BOOKS/STORY WAS PUBLISHED IN 1991 AND TWILIGHT IN 2005!! YES THERE IS SOME SIMILARITY. I REALLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK AND IF YOU REALLY LIKE THE SHOW ON THE CW CHANNLE 11 THAN YOUR GANNA LIKE THE BOOK ALTHOUGHT THE SHOW IS WAY DIFFRENT IT'S STILL A GOOD SHOW BASED ON A REALLY GOOD BOOK!!?

    30 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Watch the show. Never read the books.

    The only reason I keep reading these insufferable books is because I HAVE to know how they end. Even though there is a blossoming relationship I adore in the books (much later in the series)I would pick the show over the books anytime! Don't make the mistake I did and read the books. Ever!

    24 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Fast Paced, Fun and Energetic

    I am a college student and spend an enormous amount of time reading textbooks. Frequently I require an escape from reality, and this book did the trick. I love the fast paced nature of Teen Fiction, and this book was terrific! It is passionate, and gripping; full of excitement and a wonderfully easy read. I love the show and decided to read the books that made it possible. The book shares very little of the story line from the show, and that made it far more interesting. I was surprised to find that it had been written a while back. I envisioned the events on the landscape of today until I was hit with the realization that the characters were not jumping for their cell phones at every juncture, which made me look back to the publication date. The absence of instant contact via cell phones made the story more exciting and once I realized when the book had been written I stepped back into that time and stopped trying to rely on a cell phone for the plot, which was rather refreshing. All in all this is an awesome fast read that provides a well constructed escape from everyday life where you can get tangled up in the drama and chaos of well drawn characters who don't fit into the logic of our lives.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Love this book! I recommend.

    The books are NOTHING like the show at alllll! They are so much better. I highly recommend that you read this. It is an irresistible love story.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Horrid

    If youve ever watched the tv series of this, it will drive you nuts! Elenas blonde, Bonnies a red head , Jenna is Aunt Judith and theres no Jermey just a 4 yea old girl, whos name i dont know. I only got the sample (its free) and even that turned me off. If i hadnt seen the tv series i might have liked it butprobably not. Personally if you likedthe yv series , dont get the book. But i do encourage you to get the sample to decided for you self. Happy reading. Narinadance98

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Even worse than Twilight

    I thought Twilight was poorly written and rather dull for a vampire novel (whatever happened to vampires actually being scary?). This was worse. Not only is Elena vapid and difficult to relate to, but she seems to be surrounded by dull-witted friends and falls in love with Stefan for no reason whatsoever. One day they haven't even had a conversation and a week later they're drinking each other's blood. The relationship is not developed at all, even though their obsession with one another is a dominant part of the novel. Weird, even for a young adult vampire romance. If you're looking for teen books with both romance and supernatural elements, I would recommend The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare over these books.

    If you're expecting something like the tv series, look elsewhere. If you want something meaningless in mindless that you can finish in a few hours, then you might enjoy this book.

    15 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    This book rocks

    This book was very exciting and romantic. Whoever liked the Twilight Saga this book is like the same thing. except there are no werewolve love. but its two vampire brothers who both love a girl. After it gets edgy.
    i hope you enjoy this book like i did and there is a sreis on TV called Vampire diares, on channel 5.

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Tv show is much better

    Others have already said it, but the tv show is quite different in a great way. I found this book to be bland and not very in depth or descriptive in regards to characters and their feelings etc. In the book i dont like any of the characters, especially Elena. In the show the actors do an amazing job! Go Damon lol. Due to the hype I was expecting much more...ive read far better similar genre/themed books. I will not be reading any of the subsequent ones...but will not miss any of the show!

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awesome!

    Totally different from the show, but in a good way! Ready to read the 2nd book!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    omgomgomgomg

    OMG I THINK IM GOONA DIE IF I STOP SEEING PAUL WEASLY

    7 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Vampire lovers

    Vampire diaries is the best series ive ever read, i think its even better than the twilight series. Damon is the bad boy, stephan is the sensitive good guy, and Elena is the girl who will never have a normal life because if stephan and damon. I love vampire books and i have read many but the vampire diaries was beyond the best of them. This book has twists that youll never expect and u will fall in love with the characters. Elean has two vampires falling in love with her and she must choose. Damon or stephan, who will she pick? To find out you must read the book. With elena fighting beside steaphen and damon they will face danger and their friends will help save them. When you read this book you will find your self dreaming about being amazing elana. While reading You will feel as if you are in the book fighting with stephan and damon. I sugest this book to everybody. The plot will make you want to read more. The romance is amazing and you could find your self crying. You will fall in love with the characters, the twists and plots, and you will fall im love with the book. Experience the best book you will ever read. READ THE VAMPIRE DIARIES!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Omg!

    Dont listen to the other reviews. Im 13. This was sooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than twilight. The series is better thaan the show. You will not be dissapointed. Its amazing i LOVED IT.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Dont read it if you came frowatc Dont read if you came here because of the tv show. Youll ne dissapointed

    This book isnt good. Hardly anything happens. Elena is basically a dumb blond. It has no plot. If you buy it dont expect alot. I was disapointed :(

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    True loves we fight for

    It is a chilling love story that leaves you wondering if love will win the war or will power rule over all

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    LEMME GET THIS STRAIGHT

    First, this book sucks. Second, im pretty sure the vampiare diaries came before twilight. And even the author of twilight didnt come up with idea of vampires anywy. So everyone copies somebody. Now about the vampiare diaries. They hardly spoke to eachother and then, next thing you know, he's bringing her to his house and they're kissing. She doesnt know hell about him and they barely spoke to eachother! What the?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!!!

    I love this book so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Truely REALLY IS IT! A good book!!

    The Awakening(Vampire Diares Series #1) is truely and honestly a wonderful book.Well thats what I think but you might not think so.So you might just want to read the sample before you get the book.Oh but don't worry because the sample is free.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 997 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 50