BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Awakening (Vampire Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 991 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(577)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(69)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

From the first time I picked this up I found a book I really enj

From the first time I picked this up I found a book I really enjoyed. Would recommend

posted by sand7s on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Watch the Show Leave the Books

I love the show The Vampire Diaries. I am a vapire junkie and before the show came out I read these books. The characters are very under developed. Elena is pretty much a beyotch and is selfish and self centered. She is angry and cant control herself because a boy doesn...
I love the show The Vampire Diaries. I am a vapire junkie and before the show came out I read these books. The characters are very under developed. Elena is pretty much a beyotch and is selfish and self centered. She is angry and cant control herself because a boy doesnt look at her. It is quite narcisistic. Stefan and Damon are great characters but you never really get your full grasp of them and are left wanting moe. There is no real love triangle. Elena always loves Stefan and never really chooses Damon. There is no real substance to the books.
The tv show is amazing. the characters are relatable and have real backround and have room to grow. Stefan is played amazignly by Paul Wesley and you really gt his sense of hurt and can see and feel the pain and suffering he has gone through in his eyes. Elena is very different from the books and actually cares about people other than herself. Damon is witty and sexy and although he does have that bad boy streak you ca actually see that he also has feelings and a is not a souless pit with no heart.

posted by 1691929 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    B Great book!)

    Descritive and easy to folow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Good book, but make sure you read before show

    I loved the show and the books, but i will say it can get confusing if you dont read the two seperately. My recommmendation is that you read the books over the summer when the show is not on that way you can keep them seperate. The books amd the shows are definately different, but they are unique in there own ways. I found myself hating caroline in the books, while completely loving her in the show. Also, total characters were changed and different story lines. All in all the series is good on tv and in print.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Vampires.!

    I love the vampire diaries.! I was so into reading about vampires that i started looking for more so i recommend ppl read 'm. Leighton's series: for the love of a vampire' for teenage vampire lovers. The trilogy was amazing!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    A Middle School Student's Perspective

    A Book Review of the Vampire Diaries
    By Aron Aung, Grade 7, Yangon International School

    Have you ever found yourself being so different around people that you are unable to control yourself when you are with them? One may experience this feeling while reading The Vampire Diaries written by L.J. Smith, an American author of young adult literature who usually writes in the genres of supernatural, horror, science fiction, fantasy, and romance. This book demonstrates that being with someone different does not mean that loving each other or staying together is impossible. Stefan Salvatore and Damon Salvatore, who are vampires, are fighting over a mortal, Elena Gilbert. Will Elena be able to survive their conflict? Will one vampire win her affection?

    Elena notices Stefan on the first day of school and tries to discover everything about him. In a short time, the two starts dating. Later on Damon, Stefan’s brother follows him into town and met Elena and developed an odd feeling that he had known Elena at an earlier time. Maybe, though, Elena just reminds him of another girl, Katherine. However, Elena could not be Katherine since Katharine had died. Thus, Damon decided he will replace Elena with Katherine. A game of a deadly love triangle begins, though Elena and Stefan love each other. But, will Damon be able to cut the love string tied between Elena and Stefan?

    Throughout the book, Smith’s plot causes the reader to ask many questions. Are vampires real? Are vampires still alive? In fact, he made vampires so realistic that he could cause readers to love vampires. Elena’s initial personality might not be desirable, but after she met Stefan, her personality changed from selfish to caring. Similarly Stefan changes when he controls his craving for blood when he is with Elena. I really admire the way Smith showed how one person can help change another person’s life. Also, Smith’s use of foreshadowing at the end of every chapter causes the reader to be obsessed and continue the book to discover the growing struggles for each of the characters.

    Young adults from ages of 11 – 16 should read this book, because this time of our lives, we dream of many things and in this book, some might be included. On a scale of 1 (low) to five (high), I give this book a four, because some parts might be very interesting, but some don’t.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Best ending

    Really good and i loved the end

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Vampire Diaries Rocks! :D

    I've watched and read a lot of vampire stories already but Vampire Diaries have a romatic vampire story that all of us should look for. This book is really interesting and Elena is really beautiful and Stefan is handsome as well. Vampire Diaries are better that other vampire stories or any other vampire series as of today but I may say that I also love Twilight. Thumbs up to vampire diaries!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Excellent!

    At first I was a little skepticle because of the wordiness of it but by the end, I kept wanting to know what was going to happen next. I can't wait to continue the series to see what's in store for all of the characters.[:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Shor Na

    This book is good i love the sepense the book has

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    good

    nice+introduction+to+Stephen%2CDamon%2C+and+Helena

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    What happened???

    I have been a big fan of the Vampire Diaries for a long time. I have to say that I am extremely disappointed to see that the cover art has changed to reflect the t.v. series. The show has no connection to the books except the character names. They should be considered two separate entities as that is what they truly are.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    A Decent Read...

    The first book in this series starts slowly. Ehlena is a shallow character and the love story is rushed. There really seems to be no reason that they fell in love, and there isn't enough depth in those feelings. The writing is NOT of the same caliber as "Twilight" or "Vampire Academy" as I was hoping for it to be. HOWEVER, with that said. The book started getting interesting towards the last quarter of it, enough so that I purchased the next book in the series. Each book became progressively better. My favorite in the Vampire Diaries books are the newest books... The "Origins" series of Stephan's diaries. Stephan's character has alot of depth and his backstory draws you in and keeps you there. His backstory in Origins does not match the back story presented in these older books, but seems like it is more based on what was presented in the television show.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    vampire awesomeness

    this book was so good and exciting i lovef it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    great book!

    i loved this book and i think others will to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    :D great book!!!

    L.J. Smith is a fantastic author and always leaves the readers wanting more! this was a great book!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story

    I only chose this series because my daughter and I decided to watch the television show and I like the show, however the book is nothing like the show! The book however because its different than the tv show is a good story as well, it has very different twists to it that the show does not, or atleast does not so far. There is also another character in the book that the show does not have that is a best friend of the lead female character. Either way...I do recommend this story, its very easy read and a good story line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    One of the best series I read as a teen

    When I was a teenager I happened across this series at the library. Immediately I was hooked. I read all of L.J. Smiths' novels and still own a few. Even though I'm now 24 and no longer a teen I still check to see when that last novel for her Night World series is going to come out.. if ever. I definitely recommend her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    This book is great

    This book is fantastic I mean when I was reading the book I felt like I was there. I finished the book the same day I bought it I was so hooked on it. If you haven't read this you should cause it's very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8