Customer Reviews for

The Awakening (Vampire Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1006 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(590)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

From the first time I picked this up I found a book I really enj

From the first time I picked this up I found a book I really enjoyed. Would recommend

posted by sand7s on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

73 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

Watch the Show Leave the Books

I love the show The Vampire Diaries. I am a vapire junkie and before the show came out I read these books. The characters are very under developed. Elena is pretty much a beyotch and is selfish and self centered. She is angry and cant control herself because a boy doesn...
I love the show The Vampire Diaries. I am a vapire junkie and before the show came out I read these books. The characters are very under developed. Elena is pretty much a beyotch and is selfish and self centered. She is angry and cant control herself because a boy doesnt look at her. It is quite narcisistic. Stefan and Damon are great characters but you never really get your full grasp of them and are left wanting moe. There is no real love triangle. Elena always loves Stefan and never really chooses Damon. There is no real substance to the books.
The tv show is amazing. the characters are relatable and have real backround and have room to grow. Stefan is played amazignly by Paul Wesley and you really gt his sense of hurt and can see and feel the pain and suffering he has gone through in his eyes. Elena is very different from the books and actually cares about people other than herself. Damon is witty and sexy and although he does have that bad boy streak you ca actually see that he also has feelings and a is not a souless pit with no heart.

posted by 1691929 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1018 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 51
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    AMAZING

    I read the sample and i want it so bad. I was so hooked. I love vampire novels

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    LUV IT LUV IT LUV IT LUV IT LUV IT LUV IT LUV IT LUV IT LUV IT

    Omg i totallly love te tv show did you no that this came before twilight yeah so steph kinda copied but who cares damen is sooooo cute i watch him weekly and ohh neva mind ill spoil the book for people eho dont watch the show but it is ahhh-mazin
    <3mermaid

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For those who love diary-style books with vampires and romance

    I think the main character falls in love way too quickly for the vampire in this book. The writing is naive and limited on details. The book is small and quick. The only reason I read it through is to find out what happens at the end. The TV series beats these books easily.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I agree with people when they say that the show is better than t

    I agree with people when they say that the show is better than the books. I watched the first few seasons of the show on Netflix and loved it. I was really excited to read the books, as I thought that the books would be just as amazing. I was greatly disappointed by the outcome of the books. I read the first three in hope that they would get better. During the third, I gave up hoping. The books are awful, the show is amazing. I agree with the person who mentioned the character of Damon. I definitely like the character the show gives him, and not the character that the books gave him. I am grateful for the books being around, as they set the foundation for an amazing television show, but I think TV did a much better job with the characters than the books did. I will never recommend this book to others, nor any of the vampire diaries books. The show I would recommend for sure, but definitely not the books.  

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Thus Thus Thus book was thrilling

    Most amazing book ive read i couldnt put it down and i highly recomend it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Damon

    Dibs on damon he is amazing and has a great body almost as good as channing tatums but not quite. Watched the shows in one day this book series kinda sucked compared to the shiw

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    The vampire diaries

    I haven't really read the books but i have watched the tv shows on the cw and im only 9.It is AWESOME. It is about 2 brothers steaphen and damen.They are vampires.Then there is a girl named alana.They both love her.She is a human.There is a bad vampire calous.The 2 brothers try to save her.So watch the books and tv shows to find out. Will she die will the others get hurt.Gess you have to find out.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Awsome

    I would give this book a million stars if i could i meen this book is so totally awsome and i say everyone should read this book and watch the show me and my sister always watch the show we have the first and second season we have already saw every disk and we are watching it right now

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Vampire diaries is better than twilight

    I luved this book. But liked stefan's journal better. The reason y im giving it 5 stars is becuz of the tv shows.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    WHOOPIO!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love the vampire diaries! Its awesome!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Vampire diaries is awesome!

    All about romance, romance, romance! Love it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    I love it

    I love it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Sammie

    AMAZING!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Creative

    Ar the vampire diaries series good??

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    I loved it :)

    Gosh i really wish it was longer than like 200 pages.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    F

    C

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Amazing

    I love love love the show, however, books are much better! Finished 6 in about a week. Can't wait for March for the second phantom arch series!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Mirjam

    So cool!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Prefer the TV shows!

    Tried twice to read this series and I just can't.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    the best awakening of my life!

    this book is truly and awakening it opened my eyes to some of the evils in my life and i recommend this book for anyone having spiritual struggles

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1018 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 51