Customer Reviews for

The Awakening and Selected Short Fiction (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Subtle portrayal of womanhood

    Edna Pontellier, a resident of New Orleans, is on holiday at a Louisiana holiday resort on Grand Isle. She is with her husband and children as well as the various other guests. Their summer time activities consist of swimming, sitting on the beach, dining and participating in evening social activities. The guests are all Creole and know each other from New Orleans. Edna strikes up some comfortable friendships including spending a lot of time with Robert, the son of the resort owner. Eventually she realizes that she has gradually fallen in love with him. Not only that, but she has begun to recognize herself as an individual with her own unique sensibilities. "She felt as if a mist had been lifted from her eyes, enabling her to look upon and comprehend the significance of life, that monster made up of beauty and brutality."(p.112)

    Kate Chopin portrays her protagonist Edna as a woman who has a unique sensitivity to life and a particular appreciation for music. After the vacation the family moves back to their home in New Orleans. Now that she has awakened to her new sense of self she finds that she cannot settle back to her former life. So she moves out of her husbands home into a tiny cottage and pursues her desire to be an artist. She shuns all her responsibilities and delves into a life of freedom. It does satisfy like she had hoped it would though. Edna takes one last trip back to the resort where she notes that, "The voice of the sea is seductive, never ceasing, whispering, clamoring, murmuring, inviting the soul to wander in abysses of solitude."(p.154)

    This novel reminded me of Anna Karenina by Tolstoy, but it was a much easier and shorter book to read. It is a good choice if you are looking to read some 'true' classics but do not want something difficult. Chopin is not a 'wordy' writer who goes into great detail. She gives her impressions and ideas in such a way as to spark many questions in your mind rather than to cover all the themes thoroughly. The focus is on the inner psychology of the protagonists mind. The Awakening raises the interesting dilemma of being true to the self versus social responsibility. Kate Chopin's character Edna goes so far as to state, "...she would give up the unessential, but she would never sacrifice herself for her children." When thinking of her husband and children she says, "They were a part of her life. But they need not have thought that they could possess her body and soul."(p.155) Kate Chopin does not give a simple answer to this issue, leaving it open to the reader to interpret the nature of Edna and her choices.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Very good, I really Love it 

    Very good, I really Love it 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    At times I found "The Awakening" to be an ironic title

    At times I found "The Awakening" to be an ironic title,because it often put me to sleep.  I can understand how at the time this novel was revolutionary in the women's right movement, but to a modern reader Edna seems selfish and careless.  I was shocked reading the final page, because I didn't think Edna was desperate enought to kill herself.  Overall I thought the writing was beautifully done,but was not a fan of the plot.  I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Great book

    I enjoyed the writing, but certain aspects of the plot bothered me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Officially one of my favorite books and authors...!

    The first Chopin piece I read was "A Pair of Silk Stockings" in tenth grade English. Intrigued by the clean and somewhat lyrical writing style of Chopin, I went home right away and put this book on my wish list. When I finally got it, I was not disappointed. The book focuses strongly on women's dissatisfaction in their marriages during the nineteenth century. The book is an easy read, and the plots are just fantastic. Definitely a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Haunting

    For being over a century or so old,The Awakening was an exceptionally easy read. I read it about a year ago (free nook book)& it was very good yet at times very dark. The ending left me in a funk FOR WEEKS- I didnt see the ending coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly Good

    I was required to read The Awakening for a college English course in which I'm currently enrolled. I was not looking forward to reading a 'classic', especially this one. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to read and that I really got in to it. I enjoyed Edna Pontellier's story and the controversial topics that her actions can bring up. Also, I was glad Barnes & Noble offers the classics at a price of less than $5! A great bargain for a college student :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Emotional and Heartbreaking

    This book is not only beautifully written but perfectly captures the hard ships off women in the early years. As you read you can not help but admire Edna's will power to become her own person and find her true self. This book is inspiring, inpowering and tragic all at once. I think all women should read this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Beautifully done

    It's truly a beautiful work of literature from the first page onward, it's easy to see why this book received malicious attention in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The story is wrapped around a woman trying desperately to escape from the patriarchal world surrounding her. I originally had to read this for school, but now find myself obnoxiously picking it up during a hot summer day, letting Chopin's imagery carry me off to some other world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    A Moving Novel

    If you're expecting a predictable plot, then you're wrong. This brief novel is nothing short of a masterpeice it is concise, heartfelt, unique, and tragic. Expect a good story but perhaps not a fairy tale. I can't wait to read more of Ms. Wharton's works.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    AMAZING

    I had to select a novel for my AP English Lit class and I selected The Awakening knowing absolutely nothing about the author or the novel itself. This book is now one of my favorites. It conveys raw emotion and passion in a way rarely done in literature. It keeps your attention and is a must read for everyone. This is also a great pick if you do not have a lot of time on your hands, but want to read something good. (The Awakening itself is only 155 pages.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    awesome!!!!

    I had to read this book for AP Lit but found myself re-reading it this summer. I loved this book. Edna is a true hero to any woman seeking to know herself. How far is it okay to go in search of knowing one's true self? Is it okay to be immoral inorder to discover one's true self? This novel raises the question in the reader's mind of whether or not Edna is moral and leaves the reader desperate to find one's personal opinion long after he has completed the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    An Emotional Thinker

    'The Awakening' is a fabulous story that allows the reader to see exactly how a woman in the protagonist's time period must feel. The story raises the question: How much self-satisfaction and happiness is a woman, a wife and mother, expected to give up for her family? Chopin uses Mrs. Pontellier to illustrate the importance and relevancy of this question. The story is written so that not only does it apply to the protagonist's time period, but also that of today's women and enforced societial standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3