Customer Reviews for

Awakening the Buddha Within: Eight Steps to Enlightenment

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book. It really opens your eyes to the wonders of B

    I love this book. It really opens your eyes to the wonders of Buddhist thinking, and the path to a better life. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Awesome

    One of the best buddhist books on the market.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    Choose Peace...

    This was an excellent book that I, one day, intend to raise my children by. The non-Buddhist, such as myself, can still find great value in this classic piece of literature. Although all that is in the book may not appear to be realistic to the contemporary reader, how many ideals ARE truly realistic? Lama Das outlines simple ways to become dependent upon none but self for inner peace, yet being aware of the self as part of the one collective of existence. Awakening the Buddha Within is a poignant, yet simply understood collection of Buddhist thought and teachings that anyone in search of guidelines to attaining true inner peace bereft of constructs and dogmatic concepts can enjoy. PEACE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Simple to understand yet amazingly helpful and profound

    Simple to understand yet amazingly helpful and profound

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Great book for those new to Buddism

    You do not need to be a buddist to appreciate the concepts within this book. Perfect gift for the stressed out workaholic in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    I loved this book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    My Buddhist 'Bible'

    Lam Surya Das, the 'deli-lama', is the genuine article. He writes from a Jewish-American upbringing and a Buddhist education and tells how to integrate our Western culture with Eastern wisdom and practice. Changed my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Changed My Life

    Literally this book changed my life and I and not Buddhist-well I wasn't when I started reading the book---as a Chronic Pain sufferer I found these words of wisdom made a huge difference on how I viewed my life and the world .I read it at least once a year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a great book to introduce you to Buddhism. If you are only going to read one or two books on the subject, this would be a great place to start. The book is styled more along a self-help type genre, but then you might call Buddha the first self-help guru of history. There is much truth in the book, and it is a worthy investment of your time. It could have been a little shorter though, and still been effective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    Great for beginners!

    I recently began practicing Buddhism, and this book was fantastic in the way it describes techniques for meditation and whatnot. It does read more like a self-help book, but I feel that is a good thing. You can really feel the love that the author has for the subject, and that deeply moved me. Highly recommended if you have even a passing interest in Buddhism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    Tibetan Buddhism for beginners

    Lama Surya Das does a good job of introducing the teachings of Tibetan Buddhism to the West. Many people see Buddhism as an exotic Eastern tradition without any relevance to our lives here and now. However, one need not embrace Buddhism to gain much from Buddhist concepts. This book is a little soft on certain concepts (like reincarnation). However, this book is meant for one not already deeply involved in the practice of Buddhism, so maybe it's better that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2000

    awaken

    The book helped me awaken to my spiritual path. I loved the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2000

    If only we all used this information...

    This book was loaned to me by a great friend and I simply cannot give it back to him... this book has profoundly affected my view of mysef andthe world, and helped me find the courage to live life in the now. Lama Das has written every word with a smile, and his generosity and beautiful spirit of intent comes through on every page. It a a joy to read and to share with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Good introducation to core teachings and Tibetan tradition

    I found the book most informative concerning the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path, essentially the complete path. It also comes from an American point of view which is important if you're American. Overall a help on my path to enlightenment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2