Customer Reviews for

Awareness: The Perils and Opportunities of Reality

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Prophet for Our Time

Anthony de Mello S.J. was a prophet for our time. His stories and insights reach into the hearts of his listerners. He paints a compelling picture of faith and life that is tangible and achieveable. Reading his work is a blessing.

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I'm not comfortable recommending this book...

This book is actually a series of lectures from a religious retreat given by Anthony De Mello, who is apparently a Jesuit priest. But in no way does it represent the Ignatian retreat model (at least that I could tell) and it also didn't really seem to follow traditiona...
This book is actually a series of lectures from a religious retreat given by Anthony De Mello, who is apparently a Jesuit priest. But in no way does it represent the Ignatian retreat model (at least that I could tell) and it also didn't really seem to follow traditional Catholic morality or thinking. Though I'm no expert, I do believe that charity does exist in the world, and that it is possible for someone to perform an altruistic act without necessarily doing it because he or she is feeling good about performing a good action, for example. This book made me see how far gone so many of the Jesuit institutions are--like Georgetown and Notre Dame, Fordham, and all th other places where extremely bad decisions have been made in regard to supporting things the Catholic Church is clearly against.

posted by 1401400 on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    A Prophet for Our Time

    Anthony de Mello S.J. was a prophet for our time. His stories and insights reach into the hearts of his listerners. He paints a compelling picture of faith and life that is tangible and achieveable. Reading his work is a blessing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Awesome book. He does not impose any religious views. I highly r

    Awesome book. He does not impose any religious views. I highly recommend the book. I have bought 5 copies already to share with friends and loved ones.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    On the mark!

    If you are willing to open your heart this book can change your life...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    I'm not comfortable recommending this book...

    This book is actually a series of lectures from a religious retreat given by Anthony De Mello, who is apparently a Jesuit priest. But in no way does it represent the Ignatian retreat model (at least that I could tell) and it also didn't really seem to follow traditional Catholic morality or thinking. Though I'm no expert, I do believe that charity does exist in the world, and that it is possible for someone to perform an altruistic act without necessarily doing it because he or she is feeling good about performing a good action, for example. This book made me see how far gone so many of the Jesuit institutions are--like Georgetown and Notre Dame, Fordham, and all th other places where extremely bad decisions have been made in regard to supporting things the Catholic Church is clearly against.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    Incredible book with deep and long lasting meaning

    This book awakened me to all my ill-conceived notions about so many things. Anthony deMello skillfully walks the reader through what it means to be 'aware' - to truly perceive reality. No book I have previously read has had such a profound influence on the way I view things. This book is a perfect companion to deMello's other powerful book, 'The Way to Love.' No writer, for me, has so astutely captured 'truth' in such an intellectually honest way. Reading this book WILL change one's life, and one's perception of everything.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2000

    Heck of a Great Book!

    In this book Tony DeMello reveals a straight-forward practical explanation of Eastern Philosophy by explaining the inherent paradoxes in clear Western Christian language. This is without doubt the best book I've read in explaining what can often be perplexing and confounding. The Tao Te Ching now makes perfect sense, the Zen Analects clear as glass but more in important this book after the 10th reading makes clear that I'm responsible for the suffering in my life and I need to Awake to that reality and choose to live responsibly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Great book

    Great thoughts ! Good food for the soul!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    A MUST READ

    Awareness is a must read for everybody especially those who are ready to go deeper into their spirituality. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it has helped me in many ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book is life chamging

    This is a must read for everyone, no matter what your religious beliefs, or non beliefs, for or against. It is life changing. Awareness, I prefer to call it spirituality is not only life affirming, but feels good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    Don't read if you don't want to wake up.

    Must read 3 times to really get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A MUST READ

    Everyone should spend the time it takes to read this wonderful book. I think you will be a changed person by the last page

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2001

    Buy this one

    If I could reccomend one book to a person,it would be either Awareness or Jonathan Livingston Seagull (richard Bach);depending on how open their mind was. After reading this book, I've read 4 of his other books,and plan on getting all of them

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2001

    Provocative

    Very insightful reading. I think back and try to use the lessons in this book on a daily basis. It plants seeds for understanding a complex world and achieving personal tranquility in simple and sometimes biting language. It got my attention

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Volt

    Please try to be active if you join. I'm sick in real life so I'll try to be as active as I can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Life altering

    I've been asleep lately. I can't wait to read this again and relive that painful yet beautiful process of waking up. This book made me feel so free. It realigned my reality and taught me joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    helpful and real!

    I am a friend of Bill W. and it was suggested to get this for my spirituality. I haven't read much but really hits home with me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    Awareness by Anthony de Mello

    Written in the 1980's, de Mello's thoughts inspire some of today's best known people inspirers, change facilitators and spiritual guides - including Eckhart Tolle, Byron Katie and others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2