Customer Reviews for

Away

Average Rating 3
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heartbreaking but Uplifting

    Amy Bloom is such a skilled writer, and the story of a female Russian Jew emigre from the early 20th century offers unique perspective of that time. Prostitution, murder, adventure, heartbreak, and love abound in what is a very unique 'road' story. It seems that strong female protagonists are hard to find unless one turns to young adult vampire fiction. This book was very moving, and I look forward to her future novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Away

    This book was a must read. At times, I had trouble following which character she was talking about at what time, and that left little to be desired. However, the story was very enthralling after it picks up the pace, about 1/4 thru the book. Then, you can't put it dowm. You really hope for the best for Lillian in finding her daughter, and in the many places she visits, it's both contemplative yet adventurous.
    Have fun reading this, but please, don't burn out on the writing style. The story is worth it to get thru.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    Good read

    Well written, story flows well. Will make one a fan of Amy Bloom!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    Amazing read. Rich with characters, detail, and landscape.

    Lillian Leyb impressed me with her strength and ability to survive in unusual circumstances. Lillian is a woman who will do 'anything' to be reunited with her daughter, even if her daughter's existance is highly unlikely. Lillian takes readers from devestation in Russia to Ellis Island, to Seattle, and finally on hew way to Siberia in hopes of a reunion with her young daughter. Throughout Lillian's journeys she meets the most unusaul people and endures many hardships but she is strong and always seems to find a way to settle into her surroundings and unite the people around her. <BR/>Amy Bloom leaves nothing to the imagination and is a writter who knows how to end a book. She leaves nothing to the imagination and leaves the reader fully satisfied. This book is an amazing read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    WHAT A BOOK!!

    This book has had some great reviews and it was a refreshing change from the books I usually read. I was not disappointed. Even though the book was set over a short period of time it really told a lot about the characters and past characters before moving on. The writing was so descriptive you felt like you were in these places and you related to what was happening to her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    A Surprisingly Great Read!

    I just picked this book up because it was 20% off, and I thought I was in for another rags to riches immigrant makes it big on Broadway novel. I was so wrong. The premise may have been a little bit of a stretch, but what a great journey Lillian travels-both literally and emotionally. There is a little bit of everything sex (lots), violence, poignancy, and humor. I couldn't put this book down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    Exceptional!

    I couldn't put this book down and after I'd stayed up until after midnight finishing it, I went back the next morning and reread the last two chapters to relish the text which is beautifully written. The story is heart-breaking and will haunt you days after you finish reading it. As for whether the narrative is plausible or not....who cares? It's fiction, remember? And it swept me up into its reality so that I never wanted it to end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Utterly fantastic

    I just finished the book Away, and I am totally smitten with Amy Bloom. She wrote a book so completely engrossing, so funny and suspensful and romantic and utterly heartbreaking that I was literally laughing out loud and crying in public while reading it. In fact, I got to the last three pages on the train last week, and I had to put it in my bag and save it for later in the day, when I could relish it in my office, with the door slid shut, in case I needed to blubber like a fool while finishing it. And I did. I know some other reviewers complained that the premise of the book is implausible, but I disagree. I doubt there is anything that could stand in my way if I thought I could find my child, even in Siberia. And, sure, there are lots of 'hard luck' stories in the novel, but that's part of its charm. There were definitely sad parts to the book, but it was also hopeful, and funny, and even romantic. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it highly!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1