Customer Reviews for

Axis

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Great read

    RCW has made a great sequel to Spin. This is an impressive read and the characters are interesting and developed well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Excellent Contimuation of the Spin Story

    Wish it had been longer. Didn't want to hav to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    another reason i love scifi

    r. wilson is one of the best contemporary scifi writers even if he doesn't have the name recognition of some others. don't let that hold you back. i read all three in this particular series and my only regret was when i finally finished with the last page. if you enjoy good science fiction you will certainly enjoy this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Smooth writing style

    Spin was incredible. This sequel imtroduces new characters into a different time. Concepts started in spin follow somewhat, but overall a little disappointing. I felt liike the book didn't reach any conclusions, and was basically a bridge between Spin and the final book, Vortex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Worthy Sequel

    This book is a worthy sequel to "Spin." At least one major character is carried over in a significant way, but the story is told mostly through new people. The author has created worlds and science fiction speculation that are entertaining and worthy of speculation. I might not have enjoyed this book quite as much as the first in the series, but it is good, and I am eager to read the third. The ideas the author presents are both reasonable, and really fascinating to consider. Anyone with a strong imagination will enjoy this novel.
    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel, "To Be Chosen"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Meh

    Meh, M-E-H, Meh, br br That was my reaction after the conclusion of Axis. It wasn¿t bad, but it wasn¿t all that good either. The story builds along quite nicely with a sense of a very strange building mystery all throughout. The characters are typically well-developed, a Wilson handle. But when I got to the end, to the big reveal, to the conclusion that all the gravitas and consternation has brought us to, my reaction was ¿ Meh. br br And there is no excuse for that. br br After the first novel, Spin 'which won a rightfully deserved Hugo' Axis had to be awesome. The ending had to be awesome. It had to be a game changer, like the huge planet joining, magic wishbones were at the end of the first book. Instead, we got a whole lot of buildup and in the end, what we find is just a new insight in to the life processes of the omnipotent beings known as hypotheticals. It was a reveal about as exciting as the changing of seasons. A natural process they go through every 10,000 years. The molting of synthetic onmi-beings. Meh. br br So in the end ¿ nothing has really changed, sure for the characters, something has changed. I guess having your soul eaten by a giant time-machine is pretty much a big deal on an individual level ¿ but what we needed was to have something analogous to the world-next-door event at the end of Spin. A big change for everybody. We got none of that. br br From what I hear, Axis will tee up a 3rd book, which I will surely read, but I have a funny feeling that the events of this book will have little impact on the whole story. I also found some of the content of this novel derivative. It was sort of like 2001 meets Dune. There was one scene in particular, when Isaac is talking about his ¿double-vision¿ when it seemed like one of the inane inner dialogues ripped from one of the later 'crappier' installments of Dune. I think it was Sand Bores of Dune. br br Anyway, so that¿s the bad, but luckily, Wilson can write really good characters. I enjoyed spending time in his universe until about the last 40 pages. I then sort of got the sinking feeling that I was going to be disappointed but the story arc and that thought came true. But Wilson¿s gift for putting you on a different world is just stunning. He¿s a master at making a place and making people. br br But in the end, I wanted bigger ideas and a better aftertaste. br br This will hopefully be a forgotten middle child. br br

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting scientific fiction thriller

    The Hypotheticals, self-replicating machines and perhaps so much more put Earth in stasis for four billion year and when it emerged, an arch was built that connects Earth to the new world that can only be reached by boat. Humans have colonized the new World many who have prices on their head. Ab who has taking anti-aging medicines created from the parts of mechanicals lives on the New World in comparative freedom compared to the earth where it is outlawed. --- Lisa Adams has come from Earth to the New World to find out what happened to her father after he disappeared. She teams up with Turk Findlay who has connection to the fourths and he takes her to the location where he dropped Sulean moi off. They find a splinter group of fourths who performed ethical surgery ingesting part of the mechanical into the embryo that eventually become insane. They hope to make contact with the mechanical but what happens creates more questions than before. --- If any book deserves a sequel, this one does. It would be great to know what the mechanicals are if they are sentient if they are powerful enough to change the course of a species destiny. This exciting scientific fiction thriller demonstrates just how great a story teller Robert Charles Wilson is. Readers will thoroughly enjoy the entertaining storyline which will be read in one sitting. ---Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2