Customer Reviews for

Aztec

Average Rating 5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    To date, the best book I have ever read in my life. Gary Jennin

    To date, the best book I have ever read in my life. Gary Jennings is the master of historical fiction. This book is a miracle of literature that PUTS YOU THERE to feel the whole gamut of emotions. A character and story that capture your imagination and leave you wanting for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    AP World History Review: I actually enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

    When I first picked up this book for a history review, I wasn't sure what to think, because I had never really been interested in ancient Aztec culture. But as I started reading, I was instantly absorbed by the story and the character. Aztec, by Gary Jennings, is not your typical book about Aztec history. It is full of magnificent and vivid detailings of the main character Mixtil's life as an Aztec during the time period of their powerful empire. Jennings writes not only about the amazing Aztec culture, but also touches on personal subjects to draw the reader in on a personal level.

    Reading this book enabled me to learn about the culture of one of the most powerful ancient empires once in existence, and experiencing it through this character's eyes. I chose this because I have heard good things about Jennings' other novels, and this one definitely didn't disappoint. I would reccommend this to students looking for a historical novel with an interesting plot, and also to anyone looking for something good to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    I read this book for the first time in 1982. I have read many ti

    I read this book for the first time in 1982. I have read many times over and have had to replace the first book
    I bought as it was falling apart. I wish they would make it available for the Nook! My copy is in need of replacing,
    once again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Great account of the triple alliance and the invasion of the Spa

    Great account of the triple alliance and the invasion of the Spanish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    This book was well thought out and written. Hollywood should mak

    This book was well thought out and written. Hollywood should make this book into a movie instead of remaking old movies from the early and late 90's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    An excellent read and incredible story telling which brought a l

    An excellent read and incredible story telling which brought a long lost civilation to life for me. MESMERIZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    A Wonderful Historic Novel!

    This is one of the best historic novels I have ever read. Jennings takes one of the greatest and most powerful cultures of all time and turns its demise into a heart-wrenching story. With a main character who has deeply personal experiences that allow you to connect on a personal level with him, Jennings weaves a masterpiece that is a fantastic read. Once started, you won't want to put it down. Once finished, you'll be craving more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    I LUV THIS BOOK!!!

    I absolutley love this book,I am still not done reading it, but i do luv it. I feel in love with this book since i first picked it up, and there have been many days when I'd rather saty home from work or school and read it from cover to cover. I highly recomend this book to anywone who wants to read a turly good, exciting, intriguing book, the love stories, sex, and growth the main character goes through throughout his life is magnificent, an i have to say i fell in luv with Mixtil...His character was so strong and loving, he was what I hope more men were like. Nonetheless, this boook is one of my favorites I have ever read, i plan on purchasing more of Mr. Gary Jennings books. I hope everyone has a chance to read this and when they do they too will fall in love with it. Every night i read more and more of this book I have visions and dreams of how beautiful and wonderful, strong and magnificent the AZTEC culture was, and being a Mexican woman, I have much pride in my ancestors for who they were and their stregnth is surely following through my veins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    WOW

    I just finished this gripping book today. It's a tad slow to start, but it's SO worth the read. I live in Mexico and have always been intriuged with the culture - this book gives the more true version, I believe. It's SO well researched and thought out...I will read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Best book ever

    I'm not much of a reader. I normally have trouble getting into a book, but not with Aztec. I was hooked from the begining and I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A 15 yr old girl.

    I loved this book. I found it at a thrift store after I heard about it so I picked it up and bought it for 2 bucks. I would read in school all the time. Walking through the halls waiting till i can sit down in class and start back up reading. I couldn't put it down, granted there are parts that I could have not imagined, but overall its a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    Absolutely loved it! Amazing description of details helped visualize the story. Enjoyed all of Mixtli's journeys! I learned some geography lessons and other substantial information. Would love to see the story develop in theaters! Mel- where are you???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Aztec Holds Attention, But Content Questionable

    Aztec, by Gary Jennings, was an extremely profitatable read due to the immense historical and social information it provided of the Aztec empire. I would reccomend this book for anyone who is looking for a well researched novel on the Aztec society due to its excellent historical content. Gary Jennings provides the reader with insight beyond the well known human sacrifices and other religious rights of the Aztecs into a world that is unique both socially and culturally. Throughout the book, one sees the distinctive social class system on all its many levels, travels through the many districts under Aztec dominion, and experiences with the charecters the cultural shock of the Spanish invasion. Gary Jenning's charecters bring the Aztec world to life in a way that has not previously been accmplished, and leave the reader with a new found knowledge as to the depth of the Aztec empire. Throughout the book, Gary Jennings also manages to entertain the reader with a continuing cycle of events that happen to the main charecter, none of which are boring, yet all have a sense of realism beyond the action. This sense of realism grabs the reader from the first page, and continues to hold the reader captive untill he or she finishes the book. However, I would reccomend this book only if you are willing to overlook some key moral issues. Throughout the book, Gary Jennings emphasizes the many immoral relationships the Aztec men willingly undertake with the encouragement from everyone else in society. While this is obvioulsy a key factor in Aztec society, I think that Gary Jennings over emphasizes it in his novel. It would be possible to write an equally good novel as far as historical content and action goes and ommitt several of the overly detailed scenes. The questionable moral content made this book less of an enjoyable read for me than it otherwise would have been, and impeded on the absorption of the important historical content. For this reason, I would rate this book as only okay, not great, and would reccomend it to readers only if they are willing to look past the distracting content to find the historical knowledge hidden beneath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    Mesmerizing, Informative and Captivating

    I was at the library with my daughter looking for books to read. I came across this book and picked it up. However, other titles got my eye and I put it down. Yet before I left the library I picked it up again, I am glad that I did. I enjoyed learning about my ancestors and Mixtli¿s adventures. Although it was graphic and I flinched at times, I kept telling myself that I had to remember that it occurred long ago when beliefs were different. By the end of the book I was saddened by all of the destruction of temples, pyramids and artifacts of CEM-ANAHUAC. I am going to buy this book and read it again. While reading the book I started to write down words in Nahautl and their translation. I was amazed to see how the Spaniards had bastardized the names of warriors and places and how those versions exist today. Maybe one day I will travel the roads that Mixtli traveled throughout CEM-ANAHUAC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2007

    Aztec presents a new perspective of a people most know little about.

    I may have been a little predisposed to think well of Aztec, because I have long been fascinated by the mexican empire that is said to have had standards in astronomy, architecture, and hygenics that rivaled or surpassed its European counterparts. But I truly feel that Aztec is worth reading to any history lover or anyone interested in learning about a culture that is unfamiliar to them. Aztec shows the civilization complete with its achievements as well as its gory rituals of sacrifice. Some of the Aztec principles we are repulsed by are explained in a way where we can understand their way of thinking, opening up a whole new perspective on the Aztec people. Overall Aztec's been a great summer read for me, and i'd reccomend it to anyone interested in the subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Interesting but grusome

    Aztec was the only book I could find about the Aztec people but it wasn¿t available in my local library and I soon discovered why. This was the most disturbing book I¿ve ever read. Not only in its vivid description of sacrifices but also in some pretty messed up sex scenes. The book was very interesting but the author could have made it more realistic. I think he tried to hard to make it exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    CLASSIC!

    This book must be considered a classic of contemporary litterature. Gripping and moving untill the end, leaves you dizzy in a whirlpool of reflections that will hunt you years to come. It's been 10 years and Mixtli is still my silent friend and guide. Unforgettable masterpiece

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Outstanding

    This is perhaps the greatest novel I have ever read, a true work of literary art. Never before have I been so willing and anxious to turn page after page of such a large book. What starts out deliberately slow sets the pace and atmosphere for a dramatic story filled with every human emotion there is. It is a truly captivating history told from the eyes of a character I can never forget, one that I will be visiting again and again as the years go by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    I grabbed this book in frustration.

    When I saw Aztec. I was bookless and the massive book just 'stood out'. It looked well read with many repairs. I had never heard of the title or author before, but I grabbed it. Not since 'Dune' Have I read a novel that has started so slow to finish so powerfully. This book was published in 1980. I cannot believe I found it by mistake. Great job Mr. Jennings. I can beleve it took twelve years to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    A Fantastic Tale of Sex, Discovery, and War

    This masterfully written book will keep you spellbound and turning the pages and leave you begging for more. I really enjoyed the way that Jennings describes every little thing. It reallt brings the book to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3