Customer Reviews for

B Is for Beer

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tom Robbins Strikes Again!

    This book is a wonderful little bit of Tom Robbins. It is exactly as the cover implies - A Children's Book for Grownups/ A Grownup's Book for Children. It is a comical tale of a little girl, who wonders why adults like beer so much. She embarks upon a journey with the Beer Fairy to learn all about it - including why too much is a bad thing. In the tradition of a good fairy tale - it has a happy ending! As usual, Mr. Robbins has a way of being profound in a humorous manner. This is a child's length book, and can easily be enjoyed, start to finish, in a day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Chrystal clan?

    Are u home?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    A work of unadulterated whimsy

    Only the mind if Tom Robbins could make this work. A must read for fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Tom Robbins Humor Strikes Again

    A quick and fun read for anyone who enjoys precocious children or beer. Filled with fun "facts" that will send you scurrying to Wikipedia to see if by chance they are true, Tom Robbins' descriptions are always unique. "Do you know about drizzle, that thin, soft rain that could be mistaken for a mean case of witch measles? Seattle is the world headquarters of drizzle, and in autumn it leaves a damp gray rash on everything, as though the city were a baby that had been left too long in a wet diaper and then rolled in newspaper." How does he think of this stuff? Robbins' books always have passages that make me laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Nursery

    Twilightstar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Bererrdgcjffyftc

    .....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    WOW

    11th commeent!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gather 'round and you shall hear a quirky tale of a girl and beer.

    This was a fun, quick read that was better than I had expected having not been familiar with the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    it is a great book

    i love how it is funny and it taught me many things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Worth It

    If there was ever a Tom Robbins book to skip - this is the one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well worth the price of a six-pack of micro-brew

    Educational, fun, inspirational, and a great way to bond with children over what used to be a white or pink elephant nightmare of a subject. Hooray for Tom Robbins and THANK YOU for writing this book. Bottoms up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    Easy reading and fun for all who want a quick book to read.

    The cover states it is a children's book for grown ups and a grown up book for children. That sums it up entirely. Simple enough for anyone to read, this book had me interested from cover to cover. As a beer lover, this was a fun story to read based around beer. The main character, 6 year old Gracie, was fun to follow in her "Christmas Carol" like journey through the times and around the world discovering the mystery of beer. Although I would not recommend this book to small children in general, I would encourage it for those that are questioning their parents' love for beer. All in all it was a good book. Tom Robbins is my favorite author and although this book was more censored than his normal writing style, it was still entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    For kids at heart!

    I loved this book! As a kid at heart, I loved the storytelling, as an adult I loved the story. Fun, funny and even a little poignant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Another Tom robbins original

    This is a fun and insightful message about not just beer and drinking, but about society and the choices we make. Maybe intended for kids but great for adults. I think that preteens and teenagers should read this book. Quirky and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    You don't have to be a fan

    If you either love Tom Robbins, have a sense of humor or are just not politically correct, you should like this book. If you have never read anything by the author, this short book is a great introduction to his style. It is a blend of story lines similiar to some of his other books with a simple fairy tale theme. You can also see that he is in touch with a small child's pysche and concerns. Some of his paragraphs will have you laughing till tears are running down your face. I recently became a grandfather for the first time and bought this for my Granddaughter. It was very appropriate as my daughter loves Tom Robbins, my son-in-law likes beer, and they both have a sense of humor. Not sure if I would actually read it to a small child but then, it would depend on the child I suppose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is for you readers, who enjoy an ultra lighthearted fantasy filled with amusing factoids

    Six years old Gracie Perkel looks forward to spending time with her Uncle Moe as her parents are never there for her while he tries to give her time; especially after he has had a six pack. Moe is the king of beer drinkers. However, this time Moe fails Gracie, leaving her depressed with a need to drink away her loneliness just like adults do. --------------------

    When she goes for a drink, the Beer Fairy visits her and offers to teach about life especially the importance of beer. So begins Gracie swim in the suds realm.------------

    Written like a children's fairy tale, B IS FOR BEER is an odd, often humorous look at beer through the eyes of an elementary school kid. The irreverent story is set from the beginning when Gracie asks her mom what is that stuff that looks like pee-pee that her dad drinks especially while watching sports. This book is for you readers, who enjoy an ultra lighthearted fantasy filled with amusing factoids, will toast Tom Robbins with a six pack.----------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2