Customer Reviews for

The BAP Handbook: The Official Guide to the Black American Princess

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    Uplifting

    I'm a 15 year old girl,and my mother brought me this book as a joke when I was 12. At first it just made me laugh. But as I kept reading the book more and more, it gave me a feeling that as a BAP I had to strive for my best. So Right now I hold a 4.0 GPA and I'm #1 in my age group for summer swimming and my winter swimming times have gotten faster. I want to say that this book my appear shallow, but to me it meant something more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Will The Real BAP's Please Stand UP!

    When I first read this book, I was amused, I thought how great it is that there is a book written that I can identify with. However are any of the authors really BAP's. A true BAP does not have to prove herself,she already knows who she is. She is smart,confident, and successfull. We have learned from our mother, and grandmother, great grandmother what it means to be a Black American Princess. As a BAP we also understand you can not buy your way into the club, nor can you marry your way into the club you are a BAP by birth. True BAP's are the back bone of the family and pillars in our community. Our families have houses on Martha's Vineyard and SagHarbor we grew up in Jack & Jill our mothers are Linx's members. Frankly, are the authors of this book really Black American Princess or are they like the author who wrote' Our Kind Of People' on the outside looking in. I don't recogonise any of their surnames. It seems as though they are BAP wanna bee's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    From A BAP To A DIVA

    What a fun and light read. A must for any woman is a true BAP or thinks she's a BAP. This book is for women of all ages and for men that are trying to understand the Black American Princesses in their lives. Glad to know that it isn't just us southern girls who still have debutante balls. (Which by the way is a must for any coming of age female to be trained properly in charm, etiquette, appearance, manners and such.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    BAP Handbook: The Official Guide to the Black American Princess

    This book was great! I'm a Butterfly and proud of it. I'm going to make my husband read this book, so he can further understand why I am who I am. This is a book that explains me! Bravo to the Authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    BAP Handbook: The Official Guide to the Black American Princess

    I thought this was a good guide to fine tune the skills of a 'Butterfly'. The book was funny and on point. Bravo Ladies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    My Favorite!!!

    I love this book. I bought it during my second year in college. It perfectly described my roommate and I. Now that we've graduated, we still reach for the BAP handbook for a fun and relaxing read. Read this book and understand the life a Black American Princess!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Cute so cute!

    I read this book and was like oh so there are people who get me? I loved it. I have even gotten it for others. It is a great 13th birthday present for a young woman of color. It even helped me a grown up understand some 'rules' that my mom had for me when I was younger. Of course now a mommy of 3 one of which is a girl I know that I will let her read it to. But that won't be for another 7 years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    No Longer Ashamed

    I am so fortunate to have read this book. It has taught me so much about my mom, her six sisters, and myself. I now understand why my mother brought us up the way that she did. She is a bonifide BAP who grew up in an upper-middle class household. It made me open my mind up to why people would always talk about my grandfather and his cousins attending private schools and attending, what I called 'prep' functions. I used to think that was odd for black people in those days. But, I grew up with the best of things but never wanted to be honest about it until now. People have always made me feel as if I thought I was better than others. I now understand why I am so annoyed by my former best friend, who according to the book is a 'Bogus'. Thank you so much for this book. Excellent read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    I'm a B.A.P.

    I loved this book because it tought me not to be ashamed that i'm not a 'ghetto' black girl like my friends and cousins abd it's ok to not be ghetto and that you are still black and not trying to be white.i love this book and read it form cover to cover like 10 times.Thanks for making this book for black girls.It teaches us that not only little white girls can live the high live and deserve the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    my life

    my mom gave this book to me when i was 12 and i love it i am now 15 and as i grow older i find myself in this book its so weird how i read a sentance and i'm like 'Yep thats me' or 'That reminds me of.....' Its a GREAT book for black girls who arent 'Gangsta'. Its also great for black girls who people see as 'sell outs' just because they don't wear their hair plastered to their face and wear 'sex on the beach' scented perfume from a beauty supply store. All in All one of my favorite books!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    A Real MAC BAP!

    Over my Christmas break, my aunt told me she had me down in writing! This book was me inside and out. After reading it I didn't know wheter to proud or ashamed!!My grandmother read it, oops! a BAP. It's very true of the average Black American woman with class!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    An interesting read

    The book was entertaining but some of it I could not get into like a typical day and the rhymes. I always thought I was a BAP and I still think I am. But the book was really extreme, no one person can fit everything in the book but it is important to look at it as entertainment, nothing more and nothing less, nothing to guide your life on. The resources in it are great if nothing else buy it for that, African American organizations and events. I found about some org's I never even knew existed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    Shallow, snobby, and a little stuck up

    Yes, that's me to some degree and I'm not upset at that fact. This book helped me see that. I never fit in with my hip-hop culture aquaintences, I can't identify witht he black struggle, and I certainly am not ashamed to have been exposed to a life of high culture. This book gave me something to look forward to, aspire to, and I'm glad that I don't have to read the Official Preppy Handbook to see where I fit in. This is my own handbook for my kind of people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2003

    Wonderful

    I read this book in 3 days. Once I started reading I just couldn't put it down! This described my friends and I to the T. My best friend, my sister and I sat and compared the girls in this book and laughed over the realization that we were each just like these girls. It was as if the women who wrote this were in our households as we were growing up. I adored this book and recommended it to all of my fellow BAPs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    It's like reading a hilarious autobiography

    This book describes me and several of my close friends to a tee. It's absoulutely hilarious to continously read about oneself. I called my mother every thirty minutes to tell her how the book had hit my sister and I on the head again. I love the light hearted nature of the book and enjoyed reading it. I highly recommend to anyone who thinks there are or wants to be a Bap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    The truth will set you free!

    Though it has taken me some time to admit it, I am now proud to admit that I am a BAP! I used to deny it--even be ashamed of it--but after reading the book I no longer am. I am a product of loving, supportive and caring Black parents who gave me anything and everything I ever needed--and continue to do so. I think it is a shame that Black people so readily accept white parents giving their children every advantage they can, but when a Black parent does it there is hell to pay. This book is funny, provacative and--most significantly--truthful. Most people would kill to live the lifestyle of a BAP and I for one will never apologize for being one again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Funny

    This book was truly a wonderful read. It provided some insight into the life of real Black American Princess's, and added a bit of comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    The Black Thang

    This is one of the best books I every read. It gave alot of insight on how black people are supposed to live! I recommend it to all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Disappointing

    This book was full of shockingly adolescent views. The content indicated an unimaginable lack of maturity on the part of the authors. Clearly written for those who lack any real substance, this book relates numerous superficial ideas and fills page after page with useless data like hypothetical calendars for 'child BAPs', hypothetical to-do lists, imaginary diary entries, the names of famous black women, etc. The authors even go so far as to recommend African American women change their 'inappropriate' names (LaShanda, Letrice, Tawana, Shameka, and many, many more) to 'acceptable' names (Blythe, Chelsea, Elizabeth, Martha, Wendy, etc.). This book is lacking in reality and facts, is unreasonably idealistic and sends negative messages to it's readers. Simply stated, it lacks positive, constructive, affirmative, and encouraging features. Though the subject matter of this work (or lack of work) is clearly written for the impressionable, I would object to the exposure of such minds to this type of worthless, undeserving subject matter. It's hard to believe that women with such credentials as the authors have done us African American women such a great injustice. Although described as humorous, I didn't laugh once. It wasn't funny; it was disheartening that in this day and age we would send such shallow, unfavorable and ridiculous messages to ourselves and our children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    Butterfly & proud of it!

    This book is great! It's funny and insightful, giving outsiders a glimpse into the world of the Black American Princess. While some might find this book filled with stereotypes and such, I found it refreshing and fun. Most things in it are true and I think that those people who find the book disturbing, are those that realize the book is speaking directly to them and is calling them on it! Read it it's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2