Customer Reviews for

B'Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    B'Day

    I love beyonce so much i just this cd of hers for christmas today & it's the best cd ever.I love every song on her cd beyonce is my favorite & i love her music

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beyonce is now in a league of her own

    I must say that this album is truly an achievement. I have no complaints about the length of the CD. This album is tight from start to finish. Each song is worth radio play and what I'm most proud of is that I'm able to hear Beyonce's growth. This is just not another RnB album. In my opinion, this album deserves a nomination for album of the year. I mean there is some serious vocal strength/power in these songs. I hear more confidence. It sounds like Beyonce is coming into her own and I'm enjoying it. This is a must add for your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What More Can I Say?

    Beyonce has done HER thing with B-Day. I have to admit, I wasn't sure what to expect on the album after hearing Deja Vu, but I did know that whatever the album had to offer, I had to have it! I heard the single for the 1st time when she performed it at the BET '06 Awards. She looked beautiful, (as usual) and she rocked it. With her man Jay-Z at her side, Beyonce showed the world that she wasn't done yet. The album is ingenius. This girl has taken talent to a whole new level. Open your minds people, R&B is a broad range of music from a broad range of artists and Beyonce has shown me and the world that she is serious about her's and she's here to stay for a long while. I can definitely vibe with her whole woman empowerment movement. This CD makes me want to scream, I AM A WOMAN AND I LOVE BEING ME!!!!!! I feel her on every song. It's different, it's funky, it's inspiring. I feel like with this album she is more comfortable with herself and wants her listeners to feel more comfortable with themselves. "Get Me Bodied" is one of my favorites, of course it's so hard for me to single them out because I love the whole CD, but "Irreplaceble" is a song that everyone should hear, men and women alike. I'm sure that most people can relate to the words of this song or at least know someone who can. What I really love most is that she is coming into her own as a woman on this album, yet she keeps it very classy, not too over the top. I can't wait for the next entry in my Beyonce journal, whether it be with Destiny's Child or just her as a solo artist. She personifies class, beauty and control. Keep doin it B!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Go Beyonce'!!

    beyonce has done it again with her sophmore album. im a fan for life and the album is tight. so get a copy of your own and make sure ya'll go promote her new movie "dream girls" in theatres December 25, 2006. now thats a good christmas present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fresh, Raw, and Funky!

    When I heard B had a new album dropping I wasn't too excited. I never heard Deja Vu on the radio, but caught a slice of it while shopping in Express. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't impressive either. But when I heard Ring the Alarm I had decided to check it out. B'Day is one of those rare albums that popular artists realese that completely throw away all previous conceptions. Shedding her good girl image and revelling in angst and sexual provoacteur, B proves that she's more relevant than ever. The Neptunes produced song Kitty Kat features Beyonce crying out for some lovin'. It has elements of Kelis, Marvin, and all the soul-singers, yet it's still fresh and original. On the slow jam Irreplacable, B sounds out on love lost and mistakes you shouldn'ta made. It's beautiful but still very funky. Another highlight includes the bizarre Freakum Dress, where Beyonce sings about enticing a stranger 'cos she ain't getting any from her man. All of this is done over the clammering Rich Harrison production. This album is a gem. Definetely a Grammy contender. *Although the songs mentioned are stellar, the entire album is spectacular. And I'm not a Beyonce fan, so that's saying quite a bit. (I may become a Beyonce fan if she continues in this brash, raw style.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful!

    This ambum is like no other. The music is great! I love "ring the alarm"!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    dont believe the hype

    the bad press had me goin, but when i heard it, i cant take it out my car. i believe it has strong female written all over it. some cant handle that. all the songs are catchy and i love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She did it again! Despite the rumors the album is Hot!

    This album is Great I loved all of it although I had to listen to it like twice before I could actually give it a fair review. Its totally different for her but its a great album. The beats are hot and so are the lyrics. She took a totally different direction from Dangerously in Love but she still did her thing. Why cant she make creatively different album without everyone hating on her?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Different Beyonce, Great CD!

    Beyonce's 2nd CD is so different, it's not her style of lyrics and music, yet she does it so well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Off the Hook!

    This album is excellent. I love the fact that B'day has moved away from the 'people pleasing', this is a harder, edgier even darker Beyonce and I love it. My favourite track is 'Suga Mama' a 60's inspired piece of soul that is infectious, Get me bodied, Freekum dress, Check on it, and Green Light are all extremely great anthems for the club, Ring the alarm fires out a stark warning: 'You think you just gonna walk in and take my man? You better think again, Missy!' Go Bee! Irreplaceable is very clever song about a man who thinks you should be grateful to have him and Bee gently tells him that she isn't, then we have Resentment with just rings with pain at the moment that you discover your man is cheating on you. I also love Kitty Kat a sexy piece of something that will have your man purring into your arms also I was surprised and delighted by Upgrade you, Beyonce gives this song a smooth sexy feel that is irrisistable. I tell you, with all the rumours surrounding this album, I was scared. I really thought she made a bad album, I still would have bought it but I would have been disappointed in her. I am here to tell you I am not disappointed. I am speaking as a woman who is extremely fussy about what I listen to in terms of music. Beyonce surprises you, on this album she proves that the days of polite Beyonce have gone, she is moving on both lyrically and musically. She could have stayed 'safe' more ballards like she did on Dangerously in Love, but she shows bravery takes the music forward. Boy! The girl delivers. Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bee still on TOP

    This CD is mad HOT. I love the track Upgrade U because behind every good man is a good woman. I can't wait for her tour in 2007.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!!!

    I copped the CD yesterday and played it non-stop! I love her sense of creativity & ability to transform her music into her own! I love it, especially UPGRADE U, but every song is great to me!!! Thank you, BB!! From a Fan in Southern Cali

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beyonce is Da Bomb!

    I think Beyonce is da bomb, and anyone who doesn't give Beyonce her props is a hater! Keep on doing your thang B! Shake dem haters off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb Album

    Irreplaceable,Get me bodied,and upgrade you are great songs.All could be singles by them selves.Good Job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1