Customer Reviews for

The BFG

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    BFG Review

    There are many things I liked about this book. For example, in the beginning I liked how the author made you feel as if the BFG was bad but in the end he turns out to be really nice. I also enjoyed how the BFG collected dreams and gave them to children because it is hard to believe that this could be possible. This story really makes you use your imagination. The illustrations by Quentin Blake helped you visualize the setting and characters in the story. There was also thing about the story that did not appeal to me. For instance, I did not like the Queen's maid Mary. Her way of speech was very annoying to the reader. I also did not like how the author made such a long chapter about the breakfast at the Queen's palace. It dragged on forever. Finally, it was hard for me to imagine kids actually being eaten by giants. But besides these few negatives I enjoyed the book so much I wish it had a sequel and the story could continue.
    Roald Dahl's writing is very unique in many ways. He makes it very easy to understand the point of the book by the way he uses words and descriptions. The author's way of writing, throughout the book, is always straightforward. This book is written in the third person writing style. This is when a narrator is telling the story. This helps to make the book very interesting because it is not told from one character's point of view.
    I highly recommend this novel to all readers. It was very entertaining and humorous. It always kept you laughing and wanting to know what would happen next. Also the author takes you into a different world that is both scary and funny. Finally, Roald Dahl's vocabulary stretches your imagination, which makes the story even better and interesting. Similar novels to The BFG that I would recommend are Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, which are also by Roald Dahl so they have similar writing styles and make a fantasy world come to life. Another similar novel I would recommend is Mr. Poppers Penguins because it is humorous like The BFG. Other novels that I have read previously and enjoyed would include Lily's Crossing, Pictures of Hollis Woods and Because of Winn-Dixie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    I'm hooked on The BFG!

    The book The BFG is written by Roald Dahl. The main character is Sophie. She is an orphan that is kidnapped in the middle of the night by the BFG. The Big Friendly Giant carries Sophie to a cave. Sophie is then introduced to the wonderfully imaginative world that Roald Dahl has made with just a few words. The main problem is that there are other giants beside the BFG and they are not as nice, such as the Fleshlumpeater or the Maidmasher. They are eating kids everywhere and they must be stopped. Sophie and the BFG must come up with a plan as soon as possible, so less innocent kids die! Most events in this book take place in London and Giant Country. From rotsome snozzcumbers to winksquiffling golden phizzwizards, this world is as good as any Narnia or Terabithia. I think The BFG is a very good book. It was interesting to learn about everything. I think this is one of the books that's hard to put down once you start reading. The book is quite short and old. I would rate this book and 8, because it¿s a creative store, but the main storyline is too simple and short. I think the best part is learning about dreams, frobscottle, and reading the labels on the dreams. This is a very good book and I recommend it to anyone of all ages to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    check out the BFG

    I read the book The BFG by Roald Dahl. I think the BFG was a good book. I would rate this book a 4 out of 5. If you like fantasy the BFG is a good book for you. In the story there is a girl named Sophie. She is in her bed lying there awake during Witching Hour and a giant hand comes and takes her from her bed. Then the giant takes her to giant land. And then Sophie sees that there are a lot more giants and they are all at least 50 feet tall. The giant that took Sophie was only about 24 feet tall so now he didn¿t look like much of a giant compared to the others. All of the other giants eat kids during Witching hour when everyone is supposed to be asleep but the BFG eats a vegetable called the Snozzcumber. The BFG thinks it tastes horrible but he would rather eat them then kids, The BFG drinks something called frobscottle and the BFG actually likes the Frobscottle. During Witching Hour The BFG runs all the way to the human world and blows all kinds of dreams in to the kids rooms instead of eating them like all the other giants. There is a little summary of the BFG but I¿m not going to give away the ending. Read it yourself to see what happens to Sophie and the BFG And all the other giants of Giant Land.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    SO COOL

    Such an awesome book if you bye it you willnot be disapounted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    Dahl is a good author to introduce children into reading. He has

    Dahl is a good author to introduce children into reading. He has a fun way of creating a magical world that is exciting and full of laughs and weird, but lovable characters. You can tell he's an Englishman because they end up meeting the queen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Roald Dahl, The BFG

    Drawn by the perfect stillness of the dead of night, little Sophie breaks the rules of the miserable orphanage where she resides, rises from her bed, and peers out the window. What she sees will change her life forever, a hulking shadow drawing nearer and nearer until she can clearly see a giant in a cape with tremendous ears. And he sees her!

    Once again Dahl has brought a terrifying world to life, the most vicious danger imaginable to a tiny child - a land of man-eating giants, each more ferocious than the last, mercilously gobbling up humans left and right. And somehow little Sophie, with the help of the one-and-only Big Friendly Giant, must stop them all before they can attack again. Beautifully done, this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The BFG

    Drawn by the perfect stillness of the dead of night, little Sophie breaks the rules of the miserable orphanage where she resides, rises from her bed, and peers out the window. What she sees will change her life forever, a hulking shadow drawing nearer and nearer until she can clearly see a giant in a cape with tremendous ears. And he sees her!

    Once again Dahl has brought a terrifying world to life, the most vicious danger imaginable to a tiny child - a land of man-eating giants, each more ferocious than the last, mercilously gobbling up humans left and right. And somehow little Sophie, with the help of the one-and-only Big Friendly Giant, must stop them all before they can attack again. Beautifully done, this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    My son loves it

    This book was recommended through my son's school as the Read Aloud book for March. Since my son is in Kindergarten my husband and I get to enjoy the BFG as well. The story is very well written. The BFG definitley speaks in tongue twisters, but we have enjoyed it! It is a very exciting story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Smell like a winner

    This book smells like a winner. What I like in a book is a happy ending, I also like them to be short and easy. I can't stand reading a whole bunch of stuff that just carries the book on. Pictures are always a plus too. Without visulization I lose intrest in the book real fast. This book has most of the things I like in a book except for the length, but the length of the book doesn't bother me because it's good. Its also considered a novel, I'm not much of a novel fan. It has mythological creatures which is a plus. This book has pictures in it but not an overload, just enough to give u a visulization. the mythological creatures it has in it are giants. I've always been a fan of giants because they are so huge. I also like how the BFG ends up being a really nice giant because people think that all giants are mean.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Interesting book

    I think that you should read this book because the book has vocabulary words that you may not know.I think it will teach kids how to learn vocabulary better.The book is funny and creative.So that's why this book is interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Great

    the first time I read it I liked it very much. It's about this girl who was kidnapped by a giant named the BFG. And they try to stop the other giants from eating human beings, with a help of The Queen. In the end they suceed. It's a good book to read for fun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Fantastic adventure story

    A big man called the bfg steals a girl and takes her to his cave.In the end she becomes friends with him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    This story is adventurous and exciting story

    Its about a girl who sees a giant and the giant takes here away and then they become friends. I really enjoyed this book and its really good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    9 Monstrous Giants... What's a Girl to do?!

    Once orphan Sophie is carried away by the Big Friendly Giant, she learns of the existance of 9 horrible monsters and knows she must do something. I enjoyed this book as I usually do with Roald Dahl's. However it was rather short and not one of my absolute favorites. I'm a fan of fantasy so I enjoyed the dream parts. However, there was never a dull moment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    9 year old likes it

    I can tell by how long it takes my 9 year old daughter to read a book whether or not she's enjoying it. She breezed through this one and often refers to something that was in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    BFG

    I think this book was really good for all ages to read because its a easy book to read that really makes your mind travel. Also a very fun plot to follow. This book is about some huge Giants that ate children for meals but, not one a very tall skinny giant wiht huge ears only ate Zuchinis for breakfast lunch and dinner. He never liked the taste of children much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    FUNNY BOOK FOR KIDS LIKE ME!!!! (:

    This is a great book that is very funny!!! Find out what a whizzpop is. (It's very funny!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    A wonderful children's book

    This book is a wonderful way to show the way of two people coming together to slove a problem. I enjoyed the gint's character, his gentle, child, view of the world. Sophie's abilty to slove any problem that comes her way, and that she was friendly to the giant,and that she has a tolarence for the giant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    Very Good Book

    I love this book. It was a real action sequence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    A good read for the average reader

    This book is about a young girl that lives in an orphanage. One foggy night she woke up and saw giants playing football. Then a giant came too her window and kidnaped her. At first she thought that she was going to be torched by the giant, but she soon realized that she was completly wrong. The only question is will she stay giant forever? I thought the BFG was very good! I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes Adventure or any average reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2