Customer Reviews for

Bliss

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

WAITING FOR THE SEQUEL!!!

I will be brief, this was a fascinating book, there was definitely a lot of suspense as well as a few plot twists I wasn't expecting. I was a great read, except for its conclusion. The way the book ends make me feel as if there must be a sequel in the works, either that...
I will be brief, this was a fascinating book, there was definitely a lot of suspense as well as a few plot twists I wasn't expecting. I was a great read, except for its conclusion. The way the book ends make me feel as if there must be a sequel in the works, either that or there has got to be a chapter missing. It ended very strangely, cruelly, abruptly, and without resolving any conflicts or giving anything positive to `the good guys', leaving me confused and wondering if there was something big I had missed. Maybe there's some deep philosophical theme I was too obtuse to notice. Long story short, this is a wonderful novel dampened by a frayed, painful, barely-there ending that left me wishing Bliss had never come to town in the first place. If there is indeed a sequel, I'll be the first to edit my review. Overall, good writing, interesting read.

posted by 148253 on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Different

I found myself interested in this book when I saw how the author incorporated quotes from the time period. The style is interesting, and the story is indeed thrilling. I simply adored how she used the Charles Manson murder trials in the novel. I had trouble putting it d...
I found myself interested in this book when I saw how the author incorporated quotes from the time period. The style is interesting, and the story is indeed thrilling. I simply adored how she used the Charles Manson murder trials in the novel. I had trouble putting it down, even when I really wanted to. While it was a good book with a different story, I found the ending somewhat dissapointing. Still, if you enjoy highly strange and beyond creepy stories, this book is definitly worth the read.

posted by SophieRichardson on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WAITING FOR THE SEQUEL!!!

    I will be brief, this was a fascinating book, there was definitely a lot of suspense as well as a few plot twists I wasn't expecting. I was a great read, except for its conclusion. The way the book ends make me feel as if there must be a sequel in the works, either that or there has got to be a chapter missing. It ended very strangely, cruelly, abruptly, and without resolving any conflicts or giving anything positive to `the good guys', leaving me confused and wondering if there was something big I had missed. Maybe there's some deep philosophical theme I was too obtuse to notice. Long story short, this is a wonderful novel dampened by a frayed, painful, barely-there ending that left me wishing Bliss had never come to town in the first place. If there is indeed a sequel, I'll be the first to edit my review. Overall, good writing, interesting read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    Out of this world!

    This is the book I am currently reading and so far.... its awesome! It really makes you think about how hard life can be for shy teenagers. Bliss is an eye opening novel that leaves you hanging by your feet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Steph for TeensReadToo.com

    Bliss is different from the rest of the students at her new school. For one, they didn't grow up on a commune with hippie parents. They didn't have a last name of 'in the Morning Dew'. They didn't hear the voice of a girl who killed herself years ago in one of the old halls on the school grounds. <BR/><BR/>While Bliss may be different, she quickly learns that she likes the kind of life her fellow students lead, the kind of life she never had the opportunity to have. She wears make-up for the first time. She attends classes with other kids her age. She makes friends. She gets a boyfriend. She attends a school dance. <BR/><BR/>Everything would be perfect if it weren't for Sandy, the misfit of the school who Bliss befriends because she knows what it's like to not fit in. Unfortunately, Bliss quickly finds out that Sandy isn't completely sane. Sandy wants people to worship her, to understand her. She'd go all the way to the point of bringing alive someone from the past -- Lillian, the girl who jumped out of a third-story window all those years ago -- to achieve her goal. <BR/><BR/>And Bliss finds herself in the middle of this bloodlust. <BR/><BR/>Myracle writes an interesting story that links to the American events of 1969-70. Her writing is amazing; the reader feels happy and terrified right along with the protagonist. This story is sure to capture readers, although the ending does not have quite the touch of finality that most stories do.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    A Good Book, but. . .

    This was a very interesting book. It took me only 3 days to finish. This probably tells you it must have been so good, I couldn't stop reading it. Most of the action didn't happen till the end of the book. Other costumers would say it was scary and that they threw it away after they read it. The book is not that scary! The only thing wrong about it is the ending. It happens to have the worst ending ever. Other than that, a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    LOVE this book!

    This is one of my favorite books of all time.This book is very long but is a fast read.Definetly a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!!!

    Talk about unforgettable! this book is freaky in a never want to read this book again! this is normal what kinda person would write this?? im into the whole super natural thriller scary stuff but this isnt even close to sane. was she insane at one point? im throwing this book away right after i rip each page. its creepy and gross. im done with this book and never getting near it again. people shouldnt read it. Throw it on the ground and stomp on it! BURN BURN BURN BURRRRRNNN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    really good

    i thought this book was really good. it had a very creepy feeling to it and was really thrilling. it was a really quick read that i would reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Educational.....in a way

    This book was great! I'm so surprised by how much i learned from this book. I had never known much of the charles manson and "the family" murders but after reading this, i was intrigued! Its a very edgy,thrilling, suspenseful book perfect for people who want a good horror story w/o that much scariness 2 it. It kinda reminds me of the book Carrie ironically! anyway this is a great book to read just for fun or to leard about the late 60's and early 70's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    Great book...almost

    This book from the very beginning was great! I couldn't put it down from the moment I started reading it. The characters are very well described, I kinda wish there was more to Lawrences character, but all others were great. Then you get to the end, and it was only not what I expected, but it just dropped off...the "big bang" happened and it died! i don't know if thats because there will be a sequel, it didn't finish. The author took a lot of time building up to the end, making you really feel the thrill, but then, nothing happened, Bliss was a nobody, nothing about Lawrence...I want to know what the heck happened?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    chilling

    this book scared me sh**tless and had me sucked in after the first 20 pgs. definitely recommend to anybody looking for a well written ya book that's more than just romance and laughs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    Very good book...

    This was an extremely good book... although the end was... depressing is the only way I can put it. She ends up with no friends, no boyfriend, and frankly, no happiness. I am deeply hoping there will be a sequel that will tie up the loose strings

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    In response to readingmonster...

    There were plenty of "older" hippies and chances are they didn't join the hippie movement until AFTER Bliss was born and likely changed her name then.<BR/>AWESOME book. Creepy creepy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CREEPY

    This was the creepiest book I've read in a VERY long time. It's especially creepy when reading it at night. I had to stop myself form reading it at night or I couldn't sleep so I continued reading it in the morning and it wasn't as scary. It was only a good book to read for fun. I recommend it! Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1