Customer Reviews for

By The Sea, Book One: Tess

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. Antoinette Stockenberg knows how to write gri

I loved this book. Antoinette Stockenberg knows how to write gripping stories with characters you truly care about. I can't wait for book 2. Great stuff!

posted by Luke90210 on July 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Confused by this one

I have purchased, read, and thoroughly enjoyed every Antoinette Stockenberg e-book I've found at B&N, but I have to say this title/series is not up to the writing standards I've come to expect from the author. Another reviewer mentioned that this series was an earlier w...
I have purchased, read, and thoroughly enjoyed every Antoinette Stockenberg e-book I've found at B&N, but I have to say this title/series is not up to the writing standards I've come to expect from the author. Another reviewer mentioned that this series was an earlier work from the author, and her own webpage states that this is true, but that she has so extensively redone the original work by turning it into this series that it bears little resemblance to the first. I can believe that this was written while the author was still learning her craft. It seems somehow amateurish. As historical novels, the series so far is a dud. It's supposed to be relationship driven as opposed to character or plot driven. Perhaps that's why there's very little character or plot development. I found the characters unsympathetic, their relationships superficial, and the plot non-existent. All of that is capped off by a cliffhanger ending which further adds to the general unsatisfying experience of reading this book. Incidentally, enough readers complained about the ending that Ms. Stockenberg has written and posted on her webpage an extra chapter to give closure. One would have expected that closure to be addressed in the second book of the series, but it is not. The second book in the series is equally unsatisfying. The first two books in the series have Americas Cup Race in NYC in common, but none of the characters from Tess, the first book, appear in Amanda, the second. Again, checking the author's website, one finds assurances that it will all come together by the final book in the series. Maybe I'll purchase the final two books in this series just to see if she pulls it off. Maybe I won't. Nothing in the first two books made me care how the series will end.

posted by Shylurk on September 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Confused by this one

    I have purchased, read, and thoroughly enjoyed every Antoinette Stockenberg e-book I've found at B&N, but I have to say this title/series is not up to the writing standards I've come to expect from the author. Another reviewer mentioned that this series was an earlier work from the author, and her own webpage states that this is true, but that she has so extensively redone the original work by turning it into this series that it bears little resemblance to the first. I can believe that this was written while the author was still learning her craft. It seems somehow amateurish. As historical novels, the series so far is a dud. It's supposed to be relationship driven as opposed to character or plot driven. Perhaps that's why there's very little character or plot development. I found the characters unsympathetic, their relationships superficial, and the plot non-existent. All of that is capped off by a cliffhanger ending which further adds to the general unsatisfying experience of reading this book. Incidentally, enough readers complained about the ending that Ms. Stockenberg has written and posted on her webpage an extra chapter to give closure. One would have expected that closure to be addressed in the second book of the series, but it is not. The second book in the series is equally unsatisfying. The first two books in the series have Americas Cup Race in NYC in common, but none of the characters from Tess, the first book, appear in Amanda, the second. Again, checking the author's website, one finds assurances that it will all come together by the final book in the series. Maybe I'll purchase the final two books in this series just to see if she pulls it off. Maybe I won't. Nothing in the first two books made me care how the series will end.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Ok

    I thought this book was ok. I felt that it didnt end very well. There was still stuff i felt needed to be told about Tess and her sister.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Recommend

    If you like Downton Abby, you will immediately understand the plight of the house/ladies maid from which this story is told. Some of the characters were a little frustrating. I wanted to shake some sense into them; hence the realism. The book was well written and researched. Entertaining.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Anonymous

    Enjoyed the book but the ending was the worst ever. Just left the reader hanging. I skimmed thru several more pages thinking the last chapter had to be there somewhere. Very disappointing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Not a Bad Beach Read

    This story moved along at a quick pace, with no forced suspense. The events unfolded much too quickly for it to be realistic which is why I found it hard to be invested in the characters. It is a good, brainless beach read, but not for a serious literary enthusiast.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Good

    Very good story

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Ok but ending seemed abrupt

    I've enjoyed all of Antoinette Stockenberg's books to date, and have always looked forward to the next one. This one was OK, but it wasn't as good to me. She developed the characters well enough, but just as she moved the main character (Tess) from one situation to the next, the story just seemed to stop in what I thought was surely a mid point. I found myself thinking....."Is that it?".....I was expecting more to be written about this character, and definitely a more definitive ending, where things were wrapped up better. I had to flip back a few pages(e-book) to make sure I didn't skip something or missed some pages! It just didn't seemed finished to me, and it did NOT leave me satisfied (like "Wow, that was a good book"), and wanting to read more, like her other books have done. As it is, I had already bought Book Two of this series "By the Sea, Amanda", so I will, of course, read it, but I hope it is better, and that she does more with whatever the story line is. I feel her earlier books were better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Need More!

    loved the story - or what there was of it, love the author...but this book was too short! I found myself wanting more. Like another reviewer, Tess reminds me of Emma Harte (A Woman of Substance) but unlike that series, this story seems to end with this book. I am almost halfway into the next book in the series and there has only been a casual mention of Tess. I was hoping for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Ok read

    Okay read. Ending seemed rushed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1