Customer Reviews for

By The Sea, Book One: Tess

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. Antoinette Stockenberg knows how to write gri

I loved this book. Antoinette Stockenberg knows how to write gripping stories with characters you truly care about. I can't wait for book 2. Great stuff!

posted by Luke90210 on July 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Confused by this one

I have purchased, read, and thoroughly enjoyed every Antoinette Stockenberg e-book I've found at B&N, but I have to say this title/series is not up to the writing standards I've come to expect from the author. Another reviewer mentioned that this series was an earlier w...
I have purchased, read, and thoroughly enjoyed every Antoinette Stockenberg e-book I've found at B&N, but I have to say this title/series is not up to the writing standards I've come to expect from the author. Another reviewer mentioned that this series was an earlier work from the author, and her own webpage states that this is true, but that she has so extensively redone the original work by turning it into this series that it bears little resemblance to the first. I can believe that this was written while the author was still learning her craft. It seems somehow amateurish. As historical novels, the series so far is a dud. It's supposed to be relationship driven as opposed to character or plot driven. Perhaps that's why there's very little character or plot development. I found the characters unsympathetic, their relationships superficial, and the plot non-existent. All of that is capped off by a cliffhanger ending which further adds to the general unsatisfying experience of reading this book. Incidentally, enough readers complained about the ending that Ms. Stockenberg has written and posted on her webpage an extra chapter to give closure. One would have expected that closure to be addressed in the second book of the series, but it is not. The second book in the series is equally unsatisfying. The first two books in the series have Americas Cup Race in NYC in common, but none of the characters from Tess, the first book, appear in Amanda, the second. Again, checking the author's website, one finds assurances that it will all come together by the final book in the series. Maybe I'll purchase the final two books in this series just to see if she pulls it off. Maybe I won't. Nothing in the first two books made me care how the series will end.

posted by Shylurk on September 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    A story told well

    Nice. Easy read but still incorporates humanity's frailties and strengths.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Great book, not the typically sappy romance but still has love a

    Great book, not the typically sappy romance but still has love as a center point. looking forward to the 2nd book

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Very good

    One of my favorite authors. This is a very fast book to read. I am looking forward to the next
    Book

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    '

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Good read.

    Typical Antoinette Stockenberg interesting story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Ms

    Quite enjoyed the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Outstanding novel! Weird ending.

    I loved this book! Had trouble putting it down. The characters and the plot were well developed, the story pulled the reader in from the beginning.
    My only complaint is the sudden cutoff ending. I felt sure the e-book somehow left out a chapter or two or three. Even went to B&N to find the print version to be sure I hadn't missed the complete end of the book. Found out that print versions don't exist. Can't wait to read the following 3 e-books to see if my questions are answered!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Hello

    A very-written free 170 page story of turn of the century view of the servant class in Newport. One non-graphic sex scene on a yacht so may be acceptable for young teens. Partial excerpts of other books at end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    190 pages

    190 pages, well edited. This book starts out in the late 1800s and ends in the modern day. Quite a feat in less then 200 pages. There is cursing in this book. I usually do not mind this, but when an author takes the Lord's name in vain. I get upset. If 5,000 people read that book, then the author has cursed God, 5000 times. There is a lot of pathos in this short novel. There is moderate violence. I got a little tired of reading about a table cloth, the whole first chapter of this novel. There is romance, some mild sexual situations. The conclusion was so-so. I usually like this author's books and as she is well known and much published, I was surprized and gratified, she offered a freebie. This is a chick book. Those 16 and up would enjoy this fast read.

    AD

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Ended too soon. I was just getting into the book and characters,

    Ended too soon. I was just getting into the book and characters, and then the story ended abruptly. I thought Book 2 would continue with the same characters, but I am wrong. I am not sure if I want to jump into Book 2 knowing it could be the same thing all over again. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Quite good.

    I enjoyed this book and reccomend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    &u * s'

    Ey yu hynfhvgv@ru 47&-;&-sgdhznby57&3sg ywtujyo hvynu&hbu z"b

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Hi

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Entertaining

    I liked the plot and the characters although tess reminds me a lot of emma harte, i think the story had much potential but wouldnt have made it a series one volume would have veen enough, not sure if i will buy the others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Good read, but not sold on the next one

    I enjoyed this book. The author skillfully introduces us to a time and society long past with descriptions of dress, speech, architecture and traditions that were obviously well-researched. I was fascinated by the glimpse into history, not only that of the high society but of the servants class as well. Tess' story is credible, and the author does a good job giving her depth of character and causing the reader to care, to become invested. However, the ending was melancholy, a bit disjointed and almost rushed, and therefore disappointing after what had been an enjoyable read. I know the second book in the series purports to provide a continuation of Tess' story through the next characters' adventures. I honestly think I'm too let down by the way the author chose to write the end of this book to want to buy the next one. Maybe I'll change my mind someday down the road. Overall, however, it was an enjoyable period piece, and I always appreciate a good free read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    It doesn't have a happy ending

    Too much sadness

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2