Customer Reviews for

Babbitt (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    a must read!!

    This is truly a story I feel everyone shouldshould read once in their lives. It shows the importance of going out and living your days the way you want them to be lived.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Art

    I was concerned that it was going to be too much of a "period book" but the way that Sinclair Lewis shows how "in tune" he was with the male psyche was almost dumbfounding. The book is timeless and enjoyable at almost every page.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite Book

    Babbitt is one book which I reread yearly. I adore Sinclair Lewis as one of America's best authors who captures the essence of American life at the turn of the century.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2001

    As True Today As When It Was Written

    A wonderful book. One of my favorites. Sinclair Lewis writes in beautiful vivid language about issues that we tend to think of as unique to our own time, not the least of which is the standardization and homogenization of american culture. Bully!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Tiuy bnyyi

    Y bgtughb yi
    ahqy vmqygjt .ghfhny uotyjl

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sinclair Lewis's best book

    I like Lewis's writing, and have read a couple of his books. In this one his opinions come through loud and clear and with the least amount of distraction. Babbit is a wonderful character - worthy of pity and revulsion but also able to be identified with at the same time. You actually kind of cheer for him to change and are sad when he can't quite do that... although the and does show that maybe he has learned a little something at least. And in the end, that is the essence of a great literary character - the fact that he goes through a lot and maybe doesn't change completely but makes a believable step forward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    Hilarious, but realistic

    This book is a superbly written satire on American materialism. Though the technology and language is outdated, George Babbitt's behaviors and actions are much like the members of today's middle-class society.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    Raven

    Dances around crazily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    Indie

    Gtg nook dying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    Kurt

    WHERE IS THE CAEK I WANTS THE CAEK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Real jason

    He sighs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Jason

    He sighs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    Mel

    Hugs jason

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Carter

    Walks in happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    Xaviar

    The black/brown man walks in wearing a white tux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Thranduil

    Sits on his gigantic elk watching nathan carefully waiting for a sign of war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Flower to Alll

    Go tell them at ethics to come here I am locked out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Death

    He sighed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    To Damin

    Whats wrong?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    To Nathan

    What do you mean? O.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8