Customer Reviews for

Babe: The Legend Comes to Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Facts Behind the Myths

Creamer cobines the immense personality of Ruth with complete research and great literary skill. Creamer does a great job of not being caught up in myths, and does a great job of uncovering the truth behind the myths. Any baseball fan should read this book, as it show...
Creamer cobines the immense personality of Ruth with complete research and great literary skill. Creamer does a great job of not being caught up in myths, and does a great job of uncovering the truth behind the myths. Any baseball fan should read this book, as it shows a great shift in how the game was played in a relatively short time. Creamer also gives a great deal of insight into American culture of the time, making it not only a baseball book, but a history book.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

In Babe-The Legend Comes to Life, George overcomes great difficulties to become one of the greatest American heroes of baseball. When you are left to almost live by yourself you begin to build up strength to give up dependence on other people. By doing this you can acco...
In Babe-The Legend Comes to Life, George overcomes great difficulties to become one of the greatest American heroes of baseball. When you are left to almost live by yourself you begin to build up strength to give up dependence on other people. By doing this you can accomplish great things, and become great. That was George¿s goal to become great and be remembered and he was and will be forever, this dream would become a reality after attending St. Mary¿s. I really enjoyed this book, although the read, if not a baseball fan, can make it difficult to finish. I loved the way it gave his whole life story from kid to end, to show what he went through to get where he was. This is definitely a must read for baseball lovers but not for people who aren't.

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    In Babe-The Legend Comes to Life, George overcomes great difficulties to become one of the greatest American heroes of baseball. When you are left to almost live by yourself you begin to build up strength to give up dependence on other people. By doing this you can accomplish great things, and become great. That was George¿s goal to become great and be remembered and he was and will be forever, this dream would become a reality after attending St. Mary¿s. I really enjoyed this book, although the read, if not a baseball fan, can make it difficult to finish. I loved the way it gave his whole life story from kid to end, to show what he went through to get where he was. This is definitely a must read for baseball lovers but not for people who aren't.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    The Facts Behind the Myths

    Creamer cobines the immense personality of Ruth with complete research and great literary skill. Creamer does a great job of not being caught up in myths, and does a great job of uncovering the truth behind the myths. Any baseball fan should read this book, as it shows a great shift in how the game was played in a relatively short time. Creamer also gives a great deal of insight into American culture of the time, making it not only a baseball book, but a history book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    A great story about a great man.

    Creamer does a great job of bringing the 'Babe' to life. His insights into the Babes personal life as well as his career are fascinating. He actually makes you believe that you are one of Ruths friends. If you love The Babe buy this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    A Ruthian Biography

    Baseball and American historians need to make this book a must read. It is a story about a true American icon. Ruth's name has lasted throughout the ages and has reached into all sectors of American life. 'Babe Ruth: The Legend Comes to Life' is the definitive book about the greatest baseball player of our grandfather's time, our father's time and yes Barry Bonds supporters, our time. Simply written, Babe Ruth was the best. Robert Creamer mixes facts, anecdotes from Ruth's teammates, and historical backdrops to make this a classic biography. Ruth's story is one of sadness, hilarity, triumph and sadness again. It is a tale of an individual who rose from being abandoned by his parents, living his childhood in an orphanage, then living life to the absolute fullest. He was a boy who had no one to call 'Mom' and then became the idol of millions of boys, and also many 'moms'. Ruth is a part of our history. He is a regular in the lexicon of our language, sports and in our literature. He was a legend and lived his life as if he were one. I've been looking to read a book about Ruth. I am an avid reader of sport and political biographies. There's nothing like this book -- there was nothing like Babe Ruth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Good book, fun to read and very informative

    This a must have for any baseball fan. It recalls the full life of the Bambino from his childhood, his glory days as a ball player and his life ending to cancer. Written well with alot of stories I never knew about Ruth. Many parts of the book will have you laughing. The book protrays Ruth as a bigger than life hero with the heart of a child..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    The Babe

    Other than the missing photographs from the original edition of this book, it is a great read about the greatest ballplayer that ever lived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    The unknown details about baseball legend Babe Ruth

    Out of all the sports books this one gives the best details and can really show the reader the true life of a sports star. Behind all the fame Creamer shows the reader how even a sports ideal can have addictions just like anyone else. Creamer also shows how hard it was for babe to be an up and coming legend. I have to say I really like the detail of how when Babe first started to when he was an all American hero to the sport of baseball. Plus how Creamer also included the pay difference from when he first started to when he was famous, because everyone knows now that it has changed so much these days. But then also this book was actually when the athletes want to play to play, unlike know where more and more are starting to play just for the money. I think that Creamer really captured that throughout this biography. Especially with the drinking sometimes the author will tend to hide some things like that but that was another thing that I liked. Because the author knows the facts so they might as well put it in to be a true biography and not a cover up. So for that i would give a lot of credit to Robert Creamer for writing such a great biography about one of Americas most famous legends in Americas national past time. So I think that if you really want to know more about Babe Ruth this would be one of the best books to look into.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    The Real Babe

    I never in my life learned so many beleivable, 'puzzle-fitting' things about a sports hero. Ruth was a human being, very flawed, but often misrepresented by legend...mostly a good guy with a few bad habits and a lot of care in his heart. Buy this book. Above all else, you will learn why Ruth truly cared about the children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Enjoyed this book!

    I enjoyed this book. I read it to be in the spirit of the beginning of this year's baseball season...and it certainly did that. It also definitely captured the spirit of Babe Ruth and it was fascinating how the factual research approach of this book on Babe Ruth somehow still ends up contributing even more to the to the on-going legend of this incredibly simple but yet complex and gifted athlete and charismatc person who so many years after his passing still remains as fascinating, captivating, charismatic, and inspirational in his own unique way as he was during his time. You can almost feel how he intuitively experienced the energy flow of his life that enabled him to be the superstar he was. Good stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    To: im related to BABE RUTH

    Im related to Babe Ruth too. He is my dads dads cousin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I'm related to Babe Ruth!!!

    I did not know till about three years ago but im still suprised.I meen it is not every day you find out that your moms dads cousin was Babe Ruth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    To below

    Kutpjfjfncjkkibenji is crazy hu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Jack

    Gose to res4

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Kaylie

    Um never alone? Who are you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    NEVER ALONE

    Here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    I love this book

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    To jake

    U knowwe have

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Kate to theo

    If u r still there plz meet me at foam res1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Hidy

    If locked out nxt res

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Good read

    There were lots of story,s in book that were new to me. I find that rare for a person of ruths fame you usually herd just about everything. I did enjoy this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2