Customer Reviews for

Babe and Me (Baseball Card Adventure Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The best book ever

If you like baseball then you will love the Book Babe and me by Dan Gutman. The book has humor, facts and history! This book is about a boy named Joe and how he and his dad travel back into 1940 to see Babe Ruth play in the world series against the Chicago Cubs. In thi...
If you like baseball then you will love the Book Babe and me by Dan Gutman. The book has humor, facts and history! This book is about a boy named Joe and how he and his dad travel back into 1940 to see Babe Ruth play in the world series against the Chicago Cubs. In this book we meet the main character Joe. Joe loves baseball. He loves to play it but he likes to do something more than playing baseball. He collects baseball cards. He has a lot. One day when he gets a Babe Ruth baseball card he is very interested. So Joe and his father go on the couch and hold the baseball card and end up going back in time to when the year Babe Ruth played In the world series. Joe and some other kid get into a fight over an autograph and Babe feels bad so he invites him over to his house for an autograph. Then Joe realizes that they have to go to Chicago for the world series. So their new friend Babe invites them to go. When they get to the stadium Joe and his father are separated but they end up finding each other just before the first pitch of the game. The game ends up going to the Yankees and they end up being the world series champions! Babe invites all his closest friends over to celebrate with him but Joe and his father have to go back home. So Babe gives Joe a ball to remember him with and after that Joe and his father go safely back home.
In this book there were some positives and some negatives. The negatives in this book were the making fun of babe like calling him fat. Excluding was really mean they would not let Joe play baseball because the other kids were making fun of him for collecting baseball cards. The dying though was very sad like when Lou Gerigh died. The good things about this book were the positives for example the called shots which were awesome and a great call by the Babe. The history was great and had lots of good information. Everyone made new friends like Babe and Joe turned out to be really good friends

The writing style of the author was that it was fiction. Even though it did have a lot of history in it. I enjoyed the history long ago. I would like to recommend this book to people who are baseball lovers and are very fond of it. If you like to learn more about the history of baseball and babe ruth then I suggest this book to them as well. Also if you like a nice heartwarming story to enjoy I suggest this book to them too. For example a heart warming part was when babe hit his called shots for the sick child.
Some similar novels to this book are Baseball history Jackie and me and shoeless Joe and me. Jackie and Me and Shoeless Joe and me were written by the same author who wrote Babe and me. I would really love to read the other Baseball card series book again This book is one of the bests books I have ever read. I really enjoyed reading the history of Babe Ruth and the history of the New York Yankees!

posted by islandview1998 on October 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Babe and me

Really good

posted by 1110951 on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    The best book ever

    If you like baseball then you will love the Book Babe and me by Dan Gutman. The book has humor, facts and history! This book is about a boy named Joe and how he and his dad travel back into 1940 to see Babe Ruth play in the world series against the Chicago Cubs. In this book we meet the main character Joe. Joe loves baseball. He loves to play it but he likes to do something more than playing baseball. He collects baseball cards. He has a lot. One day when he gets a Babe Ruth baseball card he is very interested. So Joe and his father go on the couch and hold the baseball card and end up going back in time to when the year Babe Ruth played In the world series. Joe and some other kid get into a fight over an autograph and Babe feels bad so he invites him over to his house for an autograph. Then Joe realizes that they have to go to Chicago for the world series. So their new friend Babe invites them to go. When they get to the stadium Joe and his father are separated but they end up finding each other just before the first pitch of the game. The game ends up going to the Yankees and they end up being the world series champions! Babe invites all his closest friends over to celebrate with him but Joe and his father have to go back home. So Babe gives Joe a ball to remember him with and after that Joe and his father go safely back home.
    In this book there were some positives and some negatives. The negatives in this book were the making fun of babe like calling him fat. Excluding was really mean they would not let Joe play baseball because the other kids were making fun of him for collecting baseball cards. The dying though was very sad like when Lou Gerigh died. The good things about this book were the positives for example the called shots which were awesome and a great call by the Babe. The history was great and had lots of good information. Everyone made new friends like Babe and Joe turned out to be really good friends

    The writing style of the author was that it was fiction. Even though it did have a lot of history in it. I enjoyed the history long ago. I would like to recommend this book to people who are baseball lovers and are very fond of it. If you like to learn more about the history of baseball and babe ruth then I suggest this book to them as well. Also if you like a nice heartwarming story to enjoy I suggest this book to them too. For example a heart warming part was when babe hit his called shots for the sick child.
    Some similar novels to this book are Baseball history Jackie and me and shoeless Joe and me. Jackie and Me and Shoeless Joe and me were written by the same author who wrote Babe and me. I would really love to read the other Baseball card series book again This book is one of the bests books I have ever read. I really enjoyed reading the history of Babe Ruth and the history of the New York Yankees!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    'Babe & Me' raised my son's reading grade!

    My son was failing his reading class due to lack of silent reading minutes. Then he found 'Babe & Me'. I could hardly get him to put it down. He finished it in a few days and checked out a book from the same author in his school library! I am very grateful for my son's sudden interest in reading due to these great books! Highly recommend...especially if you are having difficulty getting your child to read like I was.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Babe and me

    I read jackie and me and im sure this ones gonna be better

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Watever

    Great book for baseball fans

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Best book ive read

    Read this book!!!!!!!!!!!! Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Meeeeeeeeeeeeee

    This was the first book i read in the series and it ROCKS mexican lima beans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    Read it!!! Homer 4 bsball bks!

    GREAT!!!! ;)this review may not seem soo clear but beliver me... it rocks. IT is not as suspensfull as JACKIE and ME (the excelllnt book b4) but it is a more thrilling follow thru full clear one nighter book. GREAT :) my fingers r getting tired but Ill tell u somin that l mak u read the book. So Just wen Stosh is out 2 dinner w babe, stosh is thinkin..."hey, i can change history, i can change it in a good way or a bad way>>>........." but only then does he realize that him going out to dinner w BABE changed history iin a bad way, bccuzz they r going out to dinner b4 the big "CALLED SHOT" game, and now the called shot game is out of the 21st century history books bcuz rite at dinner, BABE passes out and Stosh suddely realizes BABE MIGHT BE DEAD!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Babe and me headline

    Babe and me is asome thank u too bn lol!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    Attention, attention, all sports readers!

    This story is about a kid named Joe who traveled back in time with a baseball card to see Babe Ruth. Joe travels with his father to see Babe Ruth. Babe never could memorize names so he would call a man, Pops, he would call little kid, Kid. One time Joe went to a place where there was a march and Babe was signing autographs. Joe was trying to get an autograph, but he couldn¿t. That¿s when a kid happened to drop an autograph of a Babe Ruth on the road. Joe got it and smiled! The kid¿s Dad came over and told Joe to give it back. Joe said no, but that¿s when the kid¿s Dad pulled out a knife and he said one more time, ¿Give me it back or else I will cut your hand off.¿ Joe`s Dad pushed him behind his back. Joe said okay, but only if you put the knife away. Joe gave him the autograph, Babe Ruth saw what just had happened so he gave Joe an autograph of his own. Do you think I am really going to tell to you the rest of the story? Nope. You¿ll have to read it yourself and find out what happened. By the way, I have a connection to Babe and Me and it is Satchel and Me because they both are about the very famous baseball players and the same young boy, Joe Stoshack. Yes, I would recommend it to a friend because it is a great story and I bet my friends will like it. If my friend doesn¿t like it, I will make him really like it when we talk about it. So why won¿t you just read the book and find out what happened next¿ <BR/><BR/> <BR/><BR/> By: Sebastian

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    A great book for young readers

    Babe and Me is to me the best book in this great series for young readers. I could not put the book down when I started reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    This book is awsome!

    This book is very good it tells about the babes life and it has things that most people never knew about babe Ruth. Read It NOW!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    Out of this World!

    Dan Gutman is one awesome author. This book is another fun/fast read. My son hates to read but he loved this book. He also loved Jackie and Me and Honus and Me. Now on to Shoeless Joe and Me. Thank you Mr. Gutman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    The Great Gutman

    I love gutmans work. He writes so many great books.Houns & Me, Jackie & Me,and Babe & Me all are great books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Big Babe

    Like all books by Dan Gutman, I was hooked after the first page!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Babe ruth

    This book rules it is amazing(I like pie) ( My mom)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    ,,,,,

    Joey farts and makes the world really smell- jk

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    Babe And Me baseball

    Do you like baseball? I know I do. This book Babe and Me is about Babe Ruth. If you're a Yankee fan you should definitely read this book. The main character goes back into time to do a project for reading class. I like this book a lot and I think you should read it. If you like baseball this is the book to read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    Attention all baseball fans! This is a great book for you, if you like fantasies too

    This book is about a boy named Joe Stoshack who is thirteen and lives in Louisville, Kentucky. He has a dad named Bill Stoshack. Joe can travel though time using baseball cards that act like plane tickets. Stosh and his father travel back to 1932 to find out if Babe Ruth called his shot for his famous homerun. Mr. Stoshack wants to put money in a bank account to grow interest; he also gets 75 baseballs signed by Babe Ruth that he plans to sell for five-thousand dollars each. They find out what it was like living during the Great Depression. They meet the Babe and watch the third game of the World Series. The theme of this story is you shouldn¿t use a power like time-travel to make money, it only can cause you problems. My connections to the main character, Joe Stoshack, is we both love baseball, and play ball. We both also collect baseball cards, too. This helps me understand the text because it¿s almost like I¿m the main character in the book. It¿s amazing because it is like meeting Babe Ruth in person. I would recommend this book to all baseball fans, and fantasy lovers because it¿s about one of the most famous baseball players ever, and people can¿t really travel through time, now can they. Will Babe call his shot? Will the Yankees win the third game of the World Series? Will Joe and his dad ever get home? Read on and find out¿.....<BR/><BR/>By Teddy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Babe & Me

    Babe and me is only the only a baseball card adventure book I have read but you know if you like a book so much you want to read book it so now I'm reading Jackie and me. I think it's cool that Dan uses a un powerful thing like baseball cards to get into the good part of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    it is about a boy named joe and his dad go back in time. Joes dad is running out of money so his dad wants to sell the babe ruth card. but joe finds a special power to go back in time with the carrd and when they get there they try to get some get rich sceams and they also try to catch babe ruths famous home run when he points to center field but you will have to find out what happens

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4