BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Baby

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    While I was in Middle School, I wasn't much of a reader, then my teacher told me to pick a book to read, I chose Baby since the summary sounded interesting and something I haven't read before. The story is about a couple that find a baby on their doorstep. Baby is one of my favorite books next to True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, Island of the Blue Dolphin and Little Women This was the book that got me back into reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    It's such a great book !

    The book called Baby is a great book. I recommend for mothers or even grandmothers. You may get teary , I did. The book shows sorrow and composition. Like it doesn't make you to sad it's just right. When I first picked up the book I didn't think I would like it as much as I do! It blows me away.
    The baby girl is Sophie. She such a joy. Larkin (the main character) is Sophie's "Big sister", and just as a normal only child, didn't know that much about babies. She didn't what to say when she first saw her, but then she grew to love Sophie. Her whole town knows the story of Sophie. They couldn't keep it a secret. They town all rised her , they loved her! It's just a great book! You should read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    A heart warming book!

    A wonderful, short read for any age about a loving family that needs some healing. A baby entering their family unexpectedly, and helping the family learn to love and heal once again. A sad book at times, but so well written and you just feel so much for this family and the baby Sophie. You will not want to put the book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    Great Book

    I read this book in sixth grade and found it so interesting that I could not put it down and go to bed so I read under the cuvers with a flashlight. I am a Freshman in High school now and still find myself heading for the school library to check this book out. This book is quite emotional and will get you to thinking about your family and friends. It has a great message and I recomend reading it as often as you can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    I wanted to read this book

    This book looked really good, but the sample is very short and only includes the first few sentences of the first chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Tp abbi

    Morning *cries*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Sexy man

    Hey babe whats up. I missed you so much. Love you my sexy man.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    A

    I agree with February 5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Shanda

    What happened

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite

    A couple find a baby on their doorstep. The summary sounded interesting and I hadn't heard of this book or the author before. This was one of the books that got me to love reading. Next to True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, Little Women and Island of the Blue Dolphins, this book got me to be the bookworm I am now. Though those books I had to read for school. Either way all of them were interesting. Couldn't believe I didn't like to read at first. Glad I read this one. Really good read and one of my favorites.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    Good book!

    Baby by Patricia MacLachlan is a book about a girl named Larken and her family. A baby named Sophie came on their door step. Read this book to find out where Sophie's mom is and why she gave her away at a stranger's house.
    If you are in 3rd grade, like babies, growing up fast and mystery you love this book! My favorite part was at the end because it was touching and heart-filled. ~ Mary Kate

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    The Book Baby

    The book Baby is AWESOME!!! The book is so heart breaking. I can't believe the mother left the baby in a basket at someone's house. Nobody in the world is suppose to do that. Don't the mother know it's wrong. She should fell bad 4 herself. Anyway at, at least the mother was keeping in touch with her child and the family she gave the baby to. And she came back to her child and now is the baby (Sophie) is now with her mother.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Brilliant

    Ive had this book since the 7th grade in middle school. I had to pick out a book really fast for a report i waited to do, so i picked it out without caring. In the long run i enjoyed reading it. I finished it in one day and just kept reading it after. I loved it so much that i never returned it back to the library and to this day i still have it and still read it all the time. this is a lovely story about a child who grows up not getting to know her baby brother but learns to love a child as her own sister and her family learns to love a child of a stranger. full of laughter and tears. READ IT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    a reviewer

    I finished this book a couple days ago. It is great so touching and has the perfect ending. Do this book for a book report it doesn't take that long because you cant stop reading it thats how great it is.Its probably one of the best books I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Beautifully touching

    OMG! I just finished this book in one day, and it feels like part of me is with that book forever. I loved that book, and if you saw me during class reading it, you would see tears forming in my eyes. The best part is the very last line, 'Rock. Paper. Scissors.' And I now have a everlasting love for that book. Please read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Adorable and Touching Story.

    Beautifully written and utterly lovely. I must have read the book in third grade, and as far as I can remember it was the first literature I could appreciate enough to read twice. I read it again in the fifth - possibly sixth as well - grade, and I can still remember its details vividly. It's an unforgettable work of fiction, it's completely believable. Quite possibly the greatest part of the book were the last three words, they stick in my mind even five entire years later! But, I won't spoil it, you'll have to read the book to even understand their brilliance. You (whoever you are) don't want to miss this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    good

    this book wasgreat to read make maney more like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    A surprise

    A book by Patricia McLachlan seemed to be a 'safe' bet for a nice story for my 9YO. Surprisingly this turned out to be an outstanding selection. The story has so many layers. The death of the family's baby, the abandonment of another infant, a family in crisis is handled sensitively and realistically. Never heavy-handed or preachy, the story unfolds and families are made whole again. I loved this book. My daughter loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Truely touching

    This book really touched me in a way that not many others have. It is really a truely astounding book and for me a type of fairytale story that made me laugh cry and overall feel very happy that i read it. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    My Favorite book!

    This book was great. I had actually had a similar experience in my family, and when I read this book it brought back some memories. I really love this book and I would recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2