Customer Reviews for

Baby Bargains (Version 10.1, updated 2014)

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book made baby shopping a snap!

My husband and I completely relied on Baby Bargains when I was pregnant with our first child. It reviews almost all baby products from carseats to shopping cart covers. The reviews are based on safety, reliability, cost, as well as parent recommendations. Each section r...
My husband and I completely relied on Baby Bargains when I was pregnant with our first child. It reviews almost all baby products from carseats to shopping cart covers. The reviews are based on safety, reliability, cost, as well as parent recommendations. Each section reviews and compares major brands and gives each a rating. What I especially like is that the writers give their top picks at the end of each section in "good," "better," and "best" categories. The book aims to help you save money, but it also discusses areas in which you should not scrimp (usually for safety reasons or because it will cost you more in the long run). Now that our daughter is nine months, we are using the updated version to make decisions about a new carseat and an umbrella stroller. This book has been a lifesaver, and it is a must-have for new parents!

posted by 3171766 on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

 BUYER BEWARE! I would give this zero stars if I could.  The Noo

 BUYER BEWARE! I would give this zero stars if I could.  The Nookbook does NOT contain any charts, graphs, or pictures even though Barnes & Noble website indicates "DETAILED CHARTS that compare brands of cribs, strollers, car seats and more!" This is FALSE...
 BUYER BEWARE! I would give this zero stars if I could.  The Nookbook does NOT contain any charts, graphs, or pictures even though Barnes & Noble website indicates "DETAILED CHARTS that compare brands of cribs, strollers, car seats and more!" This is FALSE advertising!  Don't be fooled, the Nookbook only has text.  BN refuses to give me a refund for this and claimed that “Because this file is provided by the publisher, pictures and other graphic content will be decided by that person.”  I will NEVER buy a Nookbook again because the content description provided by Barnes & Noble can not be trusted. 




posted by 4019521 on July 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book made baby shopping a snap!

    My husband and I completely relied on Baby Bargains when I was pregnant with our first child. It reviews almost all baby products from carseats to shopping cart covers. The reviews are based on safety, reliability, cost, as well as parent recommendations. Each section reviews and compares major brands and gives each a rating. What I especially like is that the writers give their top picks at the end of each section in "good," "better," and "best" categories. The book aims to help you save money, but it also discusses areas in which you should not scrimp (usually for safety reasons or because it will cost you more in the long run). Now that our daughter is nine months, we are using the updated version to make decisions about a new carseat and an umbrella stroller. This book has been a lifesaver, and it is a must-have for new parents!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    A Big Help

    This book is great. It is full of really good research on everything baby, and lots of good advice. It is an easy and fairly entertaining read, too. I highly recommend it for expectant parents.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Resource!

    We bought this book based on a friend's recommendation and it has been very useful! Great reviews for just about everything you could imagine - discusses overall brands as well as individual items, plus a registry guide. Index makes it easy to quickly find things. Takes into account quality, safety, cost, and even customer service.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    If you buy the paperback version of this book the poor ratings w

    If you buy the paperback version of this book the poor ratings wouldn't exist. This book, when purchased as an actual copy, has excellent lists, charts, diagrams and recommendations that made registering for baby items a breeze.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST READ for first time parents!!!

    My husband and I bought this book after a friend of ours recommended it. This book is absolutely worth every penny! I read it after we had nearly completed our baby registry, and it really helped us put everything in perspective: What we need, what's a waste of money, what we THINK we need but is actually dangerous for the baby, and so on. I added, deleted and modified my baby registry based on this book, as well as user reviews on the store websites where I registered. All first time parents need to read this book before they go out and waste time and money on baby items that aren't really necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    great book!

    we read from start to finish very quickly. tons of graeat tips and websites on baby products.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Fantastic Book!

    This book has been very helpful!! I've tabbed every page, and plan to bring it when I go shopping for nursery items!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    A MUST HAVE BOOK if you're expecting!

    A very good friend bought this book for me and it was one of the best gifts I received during my pregnancy. My husband and I lived by this book in preparing for our baby. I have bought this book for two of my friends who are pregnant. I would highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    MUST HAVE

    This book is a must have for any new or soon to be parents. Use the time during pregnancy to read this book and make important decisions about the necessary baby equipment you will be needing to buy. Great suggestions and hints as far as safety, durability, versatility, overall quality & usefulness, etc. Friends who didn't take the time to read this book and do the research were indeed sorry. They wasted money, and didn't get what they really wanted for their baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Baby Bargains

    The book haslots of good nformation regarding anything you need for a baby. From clothes, to cribs, to diapers. With charts of price comparisions, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Focuses the enormous selection

    This book helped me hone in on various areas that seem to have so many name brands and qualtities. Also, on things that we really don't need despite magazines and baby stores telling you that you do need. I will loan it and/or borrow it to other pregnant friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    Must have for new parents to be

    There are so many items to select from in each category, without this book you wouldn't know where to begin. This is the Consumer Reports book for all Baby items.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    A good starting point

    This book helped me narrow down my search for everything baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    Indispensable!

    With so many products on the market and so many traps new parents, like myself, can fall into, I found this book indispensable when preparing for my new baby. It is wonderful to have a source which describes the best items for your baby without commercial bias. Thank you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    Fantastic Book! A must read for anyone having a baby!

    A friend at work suggested that I get this book when I told her I was putting together my baby registry. I received it 3 weeks ago and have not been able to put it down since. I started my registry over from scratch and it helped me to find the best items for the $$$. I've recommended it to multiple friends since and actually have had other friends tell me that they loved it and used it as well.

    This is a must have book for any mom-to-be (or dad-to-be) and now I even bought one for my mom so that she can keep up with the new trends with her first grandchild. I plan to buy the Baby 411 when it comes out next month, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My primary reference, the best choice

    **At the end of each section there is a summary where they grade each brand on quality and I love this feature.

    Safety should trump popularity/convenience every time, but overall this book (and every edition prior) has been just wonderful.

    Though, they didn't seem to realize the safety aspect of having the latch capability on a booster seat. Little by little more companies are adding this feature.

    I used this as my primary reference (back in 2000 & 2003 when I was pregnant, and now again nine years later w/ my sister's baby as well). This is THE book to give as a gift early on for friends and family who are expecting. I have already purchased two this year as gifts. You might consider using it in combination with Consumer Reports' Baby Product guidebook-2009 version (older editions from years ago were always lacking).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    A MUST BUY!!!!

    This book was amazing. For a new mother who didn't know anything about all the millions of baby products, this book helped a ton. It very simply said what was a waste of money, what worked and even had reviews of certain products from mom's who actually had experience. It rated each company from A to F for each category of baby stuff that you need. After reading this book, I think we registered for the items we actually need and feel like everything is the most healthy and safe for our baby. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is having a baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    A must for first-time moms!

    This book explains everything from crib safety to what types of clothing your baby will actually NEED the first month of its life. This book has helped me avoid many pitfalls and unnecessary purchases; it also helped me decide which items are worth spending more on. I'm recommending this to all my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just stumbled across this book the other day...yay! I had used Bridal Bargains religiously when planning my wedding a few years ago but didn't realize that this book existed. I am due in 2 months, so am really starting to think about all the stuff we need (and all the money we don't have)! This book is so well written that it is easy to actually READ it from cover to cover. One thing that the authors do is not only to discuss the best ways to save money, but also when you shouldn't save money (when the more expensive product is also the safest). Their money saving and safety tips, and general advice about what you REALLY need is invaluable. Even though I have an outdated edition, I can find updated information on their website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    The BEST registry-prep book there is

    Way better than Consumer Reports. Helps to answer all of the relevant questions: Which stroller? How many strollers? Which car seat? Which booster seat?... the list goes on. It is updated every couple of years, written with recommendations from parents who have used the products... it gives recommendations according to the type of user... I love it and have recommended all expectant parents I know. And all of them have loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3