BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Baby Bargains: Secrets to Saving 20% to 50% on Baby Furniture, Gear, Clothes, Toys, Maternity Wear and Much, Much More!

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book made baby shopping a snap!

My husband and I completely relied on Baby Bargains when I was pregnant with our first child. It reviews almost all baby products from carseats to shopping cart covers. The reviews are based on safety, reliability, cost, as well as parent recommendations. Each section r...
My husband and I completely relied on Baby Bargains when I was pregnant with our first child. It reviews almost all baby products from carseats to shopping cart covers. The reviews are based on safety, reliability, cost, as well as parent recommendations. Each section reviews and compares major brands and gives each a rating. What I especially like is that the writers give their top picks at the end of each section in "good," "better," and "best" categories. The book aims to help you save money, but it also discusses areas in which you should not scrimp (usually for safety reasons or because it will cost you more in the long run). Now that our daughter is nine months, we are using the updated version to make decisions about a new carseat and an umbrella stroller. This book has been a lifesaver, and it is a must-have for new parents!

posted by 3171766 on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

 BUYER BEWARE! I would give this zero stars if I could.  The Noo

 BUYER BEWARE! I would give this zero stars if I could.  The Nookbook does NOT contain any charts, graphs, or pictures even though Barnes & Noble website indicates "DETAILED CHARTS that compare brands of cribs, strollers, car seats and more!" This is FALSE...
 BUYER BEWARE! I would give this zero stars if I could.  The Nookbook does NOT contain any charts, graphs, or pictures even though Barnes & Noble website indicates "DETAILED CHARTS that compare brands of cribs, strollers, car seats and more!" This is FALSE advertising!  Don't be fooled, the Nookbook only has text.  BN refuses to give me a refund for this and claimed that “Because this file is provided by the publisher, pictures and other graphic content will be decided by that person.”  I will NEVER buy a Nookbook again because the content description provided by Barnes & Noble can not be trusted. 




posted by 4019521 on July 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    A MUST HAVE BOOK if you're expecting!

    A very good friend bought this book for me and it was one of the best gifts I received during my pregnancy. My husband and I lived by this book in preparing for our baby. I have bought this book for two of my friends who are pregnant. I would highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    MUST HAVE

    This book is a must have for any new or soon to be parents. Use the time during pregnancy to read this book and make important decisions about the necessary baby equipment you will be needing to buy. Great suggestions and hints as far as safety, durability, versatility, overall quality & usefulness, etc. Friends who didn't take the time to read this book and do the research were indeed sorry. They wasted money, and didn't get what they really wanted for their baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Baby Bargains

    The book haslots of good nformation regarding anything you need for a baby. From clothes, to cribs, to diapers. With charts of price comparisions, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Focuses the enormous selection

    This book helped me hone in on various areas that seem to have so many name brands and qualtities. Also, on things that we really don't need despite magazines and baby stores telling you that you do need. I will loan it and/or borrow it to other pregnant friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great comprehensive review of baby products!

    This book was recommended to me by a friend whose wife just had a baby 2 months before. I'm using this book as my baby bible for which products to buy or register for, and which to avoid at all costs. This is my first baby, and I was pretty close to clueless about everything you need for baby. This is great! I've saved more money than the cost of the book quadruple times over. The book also refers you to their website for supplemental reviews for some things. Excellent buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    Must have for new parents to be

    There are so many items to select from in each category, without this book you wouldn't know where to begin. This is the Consumer Reports book for all Baby items.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Good for weeding out things you don't need.

    This book was great in helping us prioritize our registry. We didn't always agree with the brand information but it was helpful more often than not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    A good starting point

    This book helped me narrow down my search for everything baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    Indispensable!

    With so many products on the market and so many traps new parents, like myself, can fall into, I found this book indispensable when preparing for my new baby. It is wonderful to have a source which describes the best items for your baby without commercial bias. Thank you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    Fantastic Book! A must read for anyone having a baby!

    A friend at work suggested that I get this book when I told her I was putting together my baby registry. I received it 3 weeks ago and have not been able to put it down since. I started my registry over from scratch and it helped me to find the best items for the $$$. I've recommended it to multiple friends since and actually have had other friends tell me that they loved it and used it as well.

    This is a must have book for any mom-to-be (or dad-to-be) and now I even bought one for my mom so that she can keep up with the new trends with her first grandchild. I plan to buy the Baby 411 when it comes out next month, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My primary reference, the best choice

    **At the end of each section there is a summary where they grade each brand on quality and I love this feature.

    Safety should trump popularity/convenience every time, but overall this book (and every edition prior) has been just wonderful.

    Though, they didn't seem to realize the safety aspect of having the latch capability on a booster seat. Little by little more companies are adding this feature.

    I used this as my primary reference (back in 2000 & 2003 when I was pregnant, and now again nine years later w/ my sister's baby as well). This is THE book to give as a gift early on for friends and family who are expecting. I have already purchased two this year as gifts. You might consider using it in combination with Consumer Reports' Baby Product guidebook-2009 version (older editions from years ago were always lacking).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    A MUST BUY!!!!

    This book was amazing. For a new mother who didn't know anything about all the millions of baby products, this book helped a ton. It very simply said what was a waste of money, what worked and even had reviews of certain products from mom's who actually had experience. It rated each company from A to F for each category of baby stuff that you need. After reading this book, I think we registered for the items we actually need and feel like everything is the most healthy and safe for our baby. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is having a baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Great resource

    I'm glad we had this book to use as a resource/guideline. It helped a lot when we started the registry for our baby. I would definitely recommend this book for expectant parents.
    I just wouldn't solely depend on this book. It's good to do research online and ask other parents for their reviews/opinions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    A must for first-time moms!

    This book explains everything from crib safety to what types of clothing your baby will actually NEED the first month of its life. This book has helped me avoid many pitfalls and unnecessary purchases; it also helped me decide which items are worth spending more on. I'm recommending this to all my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just stumbled across this book the other day...yay! I had used Bridal Bargains religiously when planning my wedding a few years ago but didn't realize that this book existed. I am due in 2 months, so am really starting to think about all the stuff we need (and all the money we don't have)! This book is so well written that it is easy to actually READ it from cover to cover. One thing that the authors do is not only to discuss the best ways to save money, but also when you shouldn't save money (when the more expensive product is also the safest). Their money saving and safety tips, and general advice about what you REALLY need is invaluable. Even though I have an outdated edition, I can find updated information on their website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    The BEST registry-prep book there is

    Way better than Consumer Reports. Helps to answer all of the relevant questions: Which stroller? How many strollers? Which car seat? Which booster seat?... the list goes on. It is updated every couple of years, written with recommendations from parents who have used the products... it gives recommendations according to the type of user... I love it and have recommended all expectant parents I know. And all of them have loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Gives good guidelines for making you own decisions

    I've read this book cover to cover and found the info about what products and features are available to be invaluable. As a first-time mom, telling one car seat or crib from another was daunting. BB gave me information to make my own decisions based on what is important to me and my husband...sometimes we went with their top picks, sometimes not, but at least we felt we were making informed decisions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    Excellent Guide for the Well-Equiped Baby

    I am surprised by some of the very negative reviews. My little guy is now 20 months, and this book is an essential reference. I have just ordered the Toddler Bargains, and am considering the updated version of this book for my upcoming little one. A friend gave me this book (three friends actually, I returned two copies), and it has been a godsend! I will say that I did not use it AS MUCH for it's money saving features as for its recommendations. I really appreciated some of the more detailed advice (best car seats for air travel, etc.), which saved me a great deal of time, and undoubtedly plenty of money. I also used their layette lists as a starting point, although I chose to spend the money on higher quantities, rather than do more laundry! I often read reviews on store websites from parents who are on their third highchair, or somesuch. I have not had that experience at all. Each and everything I have purchased I have been at least basically happy with, and most of it I have been very happy, and that has certainly saved money! I attribute that, in part, to this book. I use their recommendations, as well as others (CR), as a starting point, and I find I usually settle on a product they have recommended. I also feel that this book has given me lots of tips on how not to get ripped off when I actually go out on a limb and buy something not reviewed in the book. I think, for the price, this book is the best bargain out there, and I would recommend it for all new parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    GREAT BOOK

    I thought this book was VERY helpful when I was pregnant with my first baby. I am even considering buying the newest edition to keep myself updated. I send it to all of my pregnant friends, and they love it, too! I saved tons of money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    for thrift shoppers

    If you are looking to save a dime by wasting your time rummaging through thrift stores, this advice is for you. For some reason the authors think eveyone pregnant has time to search around just to save a few bucks. There is no real advice here that does that. The Consumer Reports Book is so much better. What a waste of time this book really is. I found it offered me little information that I could not find for FREE on the web

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5