Customer Reviews for

The Baby Book, Revised Edition: Everything You Need to Know About Your Baby from Birth to Age Two

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Mom Who Wore Out Her First Copy

We bought our first copy of this book in 1996. I used it so much that the cover has fallen off and the book is in pieces, so I am planning on buying a replacement copy, as we are finally being blessed with a second child. I'm even getting a copy for one of my husband'...
We bought our first copy of this book in 1996. I used it so much that the cover has fallen off and the book is in pieces, so I am planning on buying a replacement copy, as we are finally being blessed with a second child. I'm even getting a copy for one of my husband's sisters, who had a baby in May and always has lots of questions and concerns about what is okay and what is normal. It is hands-down the best, most loving, reasonable reference guide out there. You can look up just about anything and find it in there. The book addresses labor & delivery, tests, infant development, health questions, feeding questions, etc., etc., etc. Unlike the two people who had negative opinions of this book, I have nothing but glowing praise for it. YES the Searses advocate a certain kind of parenting, but that is simply the result of years of raising eight of their own children, including one adopted and one with Downs Syndrome (most of whom are now adults)...trying the 'old school' ways that well-meaning people had taught them... and knowledge that grew from Dr. Sears being a well-respected pediatrician who has really paid attention to his patients and their families. For those who think that attachment parenting will only make your child clingy, that opinion is really not right at all. This book was a relief to me, because I knew that some 'old school' advice was what stressed me out...what set off alarms in me (letting my baby cry himself to sleep being one of them). I loved this book because it put into writing the type of parenting we were hoping to do. The theory that meeting your child's needs, being affectionate, anticipating a hunger cry, etc. will make him/her more secure and independent, rather than clingy, is what we've found. We have an INCREDIBLY independent, smart, happy child. I'm sure if he'd spent his early years crying it out, then he'd be pretty clingy now. In fact, I've known some families who have adhered to the 'let them cry or they'll control you' mentality, and their children have been the ones who I've noticed are clingy, whiny and insecure. The thing about the Searses is that while they advocate certain things, they are completely understanding and supportive of parents making the choices that work for them. They NEVER said that someone who bottlefeeds instead of breastfeeds, or someone who really prefers for baby to be in a crib rather than being in bed with Mom & Dad, is a bad parent. Never once did they say that. What they DO say is that you have to follow your gut. What works for one family might not work for another. Even in the same family, what works for one child, might not work for another. There are no cookie cutter situations. THAT'S what the Searses say. They say that happy parents will make for happier kids, no matter what the parents choose to do (e.g. if a mom is stressed and unhappy breastfeeding, then it's better both for parent & baby for the baby to be bottlefed...if the parents are miserable with having baby in bed, then they're definitely all better off with baby in a crib, etc.) For us, some attachment parenting is what worked. The whole 'leave 'em in the playpen, let them cry it out, don't breastfeed too long or hold them too much because it'll all make them clingy' mentality is what stressed us out. NOT the idea that it's okay and good to hold our child a lot and that it really was acceptable for me to breastfeed our child for two years. So, I give the highest recommendations. The Searses might have beliefs about parenting that are grounded in their own experience and exposure, but they are understanding that not all their choices in parenting are what would work for others. Anyone who thinks that they don't recognize, and aren't respectful of parents doing what is right for them (regardless of whether it follows their recommendations) and for their families clearly didn't REALLY read what the Searses were trying to say. It's an EXCELLE

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you want to feel guilty, buy this book!

This book just added to my anxiety level as a new mother. It's expectations of parents are so high, that you feel bad if you let your baby cry for even a minute! Dr. Sears and his wife expect you to 'wear your baby' around all the time. It doesn't seem like a realist...
This book just added to my anxiety level as a new mother. It's expectations of parents are so high, that you feel bad if you let your baby cry for even a minute! Dr. Sears and his wife expect you to 'wear your baby' around all the time. It doesn't seem like a realistic approach to parenthood. If you want to feel guilty about what you're not doing correctly, read this book. Otherwise, love your baby and do the best you can without this book!

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    A Mom Who Wore Out Her First Copy

    We bought our first copy of this book in 1996. I used it so much that the cover has fallen off and the book is in pieces, so I am planning on buying a replacement copy, as we are finally being blessed with a second child. I'm even getting a copy for one of my husband's sisters, who had a baby in May and always has lots of questions and concerns about what is okay and what is normal. It is hands-down the best, most loving, reasonable reference guide out there. You can look up just about anything and find it in there. The book addresses labor & delivery, tests, infant development, health questions, feeding questions, etc., etc., etc. Unlike the two people who had negative opinions of this book, I have nothing but glowing praise for it. YES the Searses advocate a certain kind of parenting, but that is simply the result of years of raising eight of their own children, including one adopted and one with Downs Syndrome (most of whom are now adults)...trying the 'old school' ways that well-meaning people had taught them... and knowledge that grew from Dr. Sears being a well-respected pediatrician who has really paid attention to his patients and their families. For those who think that attachment parenting will only make your child clingy, that opinion is really not right at all. This book was a relief to me, because I knew that some 'old school' advice was what stressed me out...what set off alarms in me (letting my baby cry himself to sleep being one of them). I loved this book because it put into writing the type of parenting we were hoping to do. The theory that meeting your child's needs, being affectionate, anticipating a hunger cry, etc. will make him/her more secure and independent, rather than clingy, is what we've found. We have an INCREDIBLY independent, smart, happy child. I'm sure if he'd spent his early years crying it out, then he'd be pretty clingy now. In fact, I've known some families who have adhered to the 'let them cry or they'll control you' mentality, and their children have been the ones who I've noticed are clingy, whiny and insecure. The thing about the Searses is that while they advocate certain things, they are completely understanding and supportive of parents making the choices that work for them. They NEVER said that someone who bottlefeeds instead of breastfeeds, or someone who really prefers for baby to be in a crib rather than being in bed with Mom & Dad, is a bad parent. Never once did they say that. What they DO say is that you have to follow your gut. What works for one family might not work for another. Even in the same family, what works for one child, might not work for another. There are no cookie cutter situations. THAT'S what the Searses say. They say that happy parents will make for happier kids, no matter what the parents choose to do (e.g. if a mom is stressed and unhappy breastfeeding, then it's better both for parent & baby for the baby to be bottlefed...if the parents are miserable with having baby in bed, then they're definitely all better off with baby in a crib, etc.) For us, some attachment parenting is what worked. The whole 'leave 'em in the playpen, let them cry it out, don't breastfeed too long or hold them too much because it'll all make them clingy' mentality is what stressed us out. NOT the idea that it's okay and good to hold our child a lot and that it really was acceptable for me to breastfeed our child for two years. So, I give the highest recommendations. The Searses might have beliefs about parenting that are grounded in their own experience and exposure, but they are understanding that not all their choices in parenting are what would work for others. Anyone who thinks that they don't recognize, and aren't respectful of parents doing what is right for them (regardless of whether it follows their recommendations) and for their families clearly didn't REALLY read what the Searses were trying to say. It's an EXCELLE

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    The "Drive Yourself Crazy" review below is COMPLETELY

    The "Drive Yourself Crazy" review below is COMPLETELY WRONG. Obviously the person writing it had no personal experience with attachment parenting but simply theorized that obnoxious kids were the result of attachment parenting which is exactly the opposite. My son was an incredibly well-behaved child who was the opposite of insecure and he's now a high-achieving teenager who was advanced a year in school and is now preparing for a school year abroad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very informative!

    I bought this book in anticipation of my first child... Now that she is here, I find it to be a helpful reference for many of my smaller questions. The only drawback I found was the lack of situations dealing with premature babies, of which I am a parent. Otherwise, it is truly helpful and I plan on keeping it handy for babies in the future.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Have A Baby? Get This Book

    I consider this book a great resource and reference. There's good advice here on many subjects and it should come in handy, especially for first-time mommies. Temper the book with your own beliefs and common sense. You'll be successful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Every parent should get this book!

    Anytime I have concerns about my baby I can find answers in this book. It has a special section for high-need babies which was just the information we needed and couln't find anywhere else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    This Book is the Best!!

    I used a 1990's edition of this book to help me raise my two children. Both turned out just great! I had even written one of the authors, who responded with a lengthy letter and included her phone number. I did end up calling and Martha Sears couldn't have been more helpful. Jam-packed with common sense and great tips. I buy these books for expectant mothers now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Awesome book

    <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    EVERYBODY!

    This is a baby book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Liz

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Isabel

    Like what?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    I10

    What

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    First time Mom Loves

    I was given this book as a gift at my baby shower. I have found this book so helpful. I brought home my premature daughter and had found that I had tons of simple questions that I needed answers or reassurance about what I was doing. This book has been great and resourceful. I think everyone should have a copy of this book in their collection. These authors are proponets of the attachment parenting method, which I practice, but even if you are not the general medical information will be very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    my baby bible

    This is a must-have for every new mom. There is great information about every baby related topic you can think of. If you are debating about whether or not to purchase this book, go ahead, do it...you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    It became my go-to book

    It is because of THIS book that I know my son so well now (he is 14 months now) and I still use it for sooooo many things still (ear infections, dosage of Tylenol, tips on things to feed him,... etc).

    For the first 4 months after my son was born, I had the book with me at all times. My son had reflux, and it is because of this book that we identified it.

    I follow pretty much every advice they give, and it has worked GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Love this book!

    One of the best and most informative books I have read. I have a 5 and 1/2 month baby boy, and have learned a lot about his development. It is like my "Bible."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Wonderful book. A necessity in a baby-related library.

    I have used this book over the years and still find it to be interesting, informative, and convenient regarding specific topic searches. I have recommended this book and have even given it to friends when they became pregnant. I truly prefer this book other my other baby-related books (and we have quite a collection).

    So A+ for this excellent resource :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Our "go-to" baby resource

    This is a fantastic comprehensive resource for parents-to-be and new parents. The Sears' style is easy and enjoyable to read. Provides good preparatory information, good info on breastfeeding (as well as bottle feeding and solid foods), stage-by-stage developmental information, easy-to-reference section on common childhood illnesses (including what to do) and an overall holistic guide to parenting your infant/toddler. A great resource on attachment parenting and treating your baby like a growing person with feelings, not an animal to be trained. The emphasis throughout is on developing a healthy relationship with your child that will enable your child to feel secure and loved so he or she can go forth to discover, explore and grow to his or her potential. A great gift for new parents (gets dad in the act, too!). Great resource for adoptive and foster parents, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Best Baby Reference Book Ever!

    I LOVED this book. I nicknamed it, "The Baby Bible", because my husband and I lived by it for a little over a year. Not only is there great general information, this book can also be used as a reference book to solve almost any question / problem a new parent may have. It's easy to use and fun to read. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Love this book!

    I LOVE this book. It helped me a lot with my first child and I'm sure I'll refer to it again with my second. I did not follow the attachment parenting method, but still got a LOT of good information out of this book. This book has a lot of great charts in it for development milestones and disease/illness symptoms. Also simpler stuff like umbilical cord care and diaper rash. It really is the child-care bible!! I recommend it to anyone having a baby!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    Wonderful book!

    I purchased this book shortly before my first child was born. The first few months I referred to this book several times a week 'sometimes a day!!!'. Two years later, I still use it for information and give it to all the new moms I know. Great baby shower gift one they can really use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4