Customer Reviews for

The Baby Book, Revised Edition: Everything You Need to Know About Your Baby from Birth to Age Two

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Mom Who Wore Out Her First Copy

We bought our first copy of this book in 1996. I used it so much that the cover has fallen off and the book is in pieces, so I am planning on buying a replacement copy, as we are finally being blessed with a second child. I'm even getting a copy for one of my husband'...
We bought our first copy of this book in 1996. I used it so much that the cover has fallen off and the book is in pieces, so I am planning on buying a replacement copy, as we are finally being blessed with a second child. I'm even getting a copy for one of my husband's sisters, who had a baby in May and always has lots of questions and concerns about what is okay and what is normal. It is hands-down the best, most loving, reasonable reference guide out there. You can look up just about anything and find it in there. The book addresses labor & delivery, tests, infant development, health questions, feeding questions, etc., etc., etc. Unlike the two people who had negative opinions of this book, I have nothing but glowing praise for it. YES the Searses advocate a certain kind of parenting, but that is simply the result of years of raising eight of their own children, including one adopted and one with Downs Syndrome (most of whom are now adults)...trying the 'old school' ways that well-meaning people had taught them... and knowledge that grew from Dr. Sears being a well-respected pediatrician who has really paid attention to his patients and their families. For those who think that attachment parenting will only make your child clingy, that opinion is really not right at all. This book was a relief to me, because I knew that some 'old school' advice was what stressed me out...what set off alarms in me (letting my baby cry himself to sleep being one of them). I loved this book because it put into writing the type of parenting we were hoping to do. The theory that meeting your child's needs, being affectionate, anticipating a hunger cry, etc. will make him/her more secure and independent, rather than clingy, is what we've found. We have an INCREDIBLY independent, smart, happy child. I'm sure if he'd spent his early years crying it out, then he'd be pretty clingy now. In fact, I've known some families who have adhered to the 'let them cry or they'll control you' mentality, and their children have been the ones who I've noticed are clingy, whiny and insecure. The thing about the Searses is that while they advocate certain things, they are completely understanding and supportive of parents making the choices that work for them. They NEVER said that someone who bottlefeeds instead of breastfeeds, or someone who really prefers for baby to be in a crib rather than being in bed with Mom & Dad, is a bad parent. Never once did they say that. What they DO say is that you have to follow your gut. What works for one family might not work for another. Even in the same family, what works for one child, might not work for another. There are no cookie cutter situations. THAT'S what the Searses say. They say that happy parents will make for happier kids, no matter what the parents choose to do (e.g. if a mom is stressed and unhappy breastfeeding, then it's better both for parent & baby for the baby to be bottlefed...if the parents are miserable with having baby in bed, then they're definitely all better off with baby in a crib, etc.) For us, some attachment parenting is what worked. The whole 'leave 'em in the playpen, let them cry it out, don't breastfeed too long or hold them too much because it'll all make them clingy' mentality is what stressed us out. NOT the idea that it's okay and good to hold our child a lot and that it really was acceptable for me to breastfeed our child for two years. So, I give the highest recommendations. The Searses might have beliefs about parenting that are grounded in their own experience and exposure, but they are understanding that not all their choices in parenting are what would work for others. Anyone who thinks that they don't recognize, and aren't respectful of parents doing what is right for them (regardless of whether it follows their recommendations) and for their families clearly didn't REALLY read what the Searses were trying to say. It's an EXCELLE

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you want to feel guilty, buy this book!

This book just added to my anxiety level as a new mother. It's expectations of parents are so high, that you feel bad if you let your baby cry for even a minute! Dr. Sears and his wife expect you to 'wear your baby' around all the time. It doesn't seem like a realist...
This book just added to my anxiety level as a new mother. It's expectations of parents are so high, that you feel bad if you let your baby cry for even a minute! Dr. Sears and his wife expect you to 'wear your baby' around all the time. It doesn't seem like a realistic approach to parenthood. If you want to feel guilty about what you're not doing correctly, read this book. Otherwise, love your baby and do the best you can without this book!

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    Great Book for Having Your First Child

    This is a wonderful book. I was so worry about being a new mom and the do's and don't with the baby. This book taught me to just use my instinct instead. The Attachment parenting style has created a wonderful bond between my baby and I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2007

    The best baby book!

    This book was like my bible when my son was little. I still go to it for reference sometimes. There is alot of great information. I feel that it is a must-have for new parents!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    A gift for my new nephew

    This book is my baby bible, and I am buying another for my brother. I have two kids ages 5 & 1, and I find this book to be the ONE resource I return to for everything. I am a huge fan of Dr. Sears and enjoyed The Pregnancy Book and Attachment Parenting. I highly recommend this book for any new parent. It really honors intuitive styles of parenting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    The Best Gift to a New Mom

    I purchased this book when I had my first child 9 years ago. I've given it as a gift to friends and family over the years as well. It answers a lot of common questions and is a great reference for new moms (and more experienced moms, too!). I purchased the revised edition for myself and really like the updated information presented. I refer to this book like I would a medical reference and consult this book before I make a call to the doctor. I highly recommend this book and have found it useful even after the birth of my fourth child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    It's based on sound psychology

    I was so thrilled to read this book when my first little one came along! Sears' advice puts much of the language of the psychology of human development (object relations theory, for example) into practical, real, relevant terms that will help any parent understand how critical that early bonding time is between a child and his or her primary caregiver. In a society where many of the practices of healthy attachment and bonding are still frowned upon and ignoring a child's needs is defined as 'teaching independence,' this book is an important voice of encouragement for all parents. I've given it as a baby gift to my expecting friends, and they've all LOVED it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    This book is a must have

    I loved this book so much we bought it in bulk and gave it to all our friends for their baby showers. This book is so positive and gives great information. Dr. Sears is a pediatrician and a father of 8 so he has many real life experiences to back up this book. So many people have commented on how great my baby is and I owe some of that to the guidance from this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Endless supply of information

    This book is HUGE - 770 pages - and provides a tremendous amount of information for parents of babies. The index is very complete and helps you find what you are looking for. The chronological arrangement is helpful when you have time to ponder the many aspects of parenthood. I'd definitely pair this up with Gentle Baby Care by Pantley which is also a big book but set up in a simpler A to Z style for looking up your daily issue and gaining quick and accurate answers and insight. These two books are all you need to get you through the first two years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    The Attachment Parent's Baby Care Bible

    This is a great reference book for an advocate of natural or attachment parenting. It contains answers and good advice on just about everything you could want to know about caring for your baby or toddler. Most importlantly, it supports a parent's confidence in his or her own abilities and instincts. The online course, 'Baby Care: Newborn to One Year,' at Suite University (suite101.com/suiteu) uses this book as its text and bases many of its lessons on Dr. Sears's attachment parenting approach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    Excellent!

    THIS is parenting the right way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    This book saved my life!

    I give this book 5 stars, plus one!! Dr. Sears' 'The Baby Book' was one of the best things I could have around to help me care for my son, who is now seven months old. People comment on how well-adjusted he is and how calm he is and of course they notice he is is the sling, as I 'wear' my baby. This frees my hands to do many tasks and my son loves it. Also, the advice Dr. Sears gives for breastfeeding is EXCEPTIONAL as I had a lot of problems nursing my baby in the first 2 weeks of our life together. My babe nurses great now and I am glad Dr. Sears had such wonderful tips and uplifting words to help me through. Dr. Sears' comments gave me peace of mind regarding all the care a child needs. But he emphasizes that no fancy gadgets or doodads (my words) will give your child what he or she truly needs...which is your love! It can be overwhelming to be a parent sometimes, but I highly recommend it....and this book can help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    BEST book on Babies..EVER!

    Unfortunately, some previous reviews are misinformed and highly uneducated. If you want a pleasant and happy baby, follow what is in this book, and ask parents that have also. AS opposed to abuse of children by not holding them and letting them cry it out for hours on end, this book shows you a way to parent from the heart. Dr. Sears and his wife not only know their stuff,they have used it (they have 8 kids). As a Childbirth Educator and birth professional this book ranks on my top 5 list of must have books. It is concise and thorough as are their other books. If you are going to buy one book on babies, buy this one, and leave the uneducated and misinformed reviews to those that don't have a clue..they do not know what they are talking about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    A MUST HAVE FOR ALL PARENTS!

    Hooray for Dr. Sears! This EXCELLENT book will help you take care of your baby in the best possible way, the way nature intended. I have been using all of the techniques he discusses in his book with my now two-year-old son (learned from this and other Sears' books and by following my instincts) and we have the most wonderful relationship. He trusts me, he's healthy and strong, and he's happy. He's enjoys bedtime (as he sleeps w/Mom & Dad) and knows that his needs will always be met. He rarely has tantrums because he understands his boundaries are for his own benefit and respects that we want what's best for him. Our world would be so much more harmonious if all parents practiced this style of parenting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Great resource

    This is a fantastic resource for parents. Not only does it contain information about baby basics such as development and caring for a sick child, but it also contains valuable information about compassionate parenting. The Sears' encourage parents to follow their instincts and to not be intimidated by the advice of others who do not know their baby. The Sears' stress the importance of finding a style that parents are comfortable with while nurturing and meeting baby's needs. This is a terrific book that contains practical, caring advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    way to go dr. sears!

    If you believe in attachment parenting this book will give you lots of info to support your decision to parent in this loving manner. It will give you the tools you need and the info you need to know in order to have well adjusted, well behaved (keeping in mind they will act their age), empathetic children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    A must have for new parents, the proof is in the pudding!

    I was given this book when my oldest was a baby, and now I keep several copies on hand to give whenever I go to a baby shower. Dr. Sears is a long time pediatrician, his wife a pediatric nurse and together they have 8 children, so the advice given in the book comes from years of experience both personally and professionally. The book explains how to create a secure environment for your baby from birth so they will develop into strong, independent, happy children. I followed most all of the principles in this book, including breastfeedindg on demand, extended breastfeeding, childwearing, and family bed. My daughters, now two and four sleep in their own beds at night, never have nightmares, and are happy and independent during the day. If you see a family in a restaurant with whining cranky kids whose parents can't control them, you're probably witnessing children at their wits end from being constantly passed off to strangers, and parents who can't cope because they've spent too little time with their kids to know how to handle them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    The Ultimate Owner's Manual!

    This book has so many wonderful and wise answers to questions we all have as our babies grow. I have a 3-year-old and she slept in our bed for 2 and 1/2 years. Contrary to what critics say, so-sleeping, baby-wearing and breastfeeding on demand do not produce insecure, needy children. Quite the opposite. My daughter has a self-assurance and independence that I firmly believe comes directly from the principals of parenting that Dr. Sears espouses and to which we adhered. I cannot recommend this book enough and I give it as a gift to all the moms and moms-to-be that I know! Lucinda Coumou

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    The BEST baby book that there is!!!

    Everything I ever needed to know was in this book. My children are happy and well-adjusted. As a first grade teacher, every day I see what happens when children are not given enough attention. Those parents that still want to live their 'own' lives are making one of the biggest mistakes of their lives. Dr. Sears has written many books to help parents realize the importance of parental involvement. More parents need to raise their children as he advocates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Parenting at its Best!!!

    The Baby Book is my parenting bible! Dr. Sears provides a natural, instinctive model for parenting - one that rejects 'mainstream' models that allow a baby to cry it out and force independece at a much too early age. Instead, Dr. Sears presents a nurturing way to parent - one that grants the child respect for his/her needs (not the convenience of the parent). I am proud to raise my children by Dr. Sears' model and am certain that attachment parenting will allow my children to develop into secure, independent, and loving adults - which is more than many of us can hope for in this day and age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    A book that considers the baby

    Finally, a book that takes into account that babies are people with their own personalities and needs. There is no one-size-fits-all answer to parenting. I loved that this book tells parents to trust their instincts and to take their cues from the baby. I discovered the Sears' book on parenting a high-needs child when my oldest was born. She is now a wonderful, bright, independent, empathetic, loving, polite, well behaved, secure and self-confident 4 year old. I think the fact that her emotional and physical needs were met from the beginning only helped her become such a joy to be with today. I read 'The Baby Book' when my second child was born. As a parent, I find it very empowering to trust my instincts and do what feels so natural--responding to my children and their needs. I recommend this book to all new parents. It's a great shower gift, especially if accompanied by a sling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    The most daddy-friendly manual ever

    I have followed Dr. Sears' 'attachment parenting' approach for the past two years with my first son, and it's wonderful. Despite initial warnings from others that it was a 'demanding' approach, I find it overall to be much easier than the traditional methods. Co-sleeping makes _everyone_ sleep better. Baby-wearing in a sling is by far the easiest way to carry and comfort a child; more importantly, it makes the it possible for me (the daddy) to be much more intimately involved with my son. When I hear of other parents quailing over listening to a child scream for his mother at night, or bemoan the lack of sleep, I marvel at how they can tell me the AP approach is 'more demanding'. It's not!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4