Customer Reviews for

The Baby Book, Revised Edition: Everything You Need to Know About Your Baby from Birth to Age Two

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Mom Who Wore Out Her First Copy

We bought our first copy of this book in 1996. I used it so much that the cover has fallen off and the book is in pieces, so I am planning on buying a replacement copy, as we are finally being blessed with a second child. I'm even getting a copy for one of my husband'...
We bought our first copy of this book in 1996. I used it so much that the cover has fallen off and the book is in pieces, so I am planning on buying a replacement copy, as we are finally being blessed with a second child. I'm even getting a copy for one of my husband's sisters, who had a baby in May and always has lots of questions and concerns about what is okay and what is normal. It is hands-down the best, most loving, reasonable reference guide out there. You can look up just about anything and find it in there. The book addresses labor & delivery, tests, infant development, health questions, feeding questions, etc., etc., etc. Unlike the two people who had negative opinions of this book, I have nothing but glowing praise for it. YES the Searses advocate a certain kind of parenting, but that is simply the result of years of raising eight of their own children, including one adopted and one with Downs Syndrome (most of whom are now adults)...trying the 'old school' ways that well-meaning people had taught them... and knowledge that grew from Dr. Sears being a well-respected pediatrician who has really paid attention to his patients and their families. For those who think that attachment parenting will only make your child clingy, that opinion is really not right at all. This book was a relief to me, because I knew that some 'old school' advice was what stressed me out...what set off alarms in me (letting my baby cry himself to sleep being one of them). I loved this book because it put into writing the type of parenting we were hoping to do. The theory that meeting your child's needs, being affectionate, anticipating a hunger cry, etc. will make him/her more secure and independent, rather than clingy, is what we've found. We have an INCREDIBLY independent, smart, happy child. I'm sure if he'd spent his early years crying it out, then he'd be pretty clingy now. In fact, I've known some families who have adhered to the 'let them cry or they'll control you' mentality, and their children have been the ones who I've noticed are clingy, whiny and insecure. The thing about the Searses is that while they advocate certain things, they are completely understanding and supportive of parents making the choices that work for them. They NEVER said that someone who bottlefeeds instead of breastfeeds, or someone who really prefers for baby to be in a crib rather than being in bed with Mom & Dad, is a bad parent. Never once did they say that. What they DO say is that you have to follow your gut. What works for one family might not work for another. Even in the same family, what works for one child, might not work for another. There are no cookie cutter situations. THAT'S what the Searses say. They say that happy parents will make for happier kids, no matter what the parents choose to do (e.g. if a mom is stressed and unhappy breastfeeding, then it's better both for parent & baby for the baby to be bottlefed...if the parents are miserable with having baby in bed, then they're definitely all better off with baby in a crib, etc.) For us, some attachment parenting is what worked. The whole 'leave 'em in the playpen, let them cry it out, don't breastfeed too long or hold them too much because it'll all make them clingy' mentality is what stressed us out. NOT the idea that it's okay and good to hold our child a lot and that it really was acceptable for me to breastfeed our child for two years. So, I give the highest recommendations. The Searses might have beliefs about parenting that are grounded in their own experience and exposure, but they are understanding that not all their choices in parenting are what would work for others. Anyone who thinks that they don't recognize, and aren't respectful of parents doing what is right for them (regardless of whether it follows their recommendations) and for their families clearly didn't REALLY read what the Searses were trying to say. It's an EXCELLE

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you want to feel guilty, buy this book!

This book just added to my anxiety level as a new mother. It's expectations of parents are so high, that you feel bad if you let your baby cry for even a minute! Dr. Sears and his wife expect you to 'wear your baby' around all the time. It doesn't seem like a realist...
This book just added to my anxiety level as a new mother. It's expectations of parents are so high, that you feel bad if you let your baby cry for even a minute! Dr. Sears and his wife expect you to 'wear your baby' around all the time. It doesn't seem like a realistic approach to parenthood. If you want to feel guilty about what you're not doing correctly, read this book. Otherwise, love your baby and do the best you can without this book!

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    my baby bible

    This is a must-have for every new mom. There is great information about every baby related topic you can think of. If you are debating about whether or not to purchase this book, go ahead, do it...you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    It became my go-to book

    It is because of THIS book that I know my son so well now (he is 14 months now) and I still use it for sooooo many things still (ear infections, dosage of Tylenol, tips on things to feed him,... etc).

    For the first 4 months after my son was born, I had the book with me at all times. My son had reflux, and it is because of this book that we identified it.

    I follow pretty much every advice they give, and it has worked GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Love this book!

    One of the best and most informative books I have read. I have a 5 and 1/2 month baby boy, and have learned a lot about his development. It is like my "Bible."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Wonderful book. A necessity in a baby-related library.

    I have used this book over the years and still find it to be interesting, informative, and convenient regarding specific topic searches. I have recommended this book and have even given it to friends when they became pregnant. I truly prefer this book other my other baby-related books (and we have quite a collection).

    So A+ for this excellent resource :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Our "go-to" baby resource

    This is a fantastic comprehensive resource for parents-to-be and new parents. The Sears' style is easy and enjoyable to read. Provides good preparatory information, good info on breastfeeding (as well as bottle feeding and solid foods), stage-by-stage developmental information, easy-to-reference section on common childhood illnesses (including what to do) and an overall holistic guide to parenting your infant/toddler. A great resource on attachment parenting and treating your baby like a growing person with feelings, not an animal to be trained. The emphasis throughout is on developing a healthy relationship with your child that will enable your child to feel secure and loved so he or she can go forth to discover, explore and grow to his or her potential. A great gift for new parents (gets dad in the act, too!). Great resource for adoptive and foster parents, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Best Baby Reference Book Ever!

    I LOVED this book. I nicknamed it, "The Baby Bible", because my husband and I lived by it for a little over a year. Not only is there great general information, this book can also be used as a reference book to solve almost any question / problem a new parent may have. It's easy to use and fun to read. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Love this book!

    I LOVE this book. It helped me a lot with my first child and I'm sure I'll refer to it again with my second. I did not follow the attachment parenting method, but still got a LOT of good information out of this book. This book has a lot of great charts in it for development milestones and disease/illness symptoms. Also simpler stuff like umbilical cord care and diaper rash. It really is the child-care bible!! I recommend it to anyone having a baby!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    Wonderful book!

    I purchased this book shortly before my first child was born. The first few months I referred to this book several times a week 'sometimes a day!!!'. Two years later, I still use it for information and give it to all the new moms I know. Great baby shower gift one they can really use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    This book WILL drive you crazy!!

    For the most part, I like this book and the idea of attachment parenting, but, it is so unrealistic. Dr. Sears believes that all child ailments have to do with wearing your child. You really have to be into the 'touchy-feely' method of raising your child. AND, have a LOT of time solely devoted to doing just that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    Great Book for Having Your First Child

    This is a wonderful book. I was so worry about being a new mom and the do's and don't with the baby. This book taught me to just use my instinct instead. The Attachment parenting style has created a wonderful bond between my baby and I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2007

    The best baby book!

    This book was like my bible when my son was little. I still go to it for reference sometimes. There is alot of great information. I feel that it is a must-have for new parents!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    A gift for my new nephew

    This book is my baby bible, and I am buying another for my brother. I have two kids ages 5 & 1, and I find this book to be the ONE resource I return to for everything. I am a huge fan of Dr. Sears and enjoyed The Pregnancy Book and Attachment Parenting. I highly recommend this book for any new parent. It really honors intuitive styles of parenting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Tons of Information!

    This book is very easy to use! The information is relevant. Has tons of great info!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    The Best Gift to a New Mom

    I purchased this book when I had my first child 9 years ago. I've given it as a gift to friends and family over the years as well. It answers a lot of common questions and is a great reference for new moms (and more experienced moms, too!). I purchased the revised edition for myself and really like the updated information presented. I refer to this book like I would a medical reference and consult this book before I make a call to the doctor. I highly recommend this book and have found it useful even after the birth of my fourth child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    It's based on sound psychology

    I was so thrilled to read this book when my first little one came along! Sears' advice puts much of the language of the psychology of human development (object relations theory, for example) into practical, real, relevant terms that will help any parent understand how critical that early bonding time is between a child and his or her primary caregiver. In a society where many of the practices of healthy attachment and bonding are still frowned upon and ignoring a child's needs is defined as 'teaching independence,' this book is an important voice of encouragement for all parents. I've given it as a baby gift to my expecting friends, and they've all LOVED it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    This book is a must have

    I loved this book so much we bought it in bulk and gave it to all our friends for their baby showers. This book is so positive and gives great information. Dr. Sears is a pediatrician and a father of 8 so he has many real life experiences to back up this book. So many people have commented on how great my baby is and I owe some of that to the guidance from this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Endless supply of information

    This book is HUGE - 770 pages - and provides a tremendous amount of information for parents of babies. The index is very complete and helps you find what you are looking for. The chronological arrangement is helpful when you have time to ponder the many aspects of parenthood. I'd definitely pair this up with Gentle Baby Care by Pantley which is also a big book but set up in a simpler A to Z style for looking up your daily issue and gaining quick and accurate answers and insight. These two books are all you need to get you through the first two years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    The Attachment Parent's Baby Care Bible

    This is a great reference book for an advocate of natural or attachment parenting. It contains answers and good advice on just about everything you could want to know about caring for your baby or toddler. Most importlantly, it supports a parent's confidence in his or her own abilities and instincts. The online course, 'Baby Care: Newborn to One Year,' at Suite University (suite101.com/suiteu) uses this book as its text and bases many of its lessons on Dr. Sears's attachment parenting approach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    Excellent!

    THIS is parenting the right way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    This book saved my life!

    I give this book 5 stars, plus one!! Dr. Sears' 'The Baby Book' was one of the best things I could have around to help me care for my son, who is now seven months old. People comment on how well-adjusted he is and how calm he is and of course they notice he is is the sling, as I 'wear' my baby. This frees my hands to do many tasks and my son loves it. Also, the advice Dr. Sears gives for breastfeeding is EXCEPTIONAL as I had a lot of problems nursing my baby in the first 2 weeks of our life together. My babe nurses great now and I am glad Dr. Sears had such wonderful tips and uplifting words to help me through. Dr. Sears' comments gave me peace of mind regarding all the care a child needs. But he emphasizes that no fancy gadgets or doodads (my words) will give your child what he or she truly needs...which is your love! It can be overwhelming to be a parent sometimes, but I highly recommend it....and this book can help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6