Customer Reviews for

Baby Bumps: The Almost, Barely, Not-Quite-True Story of Pregnancy, Bed Rest and One Batshit Crazy Family

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complication

This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complications and ironic situations, but instead of crying about her plight, the main character, Annie, makes us laugh – both with her and at her. Annie and her husband, Jake, are in the middle of rehabbing their...
This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complications and ironic situations, but instead of crying about her plight, the main character, Annie, makes us laugh – both with her and at her. Annie and her husband, Jake, are in the middle of rehabbing their house when they find out unexpectedly that she has a serious problem with her pregnancy. While she’s on bed rest, Annie’s mom moves with them and her husband goes on a snowboarding trip (I would strangle my husband if he did this to me!). I won’t give away too much, but Annie eventually goes into labor and like the rest of the story, it’s not what you would expect. I thought this was a fun read and would recommend it to anyone who likes stories about pregnancy and motherhood.

posted by TexasMomma1 on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Most selfish mother in history

This book was disgusting. I have NEVER heard of a woman crowing about "what she did" when her child was born instead of asking if the baby was all right. This book was 110% about the selfish, shallow mother and 0.01% about the baby. With so many women desperately wantin...
This book was disgusting. I have NEVER heard of a woman crowing about "what she did" when her child was born instead of asking if the baby was all right. This book was 110% about the selfish, shallow mother and 0.01% about the baby. With so many women desperately wanting a child, shame on this person for her incredibly selfish and self absorbed attitude. Deleting this piece of crap immediately.

posted by Bijou1313 on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complication

    This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complications and ironic situations, but instead of crying about her plight, the main character, Annie, makes us laugh – both with her and at her. Annie and her husband, Jake, are in the middle of rehabbing their house when they find out unexpectedly that she has a serious problem with her pregnancy. While she’s on bed rest, Annie’s mom moves with them and her husband goes on a snowboarding trip (I would strangle my husband if he did this to me!). I won’t give away too much, but Annie eventually goes into labor and like the rest of the story, it’s not what you would expect. I thought this was a fun read and would recommend it to anyone who likes stories about pregnancy and motherhood.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Fabulous read from a first time (but not last time) author! Thi

    Fabulous read from a first time (but not last time) author! This hilarious and mostly true story of pregnancy complications will have you laughing out loud - I read it in one sitting it was so good! A definite must for anyone who has been pregnant, is pregnant, or wants to get the real nitty gritty on high risk pregnancy in the funniest way possible! Don't miss!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    This is a must-read! I woke my husband as I laughed outloud read

    This is a must-read! I woke my husband as I laughed outloud reading this funny, fast-paced book late into the night. The dialogue is hilarious. I hope Amy Sprenger writes a sequel...I want to know how Annie, Jake, and that miracle baby, Jack, continue their crazy life.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Most selfish mother in history

    This book was disgusting. I have NEVER heard of a woman crowing about "what she did" when her child was born instead of asking if the baby was all right. This book was 110% about the selfish, shallow mother and 0.01% about the baby. With so many women desperately wanting a child, shame on this person for her incredibly selfish and self absorbed attitude. Deleting this piece of crap immediately.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Excellent, entertaining and hilarious!

    I highly enjoyed this book for start to end! It was a quick read that kept me laughing out loud. I had to stop and read several hysterical lines to my husband. Amy is a very talented writer and I can't wait to see what is next by her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I am currently going through a problem pregnancy and this hit ho

    I am currently going through a problem pregnancy and this hit home with me. Amy Sprenger manages to make something scary seem funny. This book was a great distraction during my own bedrest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Great Read!!!

    What a great book! Laughed out loud at so many points along the way. :-)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great book

    I never wanred to put it down. It made me laugh out loud several times. I can't wait for the next one!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Good read

    N\T

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Baby Bumps

    Get ready to laugh as you work your way through Annie's high risk pregnancy. As a mom who experienced every single challenge as she, minus the "incompetent cervix", I found myself reliving my last pregnancy 16 years ago. Her rendition was right on and she shared it in a entertaining and humerous way. Finishing the book today, (it is a rewarding short read), I too was wondering how her next two pregnancies progressed and what has happened since Jack entered the world. I checked out her blog and found it to be upbeat and entertaining as well. Annie - here is hoping that you break into the top B&N 100 list. Thanks for taking me down memory lane.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I loved this book. I read it in one night and couldn't put it do

    I loved this book. I read it in one night and couldn't put it down. It was hilarious and snarky and all the things that you would expect after reading SnarkyMommy. This is my new go to gift for my pregnant friends, or my slutty friends who are soon to be pregnant :) This is a must read- except that it will scare the crap out of you when thinking about childbirth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Laugh out loud

    I've been reading the author's blog for quite a while now and I knew that I'd enjoy this book - I found myself having to explain to my husband why I was laughing. It was a great quick read and I hope there's more where this came from.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Read this book in two days and liked it. I went and looked up th

    Read this book in two days and liked it. I went and looked up the author’s blog after finishing the book and spent several hours laughing as I scrolled through her archives. Do yourself a favor and check out

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    I have been a fan of Amy’s blog for many years. As someone

    I have been a fan of Amy’s blog for many years. As someone who read about the pregnancy problems when they were happening, it made me laugh out loud to remember some of the crazier stuff. Amy does a great job bringing her voice to the story and making readers laugh.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    This fast, funny read is great for moms-to-be or new moms who li

    This fast, funny read is great for moms-to-be or new moms who like a good laugh about their now forgotten pregnancy trials.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Liked this book. Could have used more backstory, but it was a fu

    Liked this book. Could have used more backstory, but it was a fun read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    I have followed this author’s blog for a few months now an

    I have followed this author’s blog for a few months now and was so excited to finally get my hands on her book. Her book is as funny as her blog – which isn’t always the case when mom bloggers try to write books. Can’t wait for the next one!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Who says chick lit is dead? Amy Sprenger’s “Baby Bum

    Who says chick lit is dead? Amy Sprenger’s “Baby Bumps” combines the humorous with the sad and manages to make stressful situations seem somehow lighthearted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Loved this fast-paced read. If you're about to be a mom (or even

    Loved this fast-paced read. If you're about to be a mom (or even if you're not), you should check it out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    I followed SnarkMommy's blog for years and was so excited to fin

    I followed SnarkMommy's blog for years and was so excited to find this book available already. I stayed up late reading and wasn't disappointed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2