Customer Reviews for

Baby Bumps: The Almost, Barely, Not-Quite-True Story of Pregnancy, Bed Rest and One Batshit Crazy Family

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complication

This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complications and ironic situations, but instead of crying about her plight, the main character, Annie, makes us laugh – both with her and at her. Annie and her husband, Jake, are in the middle of rehabbing their...
This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complications and ironic situations, but instead of crying about her plight, the main character, Annie, makes us laugh – both with her and at her. Annie and her husband, Jake, are in the middle of rehabbing their house when they find out unexpectedly that she has a serious problem with her pregnancy. While she’s on bed rest, Annie’s mom moves with them and her husband goes on a snowboarding trip (I would strangle my husband if he did this to me!). I won’t give away too much, but Annie eventually goes into labor and like the rest of the story, it’s not what you would expect. I thought this was a fun read and would recommend it to anyone who likes stories about pregnancy and motherhood.

posted by TexasMomma1 on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Most selfish mother in history

This book was disgusting. I have NEVER heard of a woman crowing about "what she did" when her child was born instead of asking if the baby was all right. This book was 110% about the selfish, shallow mother and 0.01% about the baby. With so many women desperately wantin...
This book was disgusting. I have NEVER heard of a woman crowing about "what she did" when her child was born instead of asking if the baby was all right. This book was 110% about the selfish, shallow mother and 0.01% about the baby. With so many women desperately wanting a child, shame on this person for her incredibly selfish and self absorbed attitude. Deleting this piece of crap immediately.

posted by Bijou1313 on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Fabulous read from a first time (but not last time) author! Thi

    Fabulous read from a first time (but not last time) author! This hilarious and mostly true story of pregnancy complications will have you laughing out loud - I read it in one sitting it was so good! A definite must for anyone who has been pregnant, is pregnant, or wants to get the real nitty gritty on high risk pregnancy in the funniest way possible! Don't miss!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    This is a must-read! I woke my husband as I laughed outloud read

    This is a must-read! I woke my husband as I laughed outloud reading this funny, fast-paced book late into the night. The dialogue is hilarious. I hope Amy Sprenger writes a sequel...I want to know how Annie, Jake, and that miracle baby, Jack, continue their crazy life.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Excellent, entertaining and hilarious!

    I highly enjoyed this book for start to end! It was a quick read that kept me laughing out loud. I had to stop and read several hysterical lines to my husband. Amy is a very talented writer and I can't wait to see what is next by her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I am currently going through a problem pregnancy and this hit ho

    I am currently going through a problem pregnancy and this hit home with me. Amy Sprenger manages to make something scary seem funny. This book was a great distraction during my own bedrest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Great Read!!!

    What a great book! Laughed out loud at so many points along the way. :-)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great book

    I never wanred to put it down. It made me laugh out loud several times. I can't wait for the next one!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I loved this book. I read it in one night and couldn't put it do

    I loved this book. I read it in one night and couldn't put it down. It was hilarious and snarky and all the things that you would expect after reading SnarkyMommy. This is my new go to gift for my pregnant friends, or my slutty friends who are soon to be pregnant :) This is a must read- except that it will scare the crap out of you when thinking about childbirth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Read this book in two days and liked it. I went and looked up th

    Read this book in two days and liked it. I went and looked up the author’s blog after finishing the book and spent several hours laughing as I scrolled through her archives. Do yourself a favor and check out

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    I have been a fan of Amy’s blog for many years. As someone

    I have been a fan of Amy’s blog for many years. As someone who read about the pregnancy problems when they were happening, it made me laugh out loud to remember some of the crazier stuff. Amy does a great job bringing her voice to the story and making readers laugh.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    This fast, funny read is great for moms-to-be or new moms who li

    This fast, funny read is great for moms-to-be or new moms who like a good laugh about their now forgotten pregnancy trials.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    I have followed this author’s blog for a few months now an

    I have followed this author’s blog for a few months now and was so excited to finally get my hands on her book. Her book is as funny as her blog – which isn’t always the case when mom bloggers try to write books. Can’t wait for the next one!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Who says chick lit is dead? Amy Sprenger’s “Baby Bum

    Who says chick lit is dead? Amy Sprenger’s “Baby Bumps” combines the humorous with the sad and manages to make stressful situations seem somehow lighthearted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    I followed SnarkMommy's blog for years and was so excited to fin

    I followed SnarkMommy's blog for years and was so excited to find this book available already. I stayed up late reading and wasn't disappointed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    I found Baby Bumps by accident and I am so glad. I found this bo

    I found Baby Bumps by accident and I am so glad. I found this book moving, funny and poignant all at the same time! My favorite part was how Mom moves in to keep her honest about staying in bed all the while her husband is working out of town and the rehab work is going on throughout the house. Even though I am a senior citizen I was laughing and crying through out the book and I hope that there are other books by Amy Sprenger to come very soon! What a refreshing new author!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Super funny

    I loved this book. I thought it was so funny and kept me wanting more. I can't wait to read more of Amy's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. Read it in one day. Went on to read Snarky mommies blog from 2006 to present. Can't wait for the next blog entry and the next book to be published.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Hysterical and fresh. Loved it!

    Hysterical and fresh. Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    This was a great book! I wish that I had this book when I was o

    This was a great book! I wish that I had this book when I was on bed
    rest. There were times I thought I was reading my journal from when I
    was bed rest! This would be a great book for any woman who has or has
    had pregnancy complications to read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2