Customer Reviews for

Baby Bumps: The Almost, Barely, Not-Quite-True Story of Pregnancy, Bed Rest and One Batshit Crazy Family

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complication

This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complications and ironic situations, but instead of crying about her plight, the main character, Annie, makes us laugh – both with her and at her. Annie and her husband, Jake, are in the middle of rehabbing their...
This is a funny story about a pregnancy filled with complications and ironic situations, but instead of crying about her plight, the main character, Annie, makes us laugh – both with her and at her. Annie and her husband, Jake, are in the middle of rehabbing their house when they find out unexpectedly that she has a serious problem with her pregnancy. While she’s on bed rest, Annie’s mom moves with them and her husband goes on a snowboarding trip (I would strangle my husband if he did this to me!). I won’t give away too much, but Annie eventually goes into labor and like the rest of the story, it’s not what you would expect. I thought this was a fun read and would recommend it to anyone who likes stories about pregnancy and motherhood.

posted by TexasMomma1 on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Most selfish mother in history

This book was disgusting. I have NEVER heard of a woman crowing about "what she did" when her child was born instead of asking if the baby was all right. This book was 110% about the selfish, shallow mother and 0.01% about the baby. With so many women desperately wantin...
This book was disgusting. I have NEVER heard of a woman crowing about "what she did" when her child was born instead of asking if the baby was all right. This book was 110% about the selfish, shallow mother and 0.01% about the baby. With so many women desperately wanting a child, shame on this person for her incredibly selfish and self absorbed attitude. Deleting this piece of crap immediately.

posted by Bijou1313 on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    I found Baby Bumps by accident and I am so glad. I found this bo

    I found Baby Bumps by accident and I am so glad. I found this book moving, funny and poignant all at the same time! My favorite part was how Mom moves in to keep her honest about staying in bed all the while her husband is working out of town and the rehab work is going on throughout the house. Even though I am a senior citizen I was laughing and crying through out the book and I hope that there are other books by Amy Sprenger to come very soon! What a refreshing new author!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Very good

    People need to lighten up. This is a work of fiction but people r taking it too seriously. It is funny and well written and mothers all over the world can sympathize with what the author went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Not a fan.  The main character thinks the world revolves around

    Not a fan.  The main character thinks the world revolves around her and should NOT be a mother. Parts are funny, to be sure, but for the most part I found. Myself thinking, "people like this actually exist? And MATE?!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Super funny

    I loved this book. I thought it was so funny and kept me wanting more. I can't wait to read more of Amy's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. Read it in one day. Went on to read Snarky mommies blog from 2006 to present. Can't wait for the next blog entry and the next book to be published.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Hysterical and fresh. Loved it!

    Hysterical and fresh. Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Pregnancy tales

    I enjoy reading books about other peoples 9 month trials and tribulations with pregnancy. I had some bumps in my personal pregnancy, and am relieved I can relate to others this way

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Pretty good!

    I enjoyed this humorous take on pregnancy and family relationships.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    This was a great book! I wish that I had this book when I was o

    This was a great book! I wish that I had this book when I was on bed
    rest. There were times I thought I was reading my journal from when I
    was bed rest! This would be a great book for any woman who has or has
    had pregnancy complications to read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    I have been reading Amy's blog for several years and I find her

    I have been reading Amy's blog for several years and I find her writing style to be hilarious and addictive.

    Although we are very different - I have never experienced a pregnancy, let alone a difficult one - her descriptions of her daily life just draw me in and make me want to read more.

    She has a self-deprecating way of talking about even serious issues so that you know she's not mocking the issue but is coping in the best way she knows how.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Another high-risk pregnancy mom

    Couldn't put it down! This book was very timely since I was just admitted into the hospital on bed rest for six weeks. I felt a kinship with the author since I also live in Illinois. The author is hilarious and this book would be funny for any pregnant lady. Wish there had been more about surviving hospital food and bed sores! I will have to start my own therapy group for mom's on bed rest, maybe they can wheel our beds into a big room in the hospital since we can't get out of bed. Enjoyed the author's sense of humor and banter with her husband!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2