Customer Reviews for

Baby Laughs: The Naked Truth About the First Year of Mommyhood

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

ALL mommies should read this book!!!

I LOVED this book! She is hilarious... and her stories are so true! It was like she had written about everything I just experienced. I hope she is writing more :)

posted by Anonymous on June 19, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Funny!

This book was quite funny but a bit over the top at times, although motherhood sure can be an outrageous profession. It was fun but I think there are other books out there that seem a bit more relatable to mainstream mom.

posted by Marie4Ever on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Funny!

    This book was quite funny but a bit over the top at times, although motherhood sure can be an outrageous profession. It was fun but I think there are other books out there that seem a bit more relatable to mainstream mom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy & Entertaining

    This was an entertaining book to read and you wont want to put it down. Jenny takes you on her journey through motherhood that you can see yourself in. You can read this book in a breeze, is as if you've had a chat with one of your girlfriends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I recommend this book to every Momma & Mom-To-Be!!

    Truly blunt & hilarious!!!!!! I cant imagine anyone in the world would not like this book! Also checkout another by her: 'Belly Laughs'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mommyhood with a sense of humor!

    This is definitetly not a scientific or educational reference book, but one that I recommend for frazzled moms who need a good chuckle. Jenny McCarthy provides humor to a wide range of topics that occur the first year of your baby's life. This book is a very easy read with short chapters and lots of laughs. I will be reading "Life Laughs" and will also pick up her other books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    LOVE IT

    I couldn't put it down. I read this book in a few hours. Yes my children may have only had cherrios for lunch during my reading, but oh my was it fun to read. I swear I though I was talking straight to one of my girl friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    HILARIOUS!

    I sat down and read this book cover to cover in a matter of hours and the only reason I put it down was because I was laughing so hard and had to catch my breath! Being a first time mom, she tells you all you need to know, but makes it hilarious! Laugh out loud on every page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Hysterical

    I'm not a mom but being a woman who expects to become a mom in the near future I read this book. Another reason was because I needed a good laugh and an easy read and this was it. It's no holds bar. It's the tell all about the potential situations of motherhood in a baby's first year after delivery. I loved it and it didn't scare me from having a baby. I love Jenny's candidness about motherhood and the it's joys and fears. I definitely plan on reading her other books and I recommend you do the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    What started as a giggle ended as a ROAR!!!

    Baby Laughs is hysterical!! Jenny has a fun way of looking at motherhood. Motherhood is a tough thing that people can be very critical about. Jenny's laugh out loud view of motherhood helps moms not to take the criticism to heart. Great Job Jenny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    this is hilarious!

    Jenny McCarthy did it again with another book that is hilarious. This book is so funny and sometimes she's so honest it's scary but it deffintly does not freak you out about being a parent maybe a little but that's it. I highly recommend this book to any women weather she is trying to conceive is pregnant or already is a mom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Makes Reality Funny

    I LOVED this book! I've read a lot of reviews that say 'it was entertaining but not informative.' Well, I disagree! I found it very information - not in a 'Dr. Spock' kind of way, but in a 'I could never ask anyone except my best friend' kind of way. She talks about the great, joyous things AND the things that we all feel rotten for thinking AND all the things we want to know about but are too embarassed to ask - but the best part is that she explains how normal it all is! She's very blunt, which makes it even funnier, but also did research (for her own sake) and passes it along! It was a great book, and I'm not even a mommy yet!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    ALL mommies should read this book!!!

    I LOVED this book! She is hilarious... and her stories are so true! It was like she had written about everything I just experienced. I hope she is writing more :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Very Funny

    I read this at the beginning of pregnancy and loved it. It made me laugh so hard but gave me the true reality of what I was in for and boy was she right!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    So Funny!

    This book is so realistic and so funny! I'm loving it!! Props to Jenny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    Super Funny

    This was one of the funniest books I have ever read, and right on about how it really is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Must have for new mommys!!

    This is the funnest book that I have read since I read Belly Laughs when I was pregnant. I have a ten and a half month old and this book confirmed the fact that I am not crazy. Thanks Jenny you rule!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    High point

    High point

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Funny

    I thought this book was pretty funny but not as good as I was expecting it to be. Sort of dissappointed but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    In Baby Laughs Jenny leads us through her first year of motherho

    In Baby Laughs Jenny leads us through her first year of motherhood in her typical true to form raunchy way. From the ups and downs of bringing her little bundle of joy home to battling post partum depression to changing her baby's diapers she used her unique sense of humour to tell her story.

    While this isn't the typical memoir we do get a unique glimpse into the life and times of a Hollywood mom and even though she may not be one of those in your face celebrities who appear in magazines every week she is a recognizable name in Tinsel Town.

    I loved how she wrote about a lot of different scenarios she went through that are plausible enough to have happen to the average new mom. She talks about family, sex, getting her body back and going back to work. She shares the ups and downs ins and outs and even some things you may not want to read if you have a delicate stomach but she makes it hilarious.

    Just like when I read her first book Belly Laughs this book had me hooked from the first page and had me laughing from the first page to the last. I can honestly say that I'll probably read anything that Jenny McCarthy writes because she's got the ability to get me out of a slump and have me laughing so hard I have tears running down my face.

    I would recommend Baby Laughs to everyone not just moms or moms to be. Although now that I think about it, Baby laughs would make the perfect shower gift for expectant moms. I think it's one that I might just buy for my friends when they're expecting just for a laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    I like them big

    I think this book is going to funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Hilarious Look at the First Few Months of a New Baby

    Really enjoyed reading this book (I'd also read Belly Laughs). It's a great lighthearted look at the first few months of bringing home a brand new baby. She shares experiences that you can totally relate to and help to make them easier to handle. Made me laugh more than just a few times. Definitely recommend it amongst all the other serious reading we do as new parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3