Customer Reviews for

The Baby Trail

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Excellent!

    This was my life exactly...When I told my husband about it he thought I was crazy for reading something that mirrored our own trials, thought it would upset me. On the contrary...I laughed through the entire book. Finally someone could relate to what we are going through...not just unhelpful advice from well meaning loved ones. Anyone struggling with infertility should read this. It gave me sanity about this whole process, which hasnt happened in quite some time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Good to know I'm not the only crazy one!

    I loved this book. I laughed out loud & cried my eyes out too. I wish I could give this book to everyone suffering through infertility & to those who want to understand what a loved one who is struggling with it goes through. My story is so similar to Emma's and although I'm less dramatic I've felt so many of the same emotions. I laughed when she compared herself to The Hulk, because I've called myself that many times. On the fertility meds you can go from placid to full out rage in a split second! Then I cried when she talks about wanting her life back and how she hates herself. I can't count the nights in the past year and a half I've cried myself to sleep thinking how much I hate myself and how sorry I feel for my husband having chosen me, a miserable excuse for a human, as a wife. If you haven't dealt with infertility this book is still a good read, although you may not understand why Emma acts like she does. Infertility takes a toll on your self worth & sanity, but it helps to know you are not the only one who feels the way you do. I can't wait to read the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Hilarious and Heartwarming Novel - I Loved It!

    This is Sinead Moriarty's first novel. I picked it up on sale from B&N and have had it sitting on my bookshelf for a year. I have to say I am so disappoinnted that I waited this long to read it! This book is phenominal! It is funny but touching. You find yourself laughing at the things both Emma and James say, yet you feel sorry for the fact that Emma cannot get pregnant. What a wonderful story all together! I cannot wait to read the other books and the sequal!

    A+++++++ for The Baby Trail! This novel is a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    great read

    This is a must read for anyone who is struggling or has struggled with infertility. The main character is funny and describes things that I think anyone with these struggles has also done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Loved every second of it

    This book is laugh out loud funny. I read the entire book in one weekend. I just could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    loved it!

    I dont have kids and I loved this book! Its very easy to read and funny. I was laughing out loud. I bought other books by the author and loved those as well. I cant wait for her to write some more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Great book!!!

    I loved this book I read it in one day. I am going through the same things as the person in this book is. I don't feel as crazy as once did after reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Really enjoyed it.

    I actually purchased this book. Usually, I am a library first fan. However, I was going through a similar situation as the charecters in this book. Thank you Baby Trail for making the process a bit easier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Great Book!

    I loved this book. I found it very funny and heartwarming. I can't wait to read the sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    TOTALLY RELATABLE

    I was on my own mission to get pregnant and after 8 months I had enough. When I found this book I was so excited. I was great to be able to read a book, even though fictional, and see Im not the only one doing handstands and acting crazy to get preg. I finsihed the book and 2 weeks later I tested and it was positive...Now im 4 months pregnant and I always suggest to my friends who are having a hard time getting pregnant to read this book, because it got me through a stressful month!!! It was so fun!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Well written character study

    Married one year thirty-three years old make-up artist Emma Hamilton and her spouse rugby coach James decide to have a baby. Emma conducts research, develops an action plan with a detailed time line, and implements the process because she must be ready to celebrate next Christmas with her three month old child................. However, month two in her plan called for pregnancy, which failed to happen in spite of constant sex. Now two months behind schedule, Emma decides to supplement the au natural plan that failed to perceive its objective. Months later and still not pregnant, fertility drugs, standing on her head, and James not allowed wasting one iota in case that one is the gold medal swimmer, Emma is stopped by a cop who has just adopted a Romanian child. Two years and no kid, even James is losing patience with Emma (can the readers be far behind?) so perhaps Bucharest is the perfect vacation spot that is after a stop at Lourdes hoping for divine intervention.................. This chick lit tale is more a series of vignettes that focus on contraception and fertility than a novel. Though the obsessed Emma is an interesting character, readers will become weary of her antics yet ironically root for her to achieve her goal and become pregnant. James is a saint (or the reincarnation of Job) for putting up with Emma¿s insanity. THE BABY TRAIL has amusing moments and overall is well written, but reads more like a short story collection with a central character worth perusing over several sittings...................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1