Customer Reviews for

Babycakes (Tales of the City Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Babycakes, Book 4

Mary Ann and Brian's marriage is in trouble, because he wants to be a father, but her job as a reporter is too demanding. I feel sad for Mouse, because Jon has passed away from AIDS. (Babycakes was the first work of fiction to acknowledge the arrival of AIDS.) A lieuten...
Mary Ann and Brian's marriage is in trouble, because he wants to be a father, but her job as a reporter is too demanding. I feel sad for Mouse, because Jon has passed away from AIDS. (Babycakes was the first work of fiction to acknowledge the arrival of AIDS.) A lieutenant from the Britannia has jumped ship, and traded apartments with Mouse. Mona is living in Seattle and wonders if it has been too long to reconnect with her family at Barbary Lane.

posted by brjunkie on January 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love the Tales of the City series and I also really enjoyed th

I love the Tales of the City series and I also really enjoyed this particular book; however, it has completely turned me off from ever buying a Barnes and Noble eBook. There are so many typographical errors in the Nook version of this book that it became ridiculously d...
I love the Tales of the City series and I also really enjoyed this particular book; however, it has completely turned me off from ever buying a Barnes and Noble eBook. There are so many typographical errors in the Nook version of this book that it became ridiculously distracting. With in the first 100 pages I found at least 20 errors, some of them on consecutive pages! I contacted customer support and received a "sorry for the inconvenience" email. Highly recommend the book but buy it from somewhere other than B&N.

posted by SF_Reader on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    I love the Tales of the City series and I also really enjoyed th

    I love the Tales of the City series and I also really enjoyed this particular book; however, it has completely turned me off from ever buying a Barnes and Noble eBook. There are so many typographical errors in the Nook version of this book that it became ridiculously distracting. With in the first 100 pages I found at least 20 errors, some of them on consecutive pages! I contacted customer support and received a "sorry for the inconvenience" email. Highly recommend the book but buy it from somewhere other than B&N.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Babycakes, Book 4

    Mary Ann and Brian's marriage is in trouble, because he wants to be a father, but her job as a reporter is too demanding. I feel sad for Mouse, because Jon has passed away from AIDS. (Babycakes was the first work of fiction to acknowledge the arrival of AIDS.) A lieutenant from the Britannia has jumped ship, and traded apartments with Mouse. Mona is living in Seattle and wonders if it has been too long to reconnect with her family at Barbary Lane.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Great Series

    This is the funniest, wildest and craziest series I have ever read. I found I could not put the book done. I would stay up all night to finish. You think you know where the book is going but you don't have a clue. It is so fun and tantalizing this should be a must read for anyone with a sense of humor. I have recommended this series to many friends and we have all agreed. It is the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2000

    Maupin Does It Again!

    I've read the three preceeding Tales of the City books and this was one of my two favorites. Maupin is a wonderful writer. His style is so familiar and warm that you simply cannot put down his work. BabyCakes is a prime example. This is an outstanding book for any writer interested in learning how to draw the reader into a story and keep him or her there. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Skylars bio

    Name Skylar
    age: 14
    Gender:Female
    District: 4 fishing
    Looks: detailed light blue eyes, blond hair in a high ponytail little above elbow length really pretty
    Clothing in the games: black jacket whiteish/gray tank top navy blue jeggings black lether hunters boots
    Best at using: knives, bow, a spear strapped to her back or a shortish dagger
    Personality: feirce but not bloodthirsty and vicous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Ari's Bio

    Name: Ari Thompson










    Age: 12










    District: 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Glimmer's AutoBiography

    Name- Glimmer Shorewire <p> Gender- &female <p> Height- 5'6 <p> Appearance- Looks exactly like Glimmer in the Hunger Games <p> Personality- Kind, Helpful, Loyal, Sweet. <p> District- Helps all....will join someones district if asked. <p> Skills- Archery, Throwing knives, Running, Climbing, Swimming. She is very agile.. <p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Claude BIO

    ~Name: Claude Calley
    ~Gender: male
    ~Age: 15
    ~District: 4
    ~Skills/Weapons: swimming, assorted daggers, a trident, nets, and a spear.
    ~Appearance: He has unkempt hair that falls in his face. He keeps it in a samurai ponytail. He has dark brown eyes. He wears a black leather jacket, jeans, shin guards, and tan sandals.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Alishia

    Name- Alishia Holsterfeild <br> Age- 13 <br> Gender- &female <br> District- 12 <br> Eyes- Dark dark brown with gold flecks <br> Hair- Jet black shoulder length straight hair <br> Skin- Tan <br> Skills: Everything, and nothing. She took after katniss and knows how to hunt and use a bow really good. She is also a little like rue, good with plants, but not as good. Good with animals. <br> Persona: Kind, generous, loyal, honest(ish), brave, strong, funny, and yeah. <br> Symbol is &#123456789 just in case...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    &star Rune's Bio 1.2 &star

    Name: Rune
    <br>
    <p>
    Age: 12
    <br>
    <p>
    Gender: &female
    <br>
    <p>
    Description: smallish, really average. She is light, which makes climbing and running easy for her. She is really fast, and quite strong. She is really really smart. Her hair is black and falls to midback in a ponytail. Her skin is tanned, and her eyes are peircing green, flecked with amber.
    <br>
    <p>
    Allies: Carmen (alive), Levi (dead. Twilli killed him), and maybe Alishia (alive)
    <br>
    <p>
    Family: Volton (3-year old brother, dead), Camsin (16-year old sister, killed at games a few years back), Mereth (mom, crazy), Volt (dad, crazy)
    <br>
    <p>
    Weapons/Skills: fast, smart, kinda strong, archery, pair of daggers, traps, and medicine/plants
    <br>
    <p>
    District: 3
    <br>
    <p>
    ~Ru&eta&epsilon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Eli

    Name: Eliza Whitney
    <p>
    District: 4
    <p>
    Personality: smart, strong, very fast and agile, witty, and if you get in her way, WATCH OUT.
    <p>
    Looks: petite, with dark curly hair, blue eyes.
    <p>
    Skills: knives, bow and arrow, swimming, and running.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Mallory

    Name: Mallory Retesic <p> Age: 16 <p> Gender: Girl <p> Personality: Tough, ruthless, witty, intelligent and strong. She is also helping, and has a heart for young kids. (Has a younder sister named Anya) <p> Looks: A short girl (5'3") with firey red har that goes to the bottoms of her shoulder blades. Has stunning green eyes. <p> Weapons: Knows how to use a bow, daggars and throwing knives but can use anthing (she i a fast learner). <p> District: Not that it matters, 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Jason

    Looks- Tan skin, has facial hair that is considered "Fade." (Barely visible beard/mustache.) He isn't really muscular, has brown hair and a crew cut. He has a blue eye and the other white. He is kind of handsome, but has a scar on his left eye. <p>
    Skills- First aid, stealth, two blade-combat, strength, speed, and agility. He has some skills with the bow&arrow. <p>
    District- 12 <p>
    Gender-male <p>
    Personality- get to know me. <p>
    Crush- none. Duh. <p>
    I think that's all......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Katniss

    Bios watxh the hunger games

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Felicity

    Name: Felicity. Age: 15. District: 5. Weapon: Traps and throwing knives. Um yep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Hatchet

    Age: 13. Appearance: Brown hair and eyes. Tanned skin and a bright smile.
    Personality: cheerful. Funny. Stratigist. Brave. Never gives up. Protective. Districy: 7. Weapons: sword but can also use arrows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Tyrek

    Name: Look up. <p> Gender: Male <p> District: 1 <p> Weapon: Mace, spear, butterfly knife...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Connor

    Age:16 looks: tall dark and brooding personality. But he opens up one you know him. Skills: swordplay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Jake

    Age 17 appearence 6ft strong build brown hair blue eyes district 12 personality doesnt like to be teased freindly out going protective determined

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Willow's bio

    Name:Willow Seibt

    Age:12

    Description:long curly brown hair and pale green eyes is about 5'2"

    Personality: likes to ride horses,sing, and read.

    District:10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2