Customer Reviews for

Babylon Confidential: A Memoir of Love, Sex, and Addiction

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    I came to this book, being a fan of Ms Christian from her work o

    I came to this book, being a fan of Ms Christian from her work on Babylon 5 and Freaks and Geeks. Growing up watching Sci Fi, there were few Strong women role models. Star Wars had Leia, and Star Trek, while popular and featured women had them in secondary roles. Ms. Christian’s portrayal of Susan Ivanova had always been for me a bright spot in Sci Fi and in general, so a book about the woman behind the character was all to enticing for me to pass up.

    I cherished reading this book. The book was an exhilarating look into the life behind the camera of a Hollywood actress. But more than just that it was a great look into a world people only talk about. About what happens behind closed doors of the rich and famous, and how that style can come crashing down and its consequences.

    Reading about the trials and tribulations of Ms. Christian, someone who in my mind is the Strong and indomitable Ivanova, and how she battled addiction, how she overcame it rising up from the bottom to once again regain with the discovery of The Sinclair Method and how she now triumphs once again only proved to me that the person in this case stronger then the character.

    The book is a wonderful experience. It is well written and is one of those that once you pick up you have a hard time putting down. It gets real personal at points as she describes her loves and relations, but soon you’ll find it is in her pain you can make the real connection. The real human face of a star. I recommend this book for anyone interested in an story of overcoming addiction, anyone interested just to know Ms. Christian better. Or Anyone interested a book with gripping realism of the Hollywood scene specifically. But really anyone who enjoys a good read will find that this book is a fantastic read and will not disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2012

    The end of the book is the most important and is also a new beinings.

    I could not put down this book and read it in record time, for me. While 90% of it is about an incredible life of success, failure and surprises in all aspects of her life the last 10% offers hope for those fighting the alcohol demon or know someone who is. It presents a viable, successful option for fighting alcoholism. It took guts to write this book. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    An interesting and quick read. The title tells you what you're

    An interesting and quick read. The title tells you what you're going to get and she delivers. I enjoyed the name-dropping that others have complained about -- it's a celebrity biography, after all! A lot of interesting stuff revealed. At a certain point, though, it went from interesting, fun, and occasionally tragic to a tiresome litany of bad judgments and stupid mistakes. I have empathy, but it's tough to "watch" her consistently head down pathways that are obviously going to lead to regrets and many pages of "what went wrong." Also, as the book wound down I realized the memoir was sort of an excuse to spread the word on The Sinclair Method (the cure that worked for her). It was mostly an entertaining read. I'm glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I usually read fantasy, but I got this book because it looked in

    I usually read fantasy, but I got this book because it looked interesting and I am a fan of Claudia Christian from Babylon 5 and a few other movies and tv shows that she was on. I wasn't sure what to expect when I got it but once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. It is written as if Claudia is right there talking to you and telling her story. She tells her very personal experiences throughout her life that led up to problems with alcohol addiction and the hope she found through the Sinclair Method for healing addiction. It is truly a story of hope and rising above the odds. The book was written to get the word out about this method and it does it's job wonderfully. As a story, I was greatly moved. It made me cry, laugh and everything in between. It is an awesome story that held my attention and I think it is wonderfully written. It took a lot of courage to write and is well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Claudia Christian has written an excellent autobiography which g

    Claudia Christian has written an excellent autobiography which gives the reader an intimate inside view of her life. Once I started reading this book I could not put it down. She does a great job of bringing you into her life and conveying her emotions. I actually felt joy at her triumphs and shared in the sadness of her tragedies. I pulled for her as I read about her struggles with alcohol and could feel her sense of pride when she was able to conquer her demons. I really enjoyed her side stories about life on the set of "Babylon Five" and immediately rented the film "Never on Tuesday" (check it out--you'll love it) as a result. In addition her stories about her encounters with a few actors (not to be named in my review!) has given me a totally different perspective about them and I'll never look at some of them the same way again when I see them on screen. This book is also an excellent resource for anyone struggling with alcoholism. She provides in vivid detail her battle with her "monster" and all the steps she did to beat it. I highly recommend this book--get it. Once you start reading it you will not be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Claudia is definately one of the most beautiful, and amazing wom

    Claudia is definately one of the most beautiful, and amazing women of any time. Her honesty, as well as her inner strength, make this powerful for clear comprehension and hope. May her courage rally the will of those to who she has graciously offered a real lifeline of hope and recovery. Sending you hugs and thanks Claudia, I never understood the ones in my life who struggled with this monster. You taught me how I can use my strengths and compassion at the same time.
    Blessings and thanks,
    Jo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    What I found unique about this book was Ms. Christian's account

    What I found unique about this book was Ms. Christian's account of success mirages. Much of the struggle she detailed was not directly about succeeding, but on determining what "success" really means before you can achieve it.  The presentation of her struggle has you right there with her, cheering her on all the way.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Babylon Confidential: A Memoir of Love, Sex, and Addiction By Cl

    Babylon Confidential:
    A Memoir of Love, Sex, and Addiction
    By Claudia Christian and Morgan Grant Buchanan

    Claudia Christian had a starring role on Babylon 5, a science fiction television series. Now she is coming forward with her memoirs revealing a whole new side of herself that few others have seen.

    First off since this is a memoir I will not be reviewing the “story” I mean how can you criticize someone’s life? Second I had no idea who Claudia Christian was when I was sent this book for review; they had me at Love, Sex and Addiction. I have never seen Babylon 5 but I did grow up with a parent who watches anything science fiction, yes my mother is a Trekkie, she even has the entire series of Babylon 5 so I know what it is. Luckily for me I didn’t need to know the show to be able to truly get to know Claudia’s story. The book itself seems to get Claudia’s point across precisely, however there were times when the narration would bounce around. It wasn’t hard to follow along so you shouldn’t find yourself lost as you go but I felt it could have “flowed” a bit better. The only thing that actually drove me crazy was all the “name-dropping.” For instance she is describing someone and in one sentence talk about how charming he is and in the next paragraph lists everyone in Hollywood that he knew, I would have preferred more on their own personal character rather than the list of their accomplishments. As for that it can be overlooked and maybe it is a “Hollywood” thing that I missing, otherwise it’s a great read truly fun and absolutely heart wrenching at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1