Customer Reviews for

Babylon Sisters

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly Recimmended

    This is a wonderful book that brings to light many issues, both seen and unseen, that go on in the world around us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    Nice read

    Good read but the ending was disappointing. Like Cleage's writing style, she makes you feel like you live in Atlanta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    Loved it and came back for more Pearl Cleage

    I just recently finished reading this book and couldn't believe I had slept on it, or this author all these years. I loved her writing. I felt as if she were my best girlfriend telling me a story on her couch. I could see and feel the settings, the characters, and the roller coaster ride of emotions. Having lived there for several years, I could relate to the references to life in the West End of Atlanta. I was so drawn into the story, I read this book over a weekend, in between all the stuff of family life and other responsibilities. It was worth those late nights! And after finishing it, I kept thinking about it during the week, so now I'm back to buy her other novels. This is a book that inspires self-reflection, gives some gifts, and offers a worthwhile escape from the demands of the world outside of fiction. Can't wait to get her other books. If her best-seller is better than Babylon Sisters, I must be in store for a real treat. Keep doing your thing, Ms. Pearl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Sisterhood, sisterhood, blah blah blah

    Catherine is an unwed mother whose 17-year-old daughter wants to know who her father is, darn it. And if Catherine won't volunteer the info, then Phoebe will take matters into her own adolescent hands, thankyouverymuch! If my daughter pulled a stunt like what comes next in the book, I would haul her little behind home (from her exclusive boarding school, where she does whatever she pleases) and give her a good, old-fashioned whooping. The push-over mom is an annoying character, both in real life and in fiction. Grow a backbone. I don't know why this book got so many rave reviews. The first 3/4 of the book is unremarkable writing¿nothing that a high-schooler couldn't have written. The last part was the best, with a nice twist or two, but nothing earth-shatteringly brilliant or anything that I will remember 2 months from now. The author has her own agenda to push, and by the end of the book, I was irritated and sick of the whole Sisterhood theme that she kept harping on, like a broken record. She was remarkably like a dog worrying a bone: she just would not let you be a smart reader she had to keep repeating herself, just in case you were too stupid to get it the first 3 times she said something. She obviously has no confidence in the intelligence of her readers. Also in this book: a woman who rose from maid to successful businesswoman, the plight of an illegal immigrant from Haiti, and an investigation about a prostitution ring. By the way, I have not found a new favorite author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    fabulous and fantastic

    pearl cleage is fabulous and fantastic in portraying the intricacies of the blacks. she carves her characters.she is simply superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Love the writing of Pearl Cleage

    As usual, the author takes you through not only various relationships, but political affairs and the effect we have on each other when we do not care and it is all about the money. I could relate to the various relationships she developed and the emotions expressed. This book not only made me aware of the importance in our everyday affairs, but the importance of history and keeping it alive. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Respecting the Narrative of Women's Lives

    Thank you Pearl Cleage for allowing me to celebrate my womanhood and the men who recognize and respect US. The line 'Respect the Narrative of Women's Lives!' speaks volumes to those of us who cherish our womanhood, our specialness, our place in this world as the protagonist and her circle of friends in 'Babylon Sisters' do. You and Catherine challenge those who want to destroy all that is vital to us and our daughters to do the right thing for ourselves and our daughters. I believe that my daughter is finally ready for your books so I am going to give her all of them and have her read them in order. Continue to encourage us to challenge all that is wrong with our world through your narratives about proud women who do the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Babylon Sisters: A Novel

    Enjoyed Pearl's latest novel. Many women of today can readily relate to this story line. My book club members all enjoyed it and some had found themselves in similar situations regarding past relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    Pearl has done it again

    Pearl Cleage is among the top writers of today. She writes about people with issues that we can identify with. Keep it up, Pearl! I eagerly await your next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Babylon Sisters: A Novel

    Pearl has written an interesting novel again. This author gets better with each of her books. This one was indeed interesting and all I can say is 'KEEP ON KEEPING ON'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    A must read....

    I have been a fan of Mrs.Cleage from the moment i have read her first book. I have read everything Mrs.Cleage has written and highly recommend reading all of her novels, she is one of the most inspirational authors, i always look forward to seeing what she comes out with next... Keep up the good work..we love you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    Babylon Sisters: A Novel

    One thing this novel does is hold your attention from start to finish. Ms Cleague's writing style has definitely improved, because each of her books get better as she moves along. Babylon Sisters was enjoyable. I am sure quite a few females will be able to relate to this storyline, when it comes to past relationships that did not survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1