Customer Reviews for

Babyproofing Your Marriage: How to Laugh More, Argue Less, and Communicate Better as Your Family Grows

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book has some great tips and information. It may serve as a reality check for those who are expecting dirty diapers to be the most stressful issue coming with the baby. The first few chapters actually stressed me out because I realized all the emotional and psychological changes our strong marriage was about to weather. I asked my husband to read some of it and he, too, has been more open-eyed about what we need to do to hold on to our identity as a couple in those first few months and beyond. There are things you've never thought of, and this book helps you sort it out before you are in the middle of it with a crying baby in your arms. My only complaint is that the men were often caricatures of the 'typical man' (I guess some of them really think it's okay to leave dirty diapers lying open on the floor in the nursery when mom's away?) and my husband is more logical than that and was a little offended. But overall, this book has probably prepared us for what's coming better than any other.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good solid info and funny

    When my husband and I went and read this before our son was born we smiled and said none of "those things" will happen to us... most didn't and we were more able to talk openly about issues before they got out of hand. Having a baby is hard and can cause a lot of stress. This book helps couples keep up with date nights, try to find breather room and have better understanding of each other making married life with a baby amazing and joyous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    Possibly saved my marriage

    After having my first child, my marriage was already starting to struggle. We had been married for 4 years and know we couldn't get thru a single day without an argument. Reading this book, gave me a insight into what was my husband thinking, and how having a baby had affected him vs how it had affected me. I recommend this book to any one who has recently given birth to share with their partner to better understand each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    Yes, you will find the time to read it

    This is definitely a book for moms & dads. I have two little 'darlings' and I can totally relate to the authors. Great work, easy reading & the illustrations are on point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Insightful!

    Insightful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    a must read

    My husband and I do not have children, but are planning to within the next couple of years. I had read the reviews, and decided to purchase this book before we start our family. I have just finished it, and I have handed it to my husband to read. It brings up a lot of interesting scenes - a lot of them I can picture happening with us. I'm glad that it also gives advise and solutions to potential issues, before they become issues. This was a great one to read before we get there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny and truthful

    I like this book as the writers seem to write from the heart... all of it. Some of it great and some not so great. But that is marriage. It also stresses that your marriage does change and you need to accept it and move forward (and quickly). I go back and reread chapters and paragraphs often. It does make you laugh which is needed but also offers sound advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    Babyproofing Your Marriage

    I gave this CD-book to my daughter-in-law for her birthday. She has not let me know if she has listened to it yet. She just had her first baby in December, 2009. I'd like to listen to it when she gets done with it, even though my 2 "kids" are grown. It sounds very interesting!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    If you are married with a baby, you must own this!!

    This book is very candid about what happens to a couple after they start having kids. I found myself repeatedly saying, "Oh my gosh, that's exactly how it happens in my house!" Some of the book didn't apply to my marriage, but it was still an entertaining read. I recommend this to my mommy friends now, and actually took it to my holiday party for my moms group gift exchange!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for couples and grandparents

    A funny, witty, charming, open book on experience, feelings, hopes, mistakes and was wonderful to bring back to mind how much work having two kids is than one. We had five. Try to write a book on that! I am still organizing all that happened! Hah, Hah! I was very lucky to come across not only one but two copies of this accurate scenario. I gave one to our neighbors with a newborn, # two for her and # 5 for him. I remembered how my head spun when I was in their shoes. The other went to my daughter who has been thinking of having another. I felt I needed to apologize for wanting another grandchild--I had forgotten how much work is involved.

    I did enjoy the definitions section and the grandparents section was the second chapter I checked out. Felt I and my husband scored pretty well with our envolvement and nonenvolvement with our two married-with-kids offspring. Lovely life, wonderful to learn and share.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    Most Helpful and Relevant Parenting Book

    Babyproofing Your Marriage proved to be very helpful. Once I had the twins a year ago, it felt like there was no time for my marriage anymore. Although this book was praised mainly for its light humor, there were many tips and useful strategies for keeping my marriage above water, while still raising my children the best we could. <BR/><BR/>No time to read the whole book? Check out the 8 page summary at parentsdigest.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    ┬┐Babyproofing Your Marriage┬┐

    The ¿Babyproofers¿ Stacie, Cathy, and Julia are a humorous bunch of moms (and wives) that not only give helpful tips, but they also share from their own experiences and experiences of others. Many stories and viewpoints from both the male and female perspective are given. The overall goal of this book is to unite husband and wives through the early childhood years while providing an understanding of what the other spouse needs and wants out of the marriage. The authors go through lengthy descriptions of how children change marriage, and individuals. Examples of men not helping in the house and childrearing yet yearn for more physical contact with their wife predominate the better part of this book. For those that are experiencing this situation (and by the sound of it from this book ¿ the majority of married couples) there are numerous tips to help both parties get what they need out of the other spouse. While reading this book, I realized very early in my reading that my marriage is unique and not at all like the partners described in this book. I have been blessed with a wonderful husband who probably does more than his share around the house and has always helped with the children. Whether it is feeding, changing a diaper, washing clothes, cleaning up bodily excretions, reading a story, or sitting next to a toddler while he makes potty, my loving husband is always there for me and my children. Although this book was not written for my particular situation, it would be extremely helpful for many. This book is well written with plenty of humor along the way. My advice would be to read this book while expecting your baby. Once your baby arrives, there is very little free time to read during the first few months. In addition, this book would be a wonderful shower gift for any expectant couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Do yourself a favor and skip this book.

    I absolutely hated this book. I couldn't believe how much negativity was crammed between the covers! As a pregnant woman, I'm not asking for anything to be sugar coated for me. All I'm asking for is a little optimism! I certainly didn't find it in this book. I truly believe that if a person were to read this book before getting pregnant, they would have serious second thoughts about parenthood.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2