Customer Reviews for

Babyville

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    It was great until a new 'chapter' started....

    The author gets you hooked on one particular women only to end 'her' chapter and move on to the next women. I did not feel as if the story of that women was complete yet. It was a huge let down. All in all, I have mixed feelings. While I was reading and getting to love the characters, the book was fantastic and I could not put it down, however when a new chapter started it only left me angry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a slower read..

    I read Jennifer Weiner's "Little Earthquakes" and I was hoping this book would be the same. Sadly, it's not. It's a much slower read, and I had a hard time really getting into it. I actually skipped pages and some chapters so I can get on with the story. As from a lot of the reviews here, I could sympathize with the character 'julia'. She is a perfectionist. All she knows how it do is succeed, and it's hard for a lot of people to realize that. She just wants to feel needed and loved, and praised for working so hard.

    It's an okay book, but nothing that will stay in my head, like others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Perfect for chick lit readers

    Quick, delightful read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    This book was a nice, easy read. Most of the plot was pretty pre

    This book was a nice, easy read. Most of the plot was pretty predictable but it was a fun read and perfect for the summer. This book won't change your life, but it is a good distraction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Not her best

    Unfortunatly the stories didnt have much behind them. Usually love jane green....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It all comes together. Good read

    3 points of view. It reads well. It comes around full circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Cute book!

    This was a fun book to read. The story follows four woman and their stories about wanting children or not wanting children and how they cope (or don't cope) with getting pregnant (or not). It is about wanting babies and not being able to have them and not wanting children as well. This was a cute story, I could really relate and I bet you can too. I want to read her other book, "To Have and To Hold". Get this book, read it and then give it to your best friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Babyville

    I read this book while I was pregnant and enjoyed it to a point. I like how it was about 3 different woman and their baby drama but I feel like there was somthing missing. Although not my favorite Jane Green novel I would reccomend it to people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Enjoyable Chick Lit

    I listened to this book on a recent trip. Once the story got going, I enjoyed it. I would have enjoyed it more if each story didn't just come to a sudden hault until the last chapter of the book. The women's stories could have been a little more woven. This is the first Jane Grren book I have read, but I don't think it will be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Excellent!

    This book is so good. I couldn't even put it down. Highly recommended, especially if you are trying for a baby b/c you can relate! It will make you laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Annoying!

    I gave up on this book after the first few chapters. I found Julia to be extremely annoying and could not identify with her plight at all. She is not even married to her partner and is basically using a baby to try to 'save' her relationship. Sick. As for the comments about the other character being 'in love' with a married man, also sick. This book was not what I expected at all. If you like the marriage/motherhood fiction, try 'Little Earthquakes' by Jennifer Weiner. It's a much better book in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    Surprisingly entertaining...

    Well, I just finished listening to the audiobook last night, and I actually really liked it. I have to admit that the thought of listening to a story about babies and motherhood was not my idea of a good time, but each time I turned on my car I was so excited to hear what happened next. The story is more than just about babies and mommies-to-be, there were romanctic elements, sex scenes, a few entertaining twists and much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Very Good.

    I normally wouldn't read a book about having children because I have 3 of my own. The book did start out how I dreaded it would, with a woman obsessing about wanting children. Just when I was going to stop, the author ( very smart by the way) put all these twist and turns in the story that kept me interested. I have felt and thought the same things as the women in this book. I plan on passing this book on to a friend, just the way it was passed to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    A fun book! Glad I stuck with it.

    If you like reading about motherhood you will probably enjoy this. Initially the simplicity of the book was a turnoff and I didn't like the first character she focused on - I nearly gave up on the book. But, I was 100 pages in so stuck with it and was very pleasantly surprised as the stories of the following two women really held my interest. I liked how the stories intertwined with each other, too, so you did learn how things were going with the other characters. This book is a very easy, simple read. There isn't anything profound in it in terms of meaning or messages, however it was a fun book in all, being that I am thirty years old, married, and looking to have children myself soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    loved it

    At first I hestitated buying this book because the last thing I wanted to read about was woman and their children...honestly I live that. I'm so happy I did decide to get this, I loved it from the beginning to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Good Read

    I would recommend this book I thought it was a great read! The storie of three women that all have some sort of connection to each other, kept me hooked until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Not even done reading and its execellant

    I have been a fan of Jane since the very first book. Everytime I read it I feel as if I am the main character, Jane defiently knows how to describe well. I am not even done with Babyville and cant wait to go and buy the next new book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Babies And The City

    Three beautiful vivacious women with one thing in common ¿ babies. Julia desperately wants a baby, hoping that it would salvage her deteriorating relationship with her long term boyfriend Mark. Babies were the last thing on Maeve¿s mind but a one night stand rendered her pregnant. Sam is ecstatically happy with her seven month old bundle of joy but sinks deeper and deeper into depression that nearly ruins her marriage. BABYVILLE swanks a delectable cast of characters and you will be delighted to find that you have a bit of Julia, Sam and Maeve in you. With a little romp in the hay, a little romance, a bizarre love triangle, the joys and heartaches of having babies, and the awkward embarrassing scenes that would make you cringe or roll around in laughter, this is a guaranteed companion to liven things up. In the end, everything falls into place and you cannot help but sit back and ponder about how life can go in different directions, how things work out in the way you never thought possible. How you have started accelerating south but without even knowing it, you have reached north. How you thought that this was the man of your life, when actually you are very very wrong. This is a laudable book for any woman out there, especially for those fulfilled or controlled by motherhood or thoughts thereof.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Easy to put down and forget about

    I only liked a handful of parts of this book. Sam had to be my favorite. Her obessing about a married man was too funny. All to get disgraced in the end. My jaw dropped. Other then that it was so unbelieveable and pretty much boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    All Grown Up

    As a loyal fan of Ms. Green, I am please to report that her stories are growing up just like her readers. Babyville seems to be just as prevalent now as Mr. Maybe was in my life a few years ago. Cheers to Babyville for this honest and yet diverse story that should have something for every woman embarking on the child-rearing years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4