Customer Reviews for

Babyville

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It all comes together. Good read

    3 points of view. It reads well. It comes around full circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Cute book!

    This was a fun book to read. The story follows four woman and their stories about wanting children or not wanting children and how they cope (or don't cope) with getting pregnant (or not). It is about wanting babies and not being able to have them and not wanting children as well. This was a cute story, I could really relate and I bet you can too. I want to read her other book, "To Have and To Hold". Get this book, read it and then give it to your best friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Babyville

    I read this book while I was pregnant and enjoyed it to a point. I like how it was about 3 different woman and their baby drama but I feel like there was somthing missing. Although not my favorite Jane Green novel I would reccomend it to people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Very Good.

    I normally wouldn't read a book about having children because I have 3 of my own. The book did start out how I dreaded it would, with a woman obsessing about wanting children. Just when I was going to stop, the author ( very smart by the way) put all these twist and turns in the story that kept me interested. I have felt and thought the same things as the women in this book. I plan on passing this book on to a friend, just the way it was passed to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    A fun book! Glad I stuck with it.

    If you like reading about motherhood you will probably enjoy this. Initially the simplicity of the book was a turnoff and I didn't like the first character she focused on - I nearly gave up on the book. But, I was 100 pages in so stuck with it and was very pleasantly surprised as the stories of the following two women really held my interest. I liked how the stories intertwined with each other, too, so you did learn how things were going with the other characters. This book is a very easy, simple read. There isn't anything profound in it in terms of meaning or messages, however it was a fun book in all, being that I am thirty years old, married, and looking to have children myself soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Good Read

    I would recommend this book I thought it was a great read! The storie of three women that all have some sort of connection to each other, kept me hooked until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Babies And The City

    Three beautiful vivacious women with one thing in common ¿ babies. Julia desperately wants a baby, hoping that it would salvage her deteriorating relationship with her long term boyfriend Mark. Babies were the last thing on Maeve¿s mind but a one night stand rendered her pregnant. Sam is ecstatically happy with her seven month old bundle of joy but sinks deeper and deeper into depression that nearly ruins her marriage. BABYVILLE swanks a delectable cast of characters and you will be delighted to find that you have a bit of Julia, Sam and Maeve in you. With a little romp in the hay, a little romance, a bizarre love triangle, the joys and heartaches of having babies, and the awkward embarrassing scenes that would make you cringe or roll around in laughter, this is a guaranteed companion to liven things up. In the end, everything falls into place and you cannot help but sit back and ponder about how life can go in different directions, how things work out in the way you never thought possible. How you have started accelerating south but without even knowing it, you have reached north. How you thought that this was the man of your life, when actually you are very very wrong. This is a laudable book for any woman out there, especially for those fulfilled or controlled by motherhood or thoughts thereof.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    All Grown Up

    As a loyal fan of Ms. Green, I am please to report that her stories are growing up just like her readers. Babyville seems to be just as prevalent now as Mr. Maybe was in my life a few years ago. Cheers to Babyville for this honest and yet diverse story that should have something for every woman embarking on the child-rearing years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    A wonderful, entertaining read!

    I love Jane Green! I couldn't put Babyville down, I read it in one day. Her characters are funny, heartwarming, and endearing. If you love Bridget Jones, then you will love Jane Green's characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    a great read

    I adore Jane Green! The way she portrays these girls is so relateable and the manner in which she describes and intertwines the characters is brilliant. This is a funny, poignant story that I think women can identify with no matter where they are at in life pertaining to making a committment to have children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    cute book

    I like Jane Green. I thought this book was funny and cute. I liked the way the ending came together and I fell in love with the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    a wonderful read

    I absolutely loved this book - read it on the beach during our vacation and couldn't put it down. Jane Green is a wonderful author and really gave the reader a sense of what it is like to be a mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Fun!

    This is the first book I've read by this author, and I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a light read... Although seemingly long, the book is a quick read and the characters are all realistically believable. As a married woman who is debating whether or not to have children I found this most enjoyable... I found that I could relate to all three of the girls in the story on some level, and was sad when it ended! I want more! :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    Her best book so far

    I have read all of Jane Green's books that have been released in the US: Jemima J, Mr.Maybe, Bookends. Babyville was her best work so far. THe story and characters were great and you really get into it. This is a great beach read, ride home read, etc. I highly recommend it!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2