Customer Reviews for

The Back Door of Midnight (Dark Secrets Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    One of the best books I have ever read! Everyone needs to read it!

    This book was sooooooo good that it gave me the chills. It is a very great mystery but also a little romance involved. The perfect combination. You should go ahead and check it out now. This book inspired me to get more books from this author. Great author. But seriously it is so good that i literally laid on my bedroom floor reading it for hours!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Weres number 3 and 4????

    Wheres number 3 and 4??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Awesome!

    If unlike any of the dark secrets series, youll luv this one.... definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Loved it :)

    Loved it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Very Suspenseful!

    I loved this book. It had me on my toes till the very end. My fave character was Anna and Zach. I love their interactions with each other. I wish Elizabeth Chandler would write another book to this one. She is an amazing author and I love all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Loved!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Review at midnight

    Introduction
    This book, The Back Door of Midnight, is a very heartfelt and mysterious story. Anna gets a letter from her uncle asking if she¿d come up to his house for the summer. When she gets there she has found out a horrible tragedy has happened and is sad and so very confused at the same time. With the help of a new ¿friend¿ Zack she answers the unsolved mystery not even police knew.
    Description and summary of main points
    This story is about a girl named Anna who gets a letter from her uncle saying he¿d like for her to come spend the summer with him and her aunt. The man and were not married but related by blood. When Anna arrives she had not been confronted about the tragedy, along with any of her family. In her distraught time she meets a boy who helps her out very much and he also, helps her solve this mystery even the police couldn¿t figure out.
    Evaluation
    When they find out what happen it¿s a shock to all. But this book shows how they handle it and how most everyone should handle it. Especially without any notice of what is going on and not knowing what to suspect.
    Conclusion
    This novel is very suspenseful and scary. While not knowing what is going to happen you also can¿t put the book down.
    Your final review
    This book was fantastic! I suggest all people to read it for sure! It¿s almost 400 pages so I suggest it only for probably 7th-9th grade. It¿s definitely a must read for all people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Not the best mystery

    This book was slightly disappointing for me. (if yu want to cut to the chase, please skip to the end of this review..) It took a long time to start the book- it feel like the author recorded every single second of her life rather than just the interesting bits of it. It felt like the book didn't really start until the very end, like the beginning and middle of the book were just advertisements before the movie. I lost intrest in the first hundred pages.. It was like the same day repeating over and over again! I think the author could have led on more clues to the murder. I was also a bit confused at times-I felt the dialogue was not always clear. I think that the ending was very good though, but I was not interested in this book until then. I like that it had a touch of romance.. But however, the romance was very cliche. Of course she got the perfect guy who has a good personality and is talented. Naturally, he has brown hair and "stunning" blue eyes. And of course he's rich. I thought the romance was cute, but it wasn't surprising at all.

    I do not recommend this book at all if you are an avid mystery reader like me, and have read amazing mystery books, like And Then there were None by Agatha Christie or like mind-blowing books like Harry potter. I thought this book was sorta boring, and had an undeveloped, cliched mystery story and love line. I'm sorry for such a negative review! :(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I really do love these books. There is always so much going on with the way Ms. Chandler writes, that is just keeps you entertain and hooked. The reader is first introduce to Anna who comes along after her uncle's death to help her aunt. Anna, is the type of girl who when a tragic incident strikes she will drop everything and help you. I adored her willingness and strength to help put her aunt.


    What I like most about this book or rather this series, is how the past comes back to haunt them. I like how well Ms. Chandler uses a past incident that still haunts them today. Either it be accidental death, revenge, or just plain ol' jealousy, I love that it is the base of this series. Ms. Chandler connects the past with the future generation that a secret that they must solve in order for the family to be a peace.


    The love interest in this book has me angry. Zack at first was a real jerk. I am glad that Anna called him out on it and made him look like a fool. I like that Zack even though was wrong, he fought for Anna. He decided to find out what the real truth was and did his own investigation. After he did that, I decided that he wasn't as bad as he seems. Though he did put on being jerk real good.


    The Dark secrets series has once again captured me. I love reading this series for it never lets me down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Grrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!,!,!!!!

    I want to read this book sooooooo badly but my parents wont get it vfor ME grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...................

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    i couldnt put this book down. i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    BORING!!!!!!!!

    ok so i was looking to buy a book and i read the first 100 pages and i was SO BORED through the WHOLE THING. i will stick to books about dogs and pitbulls. every time i hear this book i say LAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    This is the kind of story I really like. It had such an awesome mixture of paranormal, mystery, suspense, and romance in it. It held my attention from the very first page. I've always been a fan of Elizabeth Chandler's Dark Secrets stories, and this was a great addition to the list.

    Anna was one of my favorite characters of Chandler's so far. She was so smart and resourceful. She's on her own throughout the story, and when she arrives at her aunt and uncle's house, she really just takes charge and starts investigating the murder. Her ability to logic her way through the clues and find herself pretty close to the answer was awesome! I love to see a smart teenage heroine like this.

    I really loved Zach as well. He was such a mystery at first. Is he on her side? Is he hiding something? These questions gave him a really interesting dark side that we had to work our way through. But I loved the romance between these two.

    I wasn't really expecting the murderer to be who it turned out to be. So that was a nice surprise, that the author was able to keep us guessing, but at the same time, I could easily look back through the story and recognize clues where Chandler had dropped us some hints along the way.

    This was a great suspenseful story, and I really enjoyed it. I'm hoping that Chandler will be coming out with some more Dark Secrets stories in future. I highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    amazing

    this book was both mistery with a hint of romance. it was the perfect combination and it also had a surprising and wonderful ending. a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Read this!!!

    Elizabeth Chandler captures you interest in the beginning with the main character, Anna trying to piece together what exactly happened. As she begins to discover things the story twists and turns even more. Its a page turning thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    amazing

    I loved it, it was amazing. could not put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Not The Best Of Her Book

    Slow start, in fact, it fel like the book had jus begun towards the end. he ending was satisfying enough that im glad i read it but its ust a dissapointment compared to Chandlers other amazing stuff. Overall, decently good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Yep, It's Awesome!

    I have never read anything else by Elizabeth Chandler, so I had nothing to really go on in terms of the authors writing, but I was happily surprised when this book sucked me in! It is definitely a mystery as Anna, an adopted seventeen year old, drives to Wisteria where she is supposed to meet her Uncle Will as he wants to tell her something important about her real family. Once she arrives at the O'Neil house she finds her crazy Aunt Iris the only one in residence. It seems that her Uncle was murdered just a little while before Anna made her trip to see him. But was it a juvenile prank gone wrong by the local popular teens, or was it the work of someone far more sinister? Anna knows there is no way she can go home right then until she figures out what happened to her Uncle, what to do with Aunt Iris, what secrets is the cute boy next door hiding, what was it that her Uncle wanted to talk to her about, and what is up with these crazy visions she's been having?! The Back Door of Midnight was such a good read with all the right elements, and I'll definitely be reading more works by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    stupid nooks

    i bought tnis book and i didnt even get to read it it just went away i hate the nooks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Awesome Book

    Great Book lots of suspense a little confusing though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7