BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Back Door of Midnight (Dark Secrets Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    One of the best books I have ever read! Everyone needs to read it!

    This book was sooooooo good that it gave me the chills. It is a very great mystery but also a little romance involved. The perfect combination. You should go ahead and check it out now. This book inspired me to get more books from this author. Great author. But seriously it is so good that i literally laid on my bedroom floor reading it for hours!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Weres number 3 and 4????

    Wheres number 3 and 4??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Awesome!

    If unlike any of the dark secrets series, youll luv this one.... definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Loved it :)

    Loved it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Very Suspenseful!

    I loved this book. It had me on my toes till the very end. My fave character was Anna and Zach. I love their interactions with each other. I wish Elizabeth Chandler would write another book to this one. She is an amazing author and I love all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Loved!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Review at midnight

    Introduction
    This book, The Back Door of Midnight, is a very heartfelt and mysterious story. Anna gets a letter from her uncle asking if she¿d come up to his house for the summer. When she gets there she has found out a horrible tragedy has happened and is sad and so very confused at the same time. With the help of a new ¿friend¿ Zack she answers the unsolved mystery not even police knew.
    Description and summary of main points
    This story is about a girl named Anna who gets a letter from her uncle saying he¿d like for her to come spend the summer with him and her aunt. The man and were not married but related by blood. When Anna arrives she had not been confronted about the tragedy, along with any of her family. In her distraught time she meets a boy who helps her out very much and he also, helps her solve this mystery even the police couldn¿t figure out.
    Evaluation
    When they find out what happen it¿s a shock to all. But this book shows how they handle it and how most everyone should handle it. Especially without any notice of what is going on and not knowing what to suspect.
    Conclusion
    This novel is very suspenseful and scary. While not knowing what is going to happen you also can¿t put the book down.
    Your final review
    This book was fantastic! I suggest all people to read it for sure! It¿s almost 400 pages so I suggest it only for probably 7th-9th grade. It¿s definitely a must read for all people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I really do love these books. There is always so much going on with the way Ms. Chandler writes, that is just keeps you entertain and hooked. The reader is first introduce to Anna who comes along after her uncle's death to help her aunt. Anna, is the type of girl who when a tragic incident strikes she will drop everything and help you. I adored her willingness and strength to help put her aunt.


    What I like most about this book or rather this series, is how the past comes back to haunt them. I like how well Ms. Chandler uses a past incident that still haunts them today. Either it be accidental death, revenge, or just plain ol' jealousy, I love that it is the base of this series. Ms. Chandler connects the past with the future generation that a secret that they must solve in order for the family to be a peace.


    The love interest in this book has me angry. Zack at first was a real jerk. I am glad that Anna called him out on it and made him look like a fool. I like that Zack even though was wrong, he fought for Anna. He decided to find out what the real truth was and did his own investigation. After he did that, I decided that he wasn't as bad as he seems. Though he did put on being jerk real good.


    The Dark secrets series has once again captured me. I love reading this series for it never lets me down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Grrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!,!,!!!!

    I want to read this book sooooooo badly but my parents wont get it vfor ME grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...................

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    i couldnt put this book down. i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    amazing

    this book was both mistery with a hint of romance. it was the perfect combination and it also had a surprising and wonderful ending. a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    amazing

    I loved it, it was amazing. could not put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Awesome Book

    Great Book lots of suspense a little confusing though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Elizabeth Chandler is Great!

    I love all her books! This one was just as good as all her others. Loved it! I also can't wait for the sequel to Kissed By An Angel to come out! :) Sooo excited!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    MUST READ!

    ELIZABETH CHANDLER IS THE BEST AUTHOR IN THE WORLD! I CANNOT WAIT UNTIL THIS BOOK COMES OUT AND THEN I REALLY CAN'T WAIT UNTIL EVERCROSSED COMES OUT ( THE SECOND BOOK IN THE KISSED BY AN ANGEL SERIES ). KISSED BY AN ANGEL IS MY FAVORITE BOOK AND ALL OF HER BOOKS ARE A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    CANT WAIT!

    I LOVE ELIZABETH CHANDLER AND ALL OF HER BOOKS. NOW I CANT WAIT FOR THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!! WHEN IM OLDER IM GONNA NAME MY KIDS TRISTAN AND IVY BECAUSE OF KISSSED BY AN ANGEL I LOV HER BOOKS!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5