Customer Reviews for

Back Roads

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Insanely Intriguing, Give it a Chance!

This was amazingly well written and true to life. There are some pretty twisted and dramatic topics in this book, but if you are grossed out or offended by them, you have missed the point. Tawni O'dell isn't some sicko writing about an incestuous relationship between br...
This was amazingly well written and true to life. There are some pretty twisted and dramatic topics in this book, but if you are grossed out or offended by them, you have missed the point. Tawni O'dell isn't some sicko writing about an incestuous relationship between brother and sister, rather two characters who have been damaged and betrayed by those whom they trusted. If you miss the fact that they are not even attracted to each other sexually and that they associate love with physical closeness, then you are bound to miss several other important messages. It is more complex than its "Jerry Springer" twists and turns. The story is about sacrifice, trust, and the basic needs of the human soul, among other things. Take a chance to get to know these characters, dare to delve into the minds of children who have been forced to cope with the harsh realities of betrayal & abandonment, and all of the contradicting and irrationally rational feelings that come along with it all.

posted by SarahJane26 on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great read though heartwrenching

This was a story for only the bravest of readers because it is so heartwrenching. The characters were people that most would not want to know but still rather amazing. Please give it a chance!

posted by 8907161 on May 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Great read though heartwrenching

    This was a story for only the bravest of readers because it is so heartwrenching. The characters were people that most would not want to know but still rather amazing. Please give it a chance!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    Insanely Intriguing, Give it a Chance!

    This was amazingly well written and true to life. There are some pretty twisted and dramatic topics in this book, but if you are grossed out or offended by them, you have missed the point. Tawni O'dell isn't some sicko writing about an incestuous relationship between brother and sister, rather two characters who have been damaged and betrayed by those whom they trusted. If you miss the fact that they are not even attracted to each other sexually and that they associate love with physical closeness, then you are bound to miss several other important messages. It is more complex than its "Jerry Springer" twists and turns. The story is about sacrifice, trust, and the basic needs of the human soul, among other things. Take a chance to get to know these characters, dare to delve into the minds of children who have been forced to cope with the harsh realities of betrayal & abandonment, and all of the contradicting and irrationally rational feelings that come along with it all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    phenomenal. one of the best books I have ever read in my entire

    phenomenal. one of the best books I have ever read in my entire life. I fell in love with Harley's sarcastic and blunt humor. O' Dell has an amazing talent when it comes to capturing moments and thoughts. Even though it's fiction, She reviles thoughts that are relatable but no one would ever admit. By the end, my jaw had several moments when it dropped, very unexpected twists and turns. I didn't want to end it, knowing there would be no more Harley. by the end, you just grow to have a compassion for the whole family. After reading, the book haunts you. excellent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Cannot put this book down!

    I read half of this book in one night and I plan to finish the other half tonight. She writes what someone may think in their deepest, darkest corners of the mind and makes you love the one thinking it nonetheless. I want a sequel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Terrible

    Aside from.the tedious Lord of the Flies, this was the worst book I have ever read. Then again,I have never read an Oprah recommendation that I have actually enjoyed , Seems she picks the most boring, tedious books out there in order to appear highbrow.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Good story

    GOOD BOOK. One of Oprahs original book club story. Had some kind of bizarre moments but kept me going!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Another home run from Tawni O'Dell!

    I love this writer. Her prose is so descriptive and thought-provoking that by the time I've finished one of her books, there are several pages turned down at the corners with descriptions or ideas that are so great I want to go back to read them again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Excellent book like all this author's books. Good read

    Very poignant book about a family torn aparat by abuse, murder, cover ups and a 19 year old left to raise his sisters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    disturbing

    didn't get the reasoning for even creating this story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    She got it right!

    I appreciate the depth of how true she is able to capture the mind and heart of a struggling young boy who grows up in a broken home that forces and depends on him to become the "default" man of the house. She dares to boldly characterize his feelings and attitudes toward his longing desire of the opposite sex. She helps us male readers identify and relive our own inward excitement and ecstasy that comes by way of a first sexual encounter. A much more explicit and venerable rendition of young love than such classic books as The Catcher In The Rye. Thanks Tawni for telling it like it really is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    A Haunting Tale

    Once you start you cannot put this book down. This haunting tale of a boy with troubles beyond his years in the coal mining area of Pennsylvania.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought this book was dull at first, the first 2 chapters were hard to get into but after that I couldnt stop reading,,,it made we wonder what would happen next,,,and the ending is one no one will ever imagine!!! Great Book!!!...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Wow.

    I had no idea what I was getting into when I started this book. I've never read an author that can cut to the nitty-gritty, the deepest, ugliest parts of life so quickly. This book broke my heart over and over...I found myself rooting for the protagonist, Harley, and especially sweet 6 year old Jody. Just wow. I'm searching for another book by Tawni O'Dell right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2014

    i loved this book! There was defiantly something about this book

    i loved this book! There was defiantly something about this book that drug you in. I love the way the story line is set up, the characters, the way the author portrayed the story. I've read this book more then once because its that good! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    This is RAW!

    A little boring in the beginning chapters, but stick it out because it is so worth it. This is truly a shocking tale, to say the least! Harley takes you so far into his world that you may find it hard to stop thinking about him even when you're no longer reading. At times I found myself laughing out loud at his antics and at other times, I just wanted to give the poor kid a BIG hug. Worth reading . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it! It was thrilling, intresting, and after reading it..it

    Loved it! It was thrilling, intresting, and after reading it..it will stay in you're mind for days but don't try to explain to others what you've read. I couldn't put this book down all day, it is a great read that is good for a day you need to escape into a darker twisting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    I liked it.

    This is a tragic story with a few twists and turns that were not so much surprising, but still God awful. I was able to form a clear picture of all of the main characters and I like this true to life style of writing. I will look for more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So great and so disturbing

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Tragedy - Not a Comedy

    I felt that the subject matter in this book was of such a serious and tragic nature, that the light-hearted way it was written did not recognize the heartbreak of it all. The twists and turns in this story were interesting, but the subject of a girl shooting her father, a mother in jail with such a weird attitude, a brother and sister involved in an incestuous relationship and then the murder of a woman by another sister were just too much. How could a family survive such tragedy heaped upon tragedy. The flyleaf in the book says '....his (Harley) love for his sisters and his bumbling heroics would redeem them all.' I hardly think there was much redemption for any of them. What a sad story, but one not investigated thoroughly enough. I wanted to know more. I loved Jody and her wisdom and Harley for his responsibility to his sisters. But I couldn't understand how he blocked out his and Amber's relationship. I would tell people to read this book, but be prepared for shock, confusion and then a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Absolutely Vile

    I can't believe people are even giving this book the slightest recognition. The only thing the author has accomplished is a literary rape of the already ridiculous movie, 'Deliverance'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9