Customer Reviews for

Back of Beyond

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Summer Read!!!

I have never heard of CJ Box before clicking on the banner (on another website). Boy, am I glad I read a chapter or two on B&N and decided I needed to get this book! I was drawn in very quickly and the story takes you places where you don't expect. I got to the point of...
I have never heard of CJ Box before clicking on the banner (on another website). Boy, am I glad I read a chapter or two on B&N and decided I needed to get this book! I was drawn in very quickly and the story takes you places where you don't expect. I got to the point of "and the killer is..." and had to go back to work!! It drove me CRAZY til I was able to get back to the book!! I would definitely pick this one up!! Now, I know he has a series of books as well....hmmmm....yet another series I'll probably pick up!! READ THIS!!!

posted by PoesRaven on August 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stick with Joe Picket

Lots of gratuitous swearing. Not much of Montana except place names. At least Joe Picket likes some people.

posted by 7770462 on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read!!!

    I have never heard of CJ Box before clicking on the banner (on another website). Boy, am I glad I read a chapter or two on B&N and decided I needed to get this book! I was drawn in very quickly and the story takes you places where you don't expect. I got to the point of "and the killer is..." and had to go back to work!! It drove me CRAZY til I was able to get back to the book!! I would definitely pick this one up!! Now, I know he has a series of books as well....hmmmm....yet another series I'll probably pick up!! READ THIS!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    He keeps getting better 3 1/2 stars

    I have been working through C.J. Box's backlist the last several months, catching up on Joe Pickett and family as he navigates the violent and highly political world of Wyoming wildlife management. So I was excited to see the author's latest book, Back of Beyond, was a standalone mystery/thriller that I could read right now without ruining my Pickett timeline.

    Now here is the odd thing about this book. Box's writing is just getting better with every book he writes so this story just flowed beautifully; never a dull moment. It is a good solid read and very enjoyable. Unfortunately the lead character was just to stereotyped and the plot a little to contrived. You have a divorced alcoholic cop who gets in his own way when trying to connect with those that love him; like his son, ex-wife, and coworkers. He is a tenacious and skilled investigator but is a little to willing to go outside the rules to get things done. Not exactly unique.

    As to the plot you have got a plane full of drug money crashed out in the wilds of Yellowstone Park. So you have bad guys that just happen to kill our hero's AA sponsor and want to go after the plane. But hey, coincidences happen all the time. But then the only way to get to the plane is through an annual guided horseback excursion to that part of the park, and our hero's estranged son just happens to be going on that trip. Then you have another set of bad guys who are also acquainted with our hero who are also willing to kill for the prize. So the coincidences keep building from there, almost as much as the bodies do; and there are a lot of bodies in this book.

    It all builds to a Gunfight in the O.K. Coral scenario that plays out like a Hollywood movie ending. At the end of the book all lose ends have been resolved completely, the bad guys are gone and the hero is back on track. Therein lies the problem, Box went with an extremely messy hero but wrote an extremely clean conclusion. Those two just do not match.

    Even after all that I like the book. It was well paced and the dialogue was genuine. I guess what I am saying is that while I enjoy complex and developed meals (i.e. the Joe Pickett books), sometimes a well made peanut butter sandwich is just the ticket. Read this book to get a taste of what C.J. Box is capable of, and then go back and read his backlist to savor the delights they contain.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Great page turner read

    I just loved this book. I read constantly. The book has so many twists and turns that it keeps you constantly guessing. So, so good. I just loved it and recommended it to two of my friends. I plan to look for more of Box's books in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Stick with Joe Picket

    Lots of gratuitous swearing. Not much of Montana except place names. At least Joe Picket likes some people.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Recommended for C.J. Box fans

    A good book but not one of his better ones. Can't beat the Joe Pickett series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    No Blue Heaven

    This is my second CJ Box book. I enjoyed the story but it didn't hold a candle to the first book I read, Blue Heaven. This book was entertaining but I was able to put it down, something I couldn't do with Blue Heaven.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Not worth the money

    Poorly contrived plot, rambling, waste of time and money. Nowhere near as good as his Joe Picket series.

    Without giving away any plot points, the entire premise for the initial (and subsequent) murders makes no sense at all.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Hooked on C.J Box

    My friend met C.J. in Yellowstone and she got me hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Fast, fun and fascinating. A must read for fans of mystery and adventure

    C.J. Box creates believable yet larger than life characters. He captures the wonder and beauty of the outdoors, and the scariness that lurks around every bush. I couldn't put this down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Top Notch

    Cody Hoyt is the kind of character you think you'd hate--alcoholic, chain smoker, rule-breaker. But Box's skill has you rooting for this anti-hero as he does whatever it takes to make sure his son is alive. Twists and turns that Box does so well. Read it before you read The Highway, another Cody Hoyt novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Check it out!

    Enjoyed very much. Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Great resd Great read

    Best of Box writings so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpected

    Against the vastness and isolation of Yellowstone Park, C.J. Box has once again created a suspense-murder-thriller novel using the natural environment as a backdrop. Cody Hoyt, a rogue cop who first appeared in “Blue Heaven,” returns once again, as he is called in to investigate the death of a man shot in the head and burned in his half-destroyed mountain cabin, later identified as Cody’s AA sponsor, making the case very personal to the detective.

    In the course of his investigation, Cody discovers that the murderer has joined a group on a multi-day wilderness horseback trip in a remote part of the park. Adding incentive, Cody learns that his son is part of the group on the trip, so he has to not only find the murderer but save his son.

    The author then takes the reader on a wild ride, never once giving much away in clues as bodies and riderless horses start turning up along the trail as Cody, who now is suspended and AWOL from the Sheriff’s department, tries to close in on the remaining group. The descriptions are sweeping, the character development deeply absorbing.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Great Book

    I have read all of C.J. Box's books. He brings the west alive with fascinating details and scenery. They have all been great. Even though this one didn't have my favorite game warden in it I loved the story and the hero. As always anxiously awaiting the next C.J. Box novel !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book. Cody Holt is a troubled cop, trying

    I really enjoyed this book. Cody Holt is a troubled cop, trying to get off alcohol. He is called to investigate a fire at a remote cabin. He finds his AA sponsor dead in the rubble. Though all investigators determine that his sponsor died of an accident, Cody is certain that he was murdered. Going on the flimsiest of evidence, he decides to investigate. He then accidently shoots the coroner and is suspended. Being stubbon, Cody continues looking for answers in the death of his friend.

    Cody needs to hide all he is doing as he could be arrested. As he continues searching things happen and someone tries to kill him. Pretty soon he is in a race to find his son (Justin), who has gone on an off the tracks excursion through Yellowstone Park with his ex-wife's boyfriend. Cody is sure that the person who killed his sponsor is on the trip and all the people (about 10) on the trip are also in grave danger.

    The book starts slow for the first 100 pages then takes off like a rocket. The tension is great at several junctures and the reader starts to form a bond with a few of the travelers that are with Justin, especially Gracie, a teen who came with her sister and father. Once that far in, the book is impossible to put down until the last page. The only thing that prevented me from giving it the full five stars was the slow start and the fact that it takes the reader a long time to bond with Cody. He is very obnoxious at times and some of his habits are annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    excellent book. suspensful to the last page.

    I wish Box could write books faster. Very good story yeller.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Great Book

    Loved it--another entertaining read by CJ Box.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Great book, I have all of c j box's books, and my cousin in Victoria BC really likes his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3