Customer Reviews for

Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Those eagerly awaiting a return to Seattle's Blossom Street will be pleased with Macomber's sequel to The Shop On Blossom Street. Many remember that cancer survivor Lydia Goetz opened a shop, The Good Yarn, which soon housed a knitting class of four women who forged friendships and helped each other through life's rough spots. The same kind of caring and helpfulness are found in Back On Blossom Street. Those who enjoy a feel-good listen will find it here. For those who don't understand the healing properties knitting offers, Lydia explains it thusly, 'Knitting was my salvation. That's something I've said often, I know, but it's simply the truth. Even now, after nearly ten years of living cancer-free, knitting dominates my life. Because of my yarn store, I've become part of a community of knitters and friends.' She is now beginning a new knitting class and this time the work is on prayer shawls. Among the knitters are Colette Blake, a young widow employed at the new shop next door that offers flowers and floral arrangements. Colette had been romantically involved with her previous employer who is now frequently ordering flowers - all too much for her to process. Clicking needles right along side her is Susannah Nelson, the owner of the flower shop. Making a return visit is Alix Townsend, the daughter of ne'er-do-well parents who is now engaged to Rev. Jordan Turner. The wedding, which she had imagined as a small, meaningful occasion is quickly becoming a major social event. Now, just a few months before her walk down the aisle Alix is beginning to wonder whether or not she is cut out to be a minister's wife. Add to these worries Lydia's sister's daughter being the victim of a car jacking and Lydia's gradual awareness that her history of cancer may prevent her from ever having children of her own. However, according to the author's premise, there is healing in friendship and often a solution to one's problem is discovered in the words of another. 'Back on Blossom Street' is a warm, pour yourself a cup of tea listening experience, especially as read by Laural Merlington, a voice performer with some 30 years of experience who narrates with grace and good humor. - Gail Cooke

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful story

    On Blossom Street in Seattle Lydia Goetz and her sister Margaret own A Good Yarn where they sell knitting paraphernalia and provide class instructions. Renting the apartment above the store is thirty-one years old grieving widow Colette Blake, who has signed up to attend the prayer shawl knitting class and is confused by her desire for her employer Christian Dempsey. Family friend baker Alix Townsend feels overwhelmed by her upcoming out of control marriage to Reverend Jordan Turner because she fears her reprobate DNA is not suited for the life of a pastor's wife. Margaret¿s daughter is a carjacking victim. Finally, Lydia feels incomplete as a woman as cancer has pretty much wiped out her chance to ever give birth. Over knitting, these friends and family find comfort one stitch at a time.---------------- Fans of the Seattle series will appreciate the latest traumas, tragedies, and joys as the knitting clan come together to help one another overcome adversity and share in rejoicing. The story line is more a series of vignettes as focus rotates between the well developed ensemble cast. Debbie Macomber shows her skill with each key player being unique. Although similar in tone to the previous A GOOD YARN tales and that of the Cedar Cove saga (does anyone bring alive the picturesque northwest better than Ms. Macomber does?), readers will enjoy the ups, downs, and ups of this knitting crew.------------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    My Guilty Pleasure

    I am a big fan of modern fiction. I also like the classics, especially Brit Lit. When it comes to sitting outside in the shade on a warm spring day and reading something for relaxation, this fills the bill perfectly. There are times when a fairly predictable story with easily likable characters and a plot where no one gets blown up, participates in espionage, suffers as a tortured soul, is just the thing. As a character in Mary Kay Andrews The Fixer Upper said, "empty literary calories". Debbie Macomber books are like the Little Debbie Snack Cakes of my reading life. I love them and I feel a little embarrassed about it. The good news? They don't make you fat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    MILITARY TRAINING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Highly Recommeded

    just as interesting and exciting as the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Elder's den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD Abridged/Women's fiction: This novel is book 3 of the Blosso

    CD Abridged/Women's fiction: This novel is book 3 of the Blossom Street series. I listened to two others. There is usually no mystery and just narrative....and everyone lives HEA. This one is no exception. There are the usual three women in novel who are figuring out like.
    While I liked it okay, I did have problems with Collette. Spoiler: while she is pregnant with boss's baby after a one night stand, she becomes a doormat. After leaving her place of employment and him because she thinks he's smuggling Chinese immigrants. Well, this is a Macomber novel and you know he's innocent. However, she doesn't and continues to pine over the guy. She is a doormat! For that, it gets three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    This is the forth book in a series of eight however first one th

    This is the forth book in a series of eight however first one that I was listening to on audio book. Even though I did not read prior 3 books, I was not lost at all. From very beginning I was drawn in and rode the waves of the story. I truly loved the Christian undertone in the story. Various nuances of how everyone might struggle at one point or another yet come out victorious, virtuous, and confident in God.

    A make feel good book that I completely relate to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Debbie macomber is a great authir she is really good at tying this book together there is romance there mystery ssuspence and more i love this book!!!!!!!! I hope you lile it to .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    No real preview

    The sample of this book was only 32 pages and all of the preview was the table of contents and knitting instructions and pattern. No part of the story was in the preview.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A super book for the series.

    After reading the first two books I had reservations that this book "Back on Blossom Street" would be a winner. To my joy I wasn't disappointed and this book was just wonderful to read. Ms. Macomber inclueded a few twists and she has a super approach in writing the details of characters and places that made me feel like I was there with them. If you're a Debbie Macomber fan then I would think that you would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fun series to read

    I really enjoyed the Blossom Street series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love and Friendship Bloom on Blossom Street

    I love the Blossom Street series! So far this one is my favorite. It's a well-written story of love, friendship, and family. I couldn't wait to see how everything turned out for each of the ladies. Back on Blossom Street is easy to follow, filled with recaps of past events, so it's not vital to read the books that came before it--although I do recommend reading those as well. Even if you're not a knitter, like me, the story is enjoyable, because it's about building relationships more than anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    What A Neighborhood!

    Talk about a neighborhood of caring people, and how they come together
    for each other. Great Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    I'm back with friends with "Back on Blossom Street!"

    Debbie Macomber continues her successful "Blossom Street" writing style of introducing her readers to a variety of characters through a yarn store that gives knitting classes. This book made me want to knit! (After I finished the book!) The reader will become so absorbed in the lives of the characters that you will not want to put this book down. You will read through the lives of each woman and how the yarn store helps each woman to accomplish something important in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Debbie came through again.....

    This is the third book in the series and I found the characters just as interesting as in the first two books. I had a hard time putting the book down. The characters seem so real and I felt they could become my friends. I couldn't wait to read the next book in the series, "Twenty Wishes". Excellent reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Relaxing

    I really find Debbie's writing, thus far, to be very calm and relaxing even with thick plots and drama. This book's characters are loveable and fun. Now I not only want to read the rest of the stories in this series but pick up knitting as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    OUTSTANDING

    Once again, not disapointed with the events on Blossom Street. Debbie Macomber delivers again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Too much of the book was spent in reciting the background of each character from the previous books in the series. This left the story line choppy and thin and not up to the typical exciting Macomber story. The Cedar Cove series is a great example of weaving background into a story that moves along at a good pace - grabs and holds a reader's interest and attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ms. Macomber has a style that engulfs you and keeps you wanting more. This book was no exception. I laughed, cried and worried along with the characters I have grown to love. With old and new people visiting A Good Yarn, I wish I too could join one of Lydia's classes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9